Skip to main content
Click logo to go to Libraries homepage

SOCI 010: Social Stratification: Library Resources

Reference works

Encyclopedias and handbooks offer good summaries of specific topics, covering major issues and controversies, identifying important theories and scholars, and brief bibliographies of useful works. Handbooks are built from journal article-length chapters that usually provide more context and discussion than encyclopedia articles, and they will have longer bibliographies, too.

HINT!  Handbooks often place their bibliographies in a separate chapter at the end of the volume. To work quickly, open the bibliography chapter in a new browser window. You can toggle back and forth from text chapter to bibliography chapter. You'll need to open a third browser window for the PennText Article Finder, too.

Good Reading on Families

The Penn Libraries have an enormous book collection on social stratification, social classes, and inequality. The collections below offer respected scholarly monographs and collected works made available in convenient ebook formats.

Franklin Catalog - the Penn Libraries catalog -  lists books, e-books, journals, e-journals, videos and videostreams, and many more things for your use. Try a few searches, look at the sidebar Subject facet to discover relevant subject headings, then do new Advanced Searches to build clusters of synonyms and related concepts.
HINT! To show the range of topics available and to suggest subjects, here's a list of Franklin subject headings for Russell Sage Foundation books and e-books on social stratification.

Finding journal articles & other scholarly lit

These bibliographies and databases will help you to identify interesting readings on social stratification and related subjects. Some of these databases will provide fulltext, but they should all have PennText Article Finder buttons or links that will point to online fulltext or print versions.

HINT! Try a few test searches, look at titles that catch your attention, read their abstracts and note down their subject headings or descriptors. Then try to build searches using synonyms and clusters of subject headings or descriptors.

Finding statistical information

These e-resources will help you find U.S. federal government statistics on social stratification and related topics.

Librarian & Coordinator of Social Sciences Collections

Lauris Olson's picture
Lauris Olson
Contact:
University of Pennsylvania Libraries
203 Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center
University of Pennsylvania
3420 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6206
U.S.A.
215-898-0119
Website / Blog Page

Using Citations to Find Resources

You may already have citations of relevance to the text on which you are working. These resources will help you find an online or print version of the cited work.

Style guides and manuals