This is the "Bibliography of the Uprising" page of the "The Syrian Uprising, 2011-" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
 *  Choose a Library * Ask Us/Get Help * Site Guide * Penn
A bibliography of works dealing with the uprising in Syria, starting in 2011 and continuing till today.
Last Updated: Nov 14, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.upenn.edu/Syrian_Uprising Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Bibliography of the Uprising Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

This guide is meant to be a research tool for the study of the uprising in Syria which began in 2011, and continues to this day. Despite the current nature of the events, much has already been written about the Syrian revolution. Too much for this guide to claim to be exhaustive. It consists of a bibliography of works about the Uprising, and another bibliography of essential works on the history and politics of modern Syria. All of the books in these two bibliographies are held by Penn Libraries, and can be found by searching Franklin. Also, there is a special bibliography of government and think tank publications. The works in this latter bibliography must be ordered through EZ Borrow, BorrowDirect or Inter-Library Loan. Only works in English and French are included.

A good text with which to start your research is David Lesch's Syria : the fall of the house of Assad. It provides good coverage of the issues which led to the Uprising, and the ever changing US and international policies toward the Syrian regime and the rebels. 

 

Bibliography of the Uprising

All links to the Franklin catalogue.

Ajami, Fouad. The Syrian rebellion. Stanford, CA : Hoover Institution Press, 2012.

Baron, Xavier. Aux origines du drame syrien, 1918-2013. Paris : Tallandier, 2013.

Belhadj, Souhaïl. La Syrie de Bashar al-Asad : anatomie d'un regime autoritaire. Paris : Belin, 2013.

Estival, Jean-Pierre. La tragedie syrienne :  revolte populaire ou complot international. Paris : Harmattan, 2013.

Filiu, Jean-Pierre. Le nouveau Moyen-Orient : les peuples a l'heure de la revolution syrienne. [Paris] : Fayard, 2013.

Hashemi, Nader (ed.) The Syria Dilemma. Cambridge, MA : MIT Press : A Boston Review Book, 2013.

Hokayem, Emile.  Syria's uprising and the fracturing of the Levant. Abingdon : Routledge for the International Institute for Strategic Studies, 2013.

Lesch, David W.  Syria: the fall of the house of Assad. New Haven, Conn. : Yale University Press, 2013.

Marty, Olivier. Pour comprendre la crise syrienne : eclairages sur un Printemps qui dure. Paris : Harmattan, 2013.

Piccinin da Prata, Pierre. La bataille d'Alep : chroniques de la revolution syrienne. Paris : L'Harmattan, 2012.

Sherlock, Ruth. The fear of breathing : stories from the Syrian revolution. London : Oberon Books, 2012.

Starr, Stephen. Revolt in Syria : eye-witness to the uprising. New York : Columbia University Press, 2012.

Syria, the Assads' twilight (video) New York : Icarus Films, 2011.

Wieland, Carsten, et al. The Syrian uprising : dynamics of an insurgency. Fife, Scotland : University of St. Andrews Centre for Syrian Studies, 2013

Yazbik, Samir. A woman in the crossfire : diaries of the Syrian revolution. London : Haus Pub., 2012.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
David Giovacchini
Contact Info
Rm 524 Van Pelt Library
215-898-2196
Send Email
 

Syrian Flag

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip