Skip to main content
Click logo to go to Libraries homepage

Using Franklin Articles+

Content Summary

Franklin Articles+, a component of Franklin, is a single search entry point into the Penn Libraries' large collection of ebooks, scholarly journals, newspaper articles, conference proceedings, and more.   Articles+ is prominently located on the Penn Libraries homepage and there are links on various research guides.

Articles+ allows you to search for full-text content: books, book chapters, journal articles, newspaper articles, government publications, manuscripts, book reviews, conference proceedings, sound recordings, reference works, dissertations, from one search database.  Articles+ links to full-text content subscribed to by Penn, open-access material, and content from ScholarlyCommons, University of Pennsylvania's institutional repository.

When searching Articles+, you will encounter content in either abstract or full-text from many publishers and providers such as  ProQuest, EBSCO, JSTOR, Wiley, Gale, LexisNexis, Sage, Springer, Taylor & Francis, IEEE, Project Muse and much more.   Within Articles+, multiple records from different sources for the same item are merged into one composite record.  

While FA+ contains content from many of the Libraries' databases, there is some information that is not included in Articles+.  For print works, be sure to consult the Franklin Catalog.  Specialized or comprehensive research should also include the Libraries' subject databases.  For information about which databases are best for your subject area, contact a Subject Librarian.

Types of Content

There are over 90 content types in Articles+. Here are some content type definitions:

Content Type

 Definition
 Album  A bound or loose-leaf book containing blank pages for mounting stamps, photographs, poems, quotations, newspaper clippings, or other memorabilia or for collecting autographs. Also, a book containing a collection of pictures, with or without accompanying text.
 Architectural Drawing A technical drawing or sketch of a proposed construction project done by an architect or architectural firm. A full set of drawings, showing all phases of the construction process, includes the specifications used by contractors for bidding, purchase of materials and equipment, etc. Also refers to a technical drawing of an already existing structure. 
 Archival Material A copy of a document specifically created or designated for archival storage by the company, government, organization, or institution that wishes to preserve it, usually for legal, evidential, or historical purposes, for example, a copy of an academic thesis or dissertation specifically designated for preservation in the archives of the college or university to which it was submitted.
 Art A general term used in publishing and printing for the illustrative matter in a book or other publication for which no setting of type is required, including any hand lettering, photographs, reproductions of drawings, prints, and paintings, etc.
 Artifact An object made or modified by the work of one or more persons (replicas excluded), as distinct from a natural object, called a specimen when collected. Objects created for their aesthetic value are considered works of art. The value to collectors of an item as a physical object is usually reduced by any modification. Artifacts are studied for their historical value.
 Atlas A bound or boxed collection of maps, usually related in subject or theme, with an index of place names (gazetteer) usually printed at the end. In most modern atlases, the maps are printed in uniform style and format, on a fairly consistent scale. An atlas may be issued as an independent publication or as accompanying material, with or without descriptive text, plates, charts, tables, etc.
 Audio Recording A generic term for any medium on which sounds are recorded for mechanical or electronic playback, including phonograph records (vinyl), audiotape, and compact disc. Synonymous with sound recording.
 Audio Tape A continuous strip of thin magnetic tape on which sounds can be recorded as electrical signals and converted back into sound with the proper playback equipment. The most common size in libraries is one-fourth-inch wide, stored on audiocassette. Synonymous with tape recording.
 Blueprint  A photographic copy of the detailed plans for constructing a building or other structure, formerly printed in white against a blue ground by the cyanotype process. Blueprints are usually produced in sets, one for each floor for each phase of construction (plumbing, electrical, HVAC, etc.). They are collected by architecture libraries and by archives and special collections for construction projects of historical significance.
 Book A collection of leaves of paper, parchment, vellum, cloth, or other material (written, printed, or blank) fastened together along one edge, with or without a protective case or cover.
 Book Chapter One of two ore more major divisions of a book, each complete in itself but related in theme or plot to the division preceding and/or following it. In works of nonfiction, chapters are usually given a chapter title, but in works of fiction they may simply be numbered, usually in roman numerals. Chapters are listed in order of appearance by title and/or number in the table of contents in the front matter of a book.
 Book Review An evaluative account of a book, usually written and signed by a qualified person, for publication in a current newspaper, magazine, or journal. The account can be descriptive, reportorial, comparative, or critical or serve as a vehicle for a lengthy essay in which the reviewer discusses several recently published works (omnibus review) or a broader topic for which the work reviewed serve as a springboard.
 Case The official written record of a suit or action in law or equity.
 Catalog An enumeration of items systematically arranged for a specific purpose, usually with brief descriptive information included in each entry, for example, an exhibition catalog, auction catalog, catalogue raisonné, course catalog, publisher's catalog, or film rental catalog.
 Ceremonial Object An object used in a ritual or religious ceremony, often both utilitarian as well as symbolic.
 Clothing Garments worn to cover the human body.
 Compact Disc (CD) A digital audiorecording medium introduced in 1982 capable of storing up to 74 minutes of high-fidelity stereophonic sound in a single spiral track on one side of a 4.75-inch disc, similar to the track on a phonograph record.
 Computer File Data or programs encoded in machine-readable format for processing by a computer. Data files stored on a computer are usually organized by topic or other characteristic in directories and subdirectories.
 Course Reading In academic libraries, materials given a shorter loan period (one-hour, three-hour, overnight, three-day, etc.) for a limited period of time (usually one term or semester) at the request of the instructor, to ensure that all the students enrolled in a course have an opportunity to use them.
 Conference Proceeding The published record of a conference, congress, symposium, or other meeting sponsored by a society or association, usually but not necessarily including abstracts or reports of papers presented by the participants.
 Data Set  A logically meaningful collection or grouping of similar or related data, usually assembled as a matter of record or for research.
 Database A large, regularly updated file of digitized information (bibliographic records, abstracts, full-text documents, directory entries, images, statistics, etc.) related to a specific subject or field, consisting of records of uniform format organized for ease and speed of search and retrieval and managed with the aid of database management system (DBMS) software.
 Dissertation A proposition advanced and defended in a formal disputation, especially by a candidate in partial fulfillment of university requirements for a master's degree, or  lengthy, formal written treatise or thesis, especially an account of scholarly investigation or original research on a specialized topic, submitted to a university in partial fulfillment of the requirements for a Ph.D. degree.
 Drawing  An abstract design or representational image made by inscribing lines on a surface using pen and ink, pencil (graphite), metalpoint, charcoal, chalk, pastel, crayon, etc. Unlike a print that can be produced in multiple copies, a drawing is unique.
 DVD An abbreviation of digital videodisc, a type of optical disk of the same size as a compact disc but with significantly greater recording capacity, partly because it is double-sided.
 eBook (Electronic Book) A digital version of a traditional print book designed to be read on a personal computer or e-book reader.
 eJournal (Electronic Journal) A digital version of a print journal, or a journal-like electronic publication with no print counterpart, made available via the Web, e-mail, or other means of Internet access.
 Electronic Resource  Material consisting of data and/or computer program(s) encoded for reading and manipulation by a computer, by the use of a peripheral device directly connected to the computer, such as a CD-ROM drive, or remotely via a network, such as the Internet (AACR2). The category includes software applications, electronic texts, bibliographic databases, institutional repositories, Web sites, e-books, collections of e-journals, etc. Electronic resources not publicly available free of charge usually require licensing and authentication.
 Equipment  An item or set of tools, clothing, etc., needed for a particular activity or purpose.
 Exam  A test of a student’s knowledge or skill in a particular subject.
 Film A thin strip or sheet of flexible, transparent or translucent material (usually plastic) coated with a light-sensitive emulsion that, when exposed to light, can be used to develop photographic images.
 Filmstrip  A length of 35mm or 16mm black and white or color film consisting of a sequence of related still images, with or without text or captions, intended to be projected one at a time at slow speed using a filmstrip projector. Filmstrips are of variable length, usually no longer than 50 frames.
 Furnishing  Furniture, fittings, and other decorative accessories, such as curtains and carpets, for a house or room.
 Globe A representation of the surface of the earth, or of another celestial body, on a relatively permanent spherical object, usually a more accurate depiction than a map because it lacks the distortion inherent in any two-dimensional representation of a three-dimensional object.
 Government Document Publications of the U.S. federal government, including transcripts of hearings and the text of bills, resolutions, statutes, reports, charters, treaties, periodicals (example: Monthly Labor Review), statistics (U.S. Census), etc.
 Graphic Arts  The visual arts based on the use of line and tone rather than three-dimensional work or the use of color.
 Houseware  Kitchen utensils and similar household items
 Image A two-dimensional image produced on film, usually by a photographic process, that does not produce the optical effect of motion when viewed by the human eye, for example, a transparency, slide, or single frame from a filmstrip, motion picture, or videotape. In a more general sense, an image in any medium that does not give the impression of movement. A digital image is one that has been converted, usually by a scanner or digital camera, into a gridded array (matrix) of small discrete locations called picture elements ("pixels") that hold binary data quantifying the size in area of the location and the color and brightness (spectral intensity) of the image at the location. The data of which a digital image is comprised can be stored on a computer, manipulated, transmitted electronically, printed, reproduced on film, or displayed on a computer monitor or television screen.
 Implements  Tools, utensils, or other pieces of equipment, especially as used for a particular purpose.
 Interactive Media Products and services on digital computer-based systems which respond to the user’s actions by presenting content such as text, graphics, animation, video, audio, games, etc.
 Journal A periodical devoted to disseminating original research and commentary on current developments in a specific discipline, subdiscipline, or field of study (example: Journal of Clinical Epidemiology), usually published in quarterly, bimonthly, or monthly issues sold by subscription.
 Journal Article A self-contained nonfiction prose composition on a fairly narrow topic or subject, written by one or more authors and published under a separate title in a collection or periodical containing other works of the same form. Journal articles often include a brief abstract of the content, and are indexed, usually by author and subject, in periodical indexes and abstracting services, known as bibliographic databases when available electronically.
 Kit A set of related materials in more than one medium designed to be used as a unit with no single medium predominating, often stored in a container to keep the parts together.
 Library Holding  A physical or digital instance of a title to which a library has access, either through subscription or ownership.
 Magazine  A popular interest periodical usually containing articles on a variety of topics, written by various authors in a nonscholarly style.
 Magazine Article  A self-contained nonfiction prose composition on a fairly narrow topic or subject, written by one or more authors and published under a separate title in a magazine.
 Manuscript A work of any kind (text, inscription, music score, map, etc.) written entirely by hand or a typescript copy of an author's work as submitted for publication, before printing.
 Map Any two-dimensional graphic representation of the physical features (natural or man-made) of all or a portion of the surface of the earth or another celestial body, the heavens, or an imaginary geographic area, normally done to scale on a flat medium using a specified projection, with an indication of orientation, but increasingly in digital form.
 Microfilm The use of 16mm or 35mm photographic film to store miniaturized text and/or microimages in a linear array consisting of a single row (cine format) or double row of frames that can be magnified and reproduced only with the aid of specially designed equipment.
 Microform A generic term for a highly reduced photographic copy of text and/or images stored on a translucent medium (microfiche or microfilm) or on an opaque medium such as card stock (microopaque or aperture card).
 Model  An accurate three-dimensional representation of the physical appearance of a real object, for example, a globe representing the earth or another celestial body. A model can be the same size as the original object but is usually done to scale.
 Music Manuscript A music score written entirely by hand or handwritten or typescript copy of an composer's work.
 Music Score A record of a musical work in which the parts to be played or sung are written or printed in musical notation on separate staves, vertically aligned to enable them to be read at the same time.
 Music Recording A generic term for sound vibrations generated by a musical performance that have been mechanically, electromagnetically, or digitally recorded onto a medium designed for playback with the aid of audio equipment.
 Musical Instrument  An object or device for producing musical sounds.
 Newsletter  A serial publication consisting of no more than a few pages, devoted to news, announcements, and current information of interest primarily to a specialized group of subscribers or members of an association or organization who receive it as part of their membership. Newsletters are listed in the Oxbridge Directory of Newsletters.
 Newspaper A serial publication, usually printed on newsprint and issued daily, on certain days of the week, or weekly, containing news, editorial comment, regular columns, letters to the editor, cartoons, advertising, and other items of current and often local interest to a general readership.
 Newspaper Article A self-contained nonfiction prose composition on a fairly narrow topic or subject, written by one or more authors and published under a separate title in a newpaper.
 Painting  A image or artistic object produced using paint.
 Pamphlet  A nonserial publication consisting of at least 5 but no more than 48 pages exclusive of covers, stapled or sewn but not bound, usually enclosed in covers of the same paper as the text (or a slightly heavier grade).
 Paper  A brief composition, especially one prepared for presentation by the author at a conference or other professional meeting. Conference papers may be published in proceedings or transactions.
 Patent A legal document issued by the U.S. government, or the government of another country, in response to a formal application process in which the inventor or originator of a new product or process is granted the exclusive right to manufacture, use, and sell it for a designated period of time. The document is assigned a patent number by the patent office for future reference.
 Personal Article  An item or object owned presently or in the past by a person.
 Personal Narrative  A spoken or written account of connected events; a story from one person's experience.
 Photograph The unique negative image produced on a chemically sensitized surface (film, paper, glass, metal, etc.) when it is exposed to light, usually through a focusing lens. Also, the repeatable positive image (called a "print") made in any size on a light-sensitive substrate from the negative after it has been developed.
 Poem  A piece of writing that partakes of the nature of both speech and song that is nearly always rhythmical, usually metaphorical, and often exhibits such formal elements as meter, rhyme, and stanzaic structure.
 Postcard  A picture, photograph, or collage of images, with or without accompanying text or caption, printed on card stock and intended for delivery by post without an envelope, with blank space on the back for the sender to fill in the name and street address of the recipient and add a brief message (see this example). Postcards are usually of standard size (4 x 6 inches in the United States and most other countries), but panoramic landscapes may require a larger format.
 Poster A large single sheet of heavy paper or cardboard, usually printed on one side only, with or without illustration, to advertise a product/service or publicize a forthcoming event (meeting, concert, dramatic performance, etc.), intended to make an immediate impression from a distance when displayed on a bulletin board, kiosk, wall, or other suitable surface.
 Play  A literary work in prose or verse that presents a narrative in words and action, intended for live performance on a stage by a cast of players.
 Presentation  A demonstration or display of a product or idea, often produced using presentation software (digital slides) such as Microsoft PowerPoint, Apple Keynote, and others.
 Publication  Under U.S. copyright law, the act of distributing copies of a creative work to the public by sale, lease, rental, or lending. Also refers to a work capable of being read or otherwise perceived (book, audiorecording, videocrecording, CD-ROM, etc.), issued by a publisher for sale to the general public, usually in multiple copies and sometimes in multiple editions.
 Publication Article  A self-contained nonfiction prose composition on a fairly narrow topic or subject, written by one or more authors and published under a separate title in a publication such as a newspaper, magazine, or journal.
 Realia Three-dimensional objects from real life, whether man-made (artifacts, tools, utensils, etc.) or naturally occurring (specimens, samples, etc.), usually borrowed, purchased, or received as gifts by a library for use in classroom instruction or in exhibits.
 Reference A book designed to be consulted when authoritative information is needed, rather than read cover to cover. The category includes almanacs, atlases, bibliographies, biographical sources, catalogs, concordances, dictionaries, directories, discographies and filmographies, encyclopedias, glossaries, handbooks, indexes, manuals, research guides, union lists, yearbooks, etc., whether published commercially or as government documents.
 Report A separately published record of research findings, research still in progress, or other technical findings, usually bearing a report number and sometimes a grant number assigned by the funding agency. Also, an official record of the activities of a committee or corporate entity, the proceedings of a government body, or an investigation by an agency, whether published or private, usually archived or submitted to a higher authority, voluntarily or under mandate. In a more general sense, any formal account of facts or information related to a specific event or phenomenon, sometimes given at regular intervals.
 Sheet Music A musical work written or printed on one or more unbound sheets of paper.
 Slide  A small transparent, positive still image in color or black and white, produced on film or glass, usually mounted in a rigid cardboard or plastic frame of standard size (2 x 2 inches), for projection one at a time on a screen using a slide projector, with or without recorded sound (modern stereographs, such as Viewmaster reels, are also included in this category).
 Special Collection Some libraries segregate from the general collection rare books, manuscripts, papers, and other items that are (1) of a certain form, (2) on a certain subject, (3) of a certain time period or geographic area, (4) in fragile or poor condition, or (5) especially valuable. Such materials are not allowed to circulate and access to them may be restricted.
 Spoken Word Recording A sound recording in which narration is the predominate element, for example, a recording of a reading of a novel, poem, or play, or of a collection of written works.
 Standard An acceptable level or criterion according to which something is compared, measured, or judged. Also refers to an amount, extent, quality, pattern, criterion, etc., fixed by usage or convention or established as the norm by prevailing authority, as in the standard size of a catalog card used by libraries prior to the development of machine-readable cataloging. A standard may also be a specification that identifies model methods, materials, or practices. A standard approved by a formal ANSI-accredited standards body, such as NISO, is a de jure standard. A de facto standard is one that becomes generally accepted without the formal endorsement of a standard-setting organization. A community standard is a de facto standard developed and used within a particular user group.
 Streaming Audio Continuous delivery of audio media over telecommunication networks. See Streaming Video.
 Streaming Video A method of sending a sequence of compressed moving images one way over a data network at the user's request or broadcast at a fixed time, which allows viewing to begin before the entire file has been transmitted. Unlike video that is downloaded for subsequent playback, streaming video is stored as a temporary file and deleted when the application used to view it is closed.
 Student Thesis  see Thesis/Dissertation
 Technical Report A scientific paper or article describing research or other significant developments in a field of the applied sciences. When submitted to a military agency, such a report may be classified or subject to other restrictions on access.
 Thesis/Dissertation see Dissertation
 Tool  A device or implement, especially one held in the hand, used to carry out a particular function.
 Trade Publication  A publication, often a magazine or journal, marketed to people who work in a specific industry or professional field.
 Trade Publication Article  A self-contained nonfiction prose composition on a fairly narrow topic or subject, written by one or more authors and published under a separate title in a trade publication.
 Transcript  A copy of an original, usually made by hand or typewritten, particularly a legal document or official record, for example, a student's official academic record. Also refers to the written record of words spoken in court proceedings or in a speech, interview, broadcast, or sound recording.
 Video Recording A generic term for an electronic medium in which visual images, usually in motion and accompanied by sound, are recorded for playback by means of a television receiver or monitor. The category includes videotape and videodisc.
 Web Resource An electronic document, image, recording, database, application or other item, stored on a Web server and accessible using Web browser software at a unique Internet address (URL), usually one of a group of related, interlinked files that together comprise a Web site.

  

Content Visibility Restrictions

For most content in Articles+, searching does not require authentication, so when off-campus and not yet authenticated you can perform a search and get citation results.  When off campus, you will see this banner:

Until you login, you  will not be able to see full-text of any citations except the open-access publications.  Citation counts from Web of Science and Scopus do not display either. When logged in,  Articles+ links will take you either directly to the full-text or to an intermediate page with full-text options.  If there is no full-text, print holdings will display.  Login to see request options.

You must be logged in to see:

  • Citations from some databases including ARTstor, Scopus, Web of Science, ERIC (some providers), MLA (some providers).
  • For those Abstracting and Indexing only  database indexed in Articles+ that are included in Penn Libraries subscriptions, records will display in Articles+ search results.  Duplicate records from multiple content providers are automatically merged into in a single result. Users must be authenticated to see the A&I record content in a merged record. 
  • Search results comprised solely of subscribed A&I content unless that subscribed content is open-access (for example, ERIC).
  • Citation counts from Web of Science and Scopus.  Articles+ displays citation counts in the bottom right corner of a record when you are authenticated. Web of Science "Cited by" will display to the left of the Scopus "Cited by" display.