Guides: Global Health Resources: Info for Global Partners

Resources for Global Health Community

There are many free resources available to the global health community. The key resources and initiatives are listed below.

If you are partnering with a Penn faculty member for research or training, you may be eligible for access to additional resources through the Penn Libraries. A PennKey and password are required to access many of the Libraries' electronic resources. For information on obtaining a PennKey, see the PennKey website or the UPHS PennKey site.

Global Health Information Resources Initiatives

AGORA - Access to Global Online Research in Agriculture
Set up by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN (FAO) together with major publishers, enables developing countries to gain access to an outstanding digital library collection in the fields of food, agriculture, environmental science and related social sciences. AGORA provides a collection of 1278 journals to institutions in 107 countries.
AGORA Eligibility Information
HINARI Access to Research Initiative
The HINARI Programme, set up by WHO together with major publishers, enables developing countries to gain access to one of the world's largest collections of biomedical and health literature. Over 6400 journal titles are now available to health institutions in 108 countries, areas and territories benefiting many thousands of health workers and researchers, and in turn, contributing to improved world health.
HINARI Eligibility Information
OARE - Online Access to Research in the Environment
An international public-private consortium coordinated by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), Yale University, and leading science and technology publishers, enables developing countries to gain access to over 2,990 peer reviewed titles on environmental science research.
OARE Eligibility Information
TEEAL: The Essential Electronic Agricultural Library
A full-text digital library of 149 agricultural journals available at low cost to universities, agricultural research organizations and government ministries in eligible low-income countries. Journal coverage starts in the 1990s and updated annually. Includes a database of citations from CAB Abstracts, BIOSIS, Econlit and PubMed. TEEAL is an offline tool – no Internet or phone line required.
TEEAL Eligibility Information
ITOCA - Information Training and Outreach Centre for Africa
A capacity building organization aimed at enhancing information and communications technology (ICT) skills for African librarians, information specialists, scientists, researchers and students in Sub-Sahara Africa. ITOCA spearheads programme support for TEEAL, AGORA, HINARI and OARE in the region.
ITOCA Training Schedule

Freely Accessible Databases

MedlinePlus
Health information from the National Library of Medicine intended for patients. Easy access to Medline and Health topics, medical dictionaries, directories and publications. Available in multiple languages.

NAL Catalog
The NAL Catalog (AGRICOLA) is a freely accessible bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators.
OAIster
Resources are harvested from OAI-compliant digital repositories and journals.
OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR provides a directory of authoritative open access repositories around the world.

PubMed Unrestricted
PubMed is a freely accessible bibliographic database that comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDNLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher websites.
The MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. The PubMed version of MEDLINE includes the PREMEDLINE database, which provides very current basic citati on information and abstracts before the full records are prepared and added to MEDLINE. New records are added to PREMEDLINE daily. In addition, for participating journals that are indexed selectively for MEDLINE, PubMed includes all articles from that jo urnal, not just those that are included in MEDLINE. PubMed is also the literature component of the Entrez retrieval system for molecular biology information.
For additional information, see the PubMed Overview

Relief Central
Relief Central is a free mobile and web resource developed by the staff of Unbound Medicine to provide helpful information for disaster relief. This ongoing initiative delivers the latest information at the point of need to relief workers, first responders, and anyone working in the field, helping them assess damage, learn about the geographic location, view journal citations and abstracts, and access the latest news.
Scirus
A science-specific web search engine.

Toxnet
Freely accessible toxicology, environmental health, and chemical databases and other information resources from the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program, National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health.

Trip Database
The Trip database is a medical search engine for evidence-based clinical information. There is an option to translate the TRIP interface into several languages.

Images

Botswana-UPenn Partnership - Students and residents at work in Princess Marina Hospital