Skip to main content
Questions or comments
PennKey Library Account
Log in to Franklin with PennKey
No PennKey? Click here.
Penn Libraries: Guides
Check it to expand the navigation menu, uncheck to hide the menu."
Check it to expand the submenu of About, uncheck to hide the submenu."
By the numbers
Access & access policies
Engage with the Libraries
Exhibitions & events
Penn Libraries Store
Give to the Libraries
Using the Libraries
Check it to expand the submenu of UsingTheLibrary, uncheck to hide the submenu."
BorrowDirect+ / ILL
Request scans from Penn's collection
Reserve materials for a class (faculty)
Technology & equipment
Poster & 3d printing
Scan, copy, print
Book a group study room
Schedule a classroom
Schedule an event
Spaces with assistive technology
Spaces for media production
Can't find it here?
Check it to expand the submenu of People, uncheck to hide the submenu."
By departmental library
Contact us about...
Access to materials not at Penn
Reserving materials for a class (faculty)
News & media communication
Scheduling meetings & events
Giving to the Libraries
Make an appointment
Research & teaching
Check it to expand the submenu of Research and teaching, uncheck to hide the submenu."
Schedule a research consultation
Teaching & learning services
Overview of teaching & learning services
Library liaison services
Overview of digital scholarship
Digital projects & methods
Open access & publishing
Check it to expand the submenu of Collections, uncheck to hide the submenu."
Franklin (Penn resources)
LOLA (Penn Law Library)
Request materials not at Penn
Suggest a purchase
Center for Research Libraries
Digital collections & projects
Schoenberg Institute for Manuscript Studies
Check it to expand the submenu of QuickLinks, uncheck to hide the submenu."
Canvas login (Upenn)
Canvas login (Penn Law)
Canvas site request
PennText Article Finder
Reserve a room
Type your search
Type your search
Where would you like your search sent? Choose one of 3.
Click to select
Catalog & Articles+
search is active.
Click to select
search is active.
Data & GIS
International GIS Data
Search this Guide
International GIS Data: Global
Finding data for use with GIS for areas outside the U.S.
Central & Eastern Europe|Central Asia
Vector format for ArcGIS.
KML or KMZ
For Google Earth.
TIFF or GeoTIFF
Vector format for MapInfo.
Web map service, web content service.
Data storage model.
Collected by GPS units.
Older ArcInfo Interchange format.
Country codes and others
ISO 3166-1 alpha-2
Two letter codes most often used to identify countries.
ISO 3166-1 alpha-3
Three letter codes.
American standard that has been withdrawn, but still may appear in older documents.
ISO Topic Categories (PDF)
Boundaries and Locations
Global Administrative Areas (GADM)
Boundaries of subnational administrative districts.
Downloadable in shapefile, geodatabase, KMZ, or R formats.
Over 8 million geographical features with name, feature class, and latitude and longitude.
Downloadable as a database dump under a Creative Commons license.
Generalized boundaries for political and physical features in shapefile format. Useful for map-making but not for applications requiring precision. Can also be downloaded as subsets from
Common and Fundamental Operational Datasets Registry
Shapefiles of data sets necessary for humanitarian response, listed by country. From UN OCHA.
Historical national boundaries and capitals of the post-WWII period.
Length of International Boundaries
International boundary lengths between 1815 and 1997. In Excel or Stata format.
OpenStreetMap Data Extracts
Extracts from crowd-sourced OpenStreetMap data.
U.S. Department of State's International Boundaries
Believed to be the most accurate available worldwide international boundary vector line file.
USGS Elevation Products
USGS data covers not just the U.S., but the world. Includes the 1 km resolution GTOPO30, the 30-, 15-, and 7.5-arc-second GMTED2010, and 3-arc-second SRTM.
UNEP Environmental Data Explorer
Over 200 geospatial data sets centering on climate change, disasters and conflicts, ecosystems, and hazardous waste. In GRID, shapefile, or TIF format, depending on data set.
World Geologic Maps
From the USGS, geologic spatial data by region.
World Resources Institute Data
Ecosystems, inland fisheries, reefs at risk, and mining impact in shapefile or Esri GRID format, depending on file.
Fire Information for Resource Management System
Global fire locations and burned area information in shapefile, KML, or WMS formats.
Data available as Google Earth KML, ESRI Arc Binary, ASCII and LAS ffile fromats.
History Database of the Global Environment
Gridded population and land use for the past 12,000 years.
Global Map of Human Impacts to Marine Ecosystems
Esri GRID or GeoTIFF.
Harmonized World Soil Database
Global Soil Profile Data
Terrain Ruggedness Index
30 arc-seconds grid.
Emissions Database for Global Atmospheric Research
Global past and present day anthropogenic emissions of greenhouse gases and air pollutants by country and on spatial grid.
Elevation contours derived from SRTM data, in shapefile format.
IUCN Red List Spatial Data
Shapefiles of habitats of endangered species.
Biological and physical spatial datadownloadable in shapefile or GRID format. U.S. emphasis, but some international data sets. Requires free Esri Global Account.
Large Marine Ecosystems of the World
Ecosystem boundaries in shapefile and KML format.
Global Forest Watch Data Explorer
WWF’s Global 200 project analyzed global patterns of biodiversity to identify a set of the Earth's terrestrial, freshwater, and marine ecoregions that harbor exceptional biodiversity and are representative of its ecosystems.
Global Forest Change, 2000-2014
Time-series analysis of 654,178 Landsat 7 ETM+ images in characterizing global forest extent and change from 2000 through 2014
Georeferenced armed conflict data, as shapefiles.
AidData Geocoded Data
Locations of aid activities in Excel format with latitude and longitude. Worldwide coverage for World Bank and African Development Bank activities; also comprehensive aid activities for Malawi.
Atlas of Urban Expansion
In shapefile and Excel formats.
Geo-referencing of Ethnic Groups
Ethnic group territories represented as polygons in shapefile format.
Geographically Based Economic Data
Economic output per 1-degree grid cell, for 1990, 1995, 2000, and 2005. in Excel format with latitude and longitude.
Humanitarian Data Exchange
Portal for humanitarian data managed by the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs
Gridded population at 1 km resolution.
Microfinance and financial exclusion data, some of it downloadable as CSV or Fusiontable formats.
Poverty indicators for select developing nations.
Locations from World Database of Protected Areas, including UNESCO sites. Downloadable as KML or shapefile.
Requires free registration.
World Database of Large Urban Areas, 1950-2050
HIV Spatial Data Repository
Subnational demographic estimates as well as national and subnational HIV prevalence, in shapefile format. Requires free registration.
Georeferenced data from Demographic and Health Surveys..
Combines the best available roads data by country into a global roads coverage, joined topologically at the borders.
GTFS Data Exchange
The General Transit Feed Specification (GTFS) is a format for sharing public transportation schedules and associated locations. Consult
to convert to shapefile or KML.
Old World Trade Routes
Travel Time to Major Cities
In Esri GRID format.
World Port Index
Location, characteristics of, and the facilities and services offered by major ports and terminals in tabular or shapefile format.
Climatic Research Unit Gridded Datasets
Global Historical Climatology Network-Monthly
Lightning and Atmospheric Electricity Data
World climatic data (monthly mean temperature and rainfall) in BIL and Esri GRID format.
Crop Calendar Dataset
Georeferenced crop planting and harvesting dates, in ArcINFO ASCII format.
Data on crops, vegetation, and more.
Global Agro-Ecological Zones
Global Assessment of Human-Induced Soil Degradation
Global Archive of Active Flood Events
Global Lakes and Wetlands Database
Global Runoff Data Centre
Shapefiles of International Hydrographic Organization boundaries and others.
Transboundary Freshwater Spatial Database
Climate, discharge, runoff, land cover, dam density, irrigation and population data at the country or river basin level, in shapefile format.
University of Pennsylvania Libraries
203 Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center
University of Pennsylvania
3420 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6206
Data & GIS
Health & Societies
Population Studies & Demography
Public Policy & Administration
Mar 22, 2018 5:39 PM
Login to LibApps
Data & GIS
0type research guide