Skip to main content
Click logo to go to Libraries homepage

Finding Images : U.S. Art Museums and Rights Information

This guide will show you how to find images for coursework, teaching and/or publication.

Northeast

Baltimore
Walters Art Gallery Collections
The Walters Art Museum believes that digital images of its collection extend the reach of the museum. To facilitate access and usability, and to bring art and people together for enjoyment, discovery, and learning, we choose to make digital images of works believed to be in the public domain available for use without limitation, rights- and royalty- free. More information.

Boston
Museum of Fine Arts Collections
The MFA licenses its collections for personal, educational, and publication use for a range of fees.  More information.

Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum Collections
Rights and reproductions for most of the highlights of the collection may be obtained through the Bridgeman Art Library. Requests for images that are not available through Bridgeman must be made in writing by regular mail, email, or by fax. More information.

Buffalo
Albright-Knox Art Gallery Collections
The Albright-Knox Art Gallery's image and text files on this website are made available for non-commercial, educational, and personal use only. Copyright or redistribution in any manner for commercial use is not permitted.  Users may download these files for their own use, subject to any additional terms or restrictions that may be provided with the individual file or program. Fair educational use of the contents of this website is permitted. Specifically, an Internet user may download images and text files and share them with others for limited non-commercial and educational purposes only. More Information.

Hartford

Collections: https://thewadsworth.org/collection/

Rights and Reproductions: https://thewadsworth.org/rightsandreproductions/

New Haven

Collections: http://britishart.yale.edu/collections

Rights and Reproductions: http://britishart.yale.edu/collections/using-collections/image-use

Collections: http://artgallery.yale.edu/overview-and-highlights

Rights and Reproductions: http://artgallery.yale.edu/about/rights-and-reproductions

Rochester

Collection: https://www.eastman.org/collections

Rights and Reproductions: https://www.eastman.org/image-rights-reproductions

Springfield, MA

Collections: https://springfieldmuseums.org/collections/

Rights and Reproductions: http://www.springfieldmuseums.org/about_us/contact_us

Williamstown

Collections: http://www.clarkart.edu/museum/Collections/collections-overview

Rights and Reproductions: http://www.clarkart.edu/About/Rights-Policy

Winterthur

Collections: http://www.winterthur.org/?p=223>

Rights and Reproductions: http://www.winterthur.org/?p=605

West/Southwest

Los Angeles

Collections: http://www.lacma.org/art/collection

Rights and Reproductions: http://www.lacma.org/about/contact-us/terms-use

Collections: http://www.getty.edu/art/

Rights and Reproductions: http://www.getty.edu/legal/image_request/index.html

Pasadena

Collections: http://www.nortonsimon.org/collections

Rights and Reproductions: https://www.nortonsimon.org/art/rights-and-reproductions/

San Diego

Collection: http://www.sdmart.org/art/our-collection

Rights and Reproductions: http://www.bridgemanimages.com/en-US/

Collections: http://www.timkenmuseum.org/collection

Rights and Reproductions: http://www.timkenmuseum.org/about/contact/

San Francisco

Collection: http://www.asianart.org/collection.htm

Rights and Reproductions: http://www.asianart.org/regular/photography-and-image-rights

Collections: http://legionofhonor.famsf.org/legion/collection

Rights and Reproductions: http://legionofhonor.famsf.org/deyoung/collections/photo-services-and-imaging

Collections: http://deyoung.famsf.org/deyoung/collections

Rights and reproductions: http://deyoung.famsf.org/deyoung/collections/photo-services-and-imaging

Collections: http://www.sfmoma.org/explore/collection

Rights and Reproductions: http://www.sfmoma.org/about/about_site/terms_of_use

Rights :http://www.sfmoma.org/artthink/termsofuse.asp

Seattle

Collections: http://www.seattleartmuseum.org/emuseum/code/collection.asp

Rights and Reproductions: http://www.seattleartmuseum.org/collections/image-rights

Tucson

Collections: http://www.creativephotography.org/collections

Rights and Reproductions http://www.creativephotography.org/rights

Collections http://artmuseum.arizona.edu/collections
Rights and Reproductions: http://artmuseum.arizona.edu/collections/rights-and-reproductions

Washington, D.C.

Collections: http://www.doaks.org/museum

Rights and Reproductions: http://www.doaks.org/about/photographic-services

Collections: http://www.asia.si.edu/collections/default.asp

Rights and Reproductions: http://si.edu/termsofuse

Collections: http://www.hirshhorn.si.edu/collection/home/#collection=collection-search

Rights and Reproductions: http://www.hirshhorn.si.edu/collection/home/#collection=faqs

Collections: http://www.loc.gov/index.html

Rights and Reproductions: http://www.loc.gov/duplicationservices/

Collections http://www.nga.gov/collection/index.shtm

Rights and Reproductions: https://images.nga.gov/en/page/openaccess.html

Collections: http://americanart.si.edu/collections/

Rights and Reproductions: http://americanart.si.edu/collections/rights/

Collections: http://www.npg.si.edu/collection/permanent.html

Rights and Reproductions: http://npg.si.edu/rights-reproductions

Collections: http://www.phillipscollection.org/collection/index.aspx

Rights and Reproductions: http://www.phillipscollection.org/collection/rights-and-reproductions

Collections: http://www.si.edu/Collections

Rights and Reproductions:http://www.si.edu/Termsofuse

Collections: https://museum.gwu.edu/collections

Rights and Reproductions: https://museum.gwu.edu/collections

New York

New York

See Metropolitan Museum of Art for Collections and Rights and Reproductions.

Collections: http://www.metmuseum.org/collections

Rights and Reproductions: http://www.metmuseum.org/research/image-resources

Collections: http://www.moma.org/explore/collection/index

Reproductions: http://www.moma.org/learn/resources/library/faq_moma_research#reproget

Rights: http://www.moma.org/explore/collection/image_permissions

Collections: http://www.frick.org/collection/index.htm

Rights and Reproductions: http://www.frick.org/about/copyright

Collections: http://www.guggenheim.org/new-york/collections

Rights and Reproductions: https://www.guggenheim.org/image-licensing

Collections: http://collection.whitney.org/group/5​

Rights and Reproductions: http://whitney.org/Collection/RightsAndReproductions

Collections: http://www.cooperhewitt.org/collections

Copyright: https://www.cooperhewitt.org/copyright/​

Image licensing: https://www.cooperhewitt.org/image-licensing/
 

Collections: http://www.themorgan.org/collection/highlights​

Rights and Reproductions: http://www.themorgan.org/research/imaging-and-rights​

Collections: http://www.brooklynmuseum.org/opencollection/collections/

Rights and Reproductions: https://www.brooklynmuseum.org/image_services​

Collections: https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/​

Rights and Reproductions: https://www.nypl.org/help/about-nypl/legal-notices/website-terms-and-conditions​

Midwest

Chicago
Art Institute Collections   
Rights and Reproductions Information

Museum of Contemporary Art Collections
Copyright infoguidelines and fee schedule 

Terra Foundation for American Art Collections
More information--loans, permissions, and reproductions.

Cincinnati
Cincinnati Art Museum Collections
See the Cincinnati Google Art Project
More information.

Cleveland
Cleveland Museum of Art Collections
To request permission to use or reproduce images of objects from the CMA collections, please contact rights@ClevelandArt.org. The Cleveland Museum of Art does not distribute or permit reproduction of Website text, video, or non-collection images except as expressly permitted above. More information.

Detroit

Collections: http://www.dia.org/art/

Rights and Reproductions: https://www.dia.org/art/rights-reproduction

Indianapolis

Collections: http://www.imamuseum.org/art/collections

Rights and Reproductions: http://www.imamuseum.org/page/image-resources​

Kansas City

Collections: https://nelson-atkins.org/collections/​

Rights and Reproductions: https://nelson-atkins.org/contact/​

Pittsburgh

Collection: http://www.warhol.org/collection/

Rights and Reproductions: https://www.warhol.org/contact/​

St. Louis

Collections: http://www.slam.org/Collections/

Rights and Reproductions: https://members.slam.org/imagerequestform

South

Atlanta
High Museum of Art Collections
Reproduction of digital images, including downloading, is governed by copyright laws and international conventions. Contact the Images and Rights Coordinator for information concerning permissions or to request digital photography of works in the High's collection.

Fort Worth

Collections: https://www.kimbellart.org/collection

Rights and Reproductions: https://www.kimbellart.org/about/contact-us​

Houston

Collections: https://www.menil.org/collection​

Rights and Reproductions: https://www.menil.org/terms-conditions​

Collections: https://www.mfah.org/art/departments/​

Rights and Reproductions: https://www.mfah.org/terms/

New Orleans

Collections: http://noma.org/collection

Rights and Reproductions: https://noma.org/noma-collection/rights-reproductions/​

 Richmond

Collections: https://vmfa.museum/collections/​

Rights and Reproductions: https://vmfa.museum/copyright/​

Tulsa

Collections: https://collections.gilcrease.org/​

Rights and Reproductions: https://gilcrease.org/about/reproduction-policy/​

Collections: http://philbrook.org/explore/collections

Rights and Reproductions: http://philbrook.org/terms-use