Critical Writing: Law and Everyday Life: Research Tools

Cambridge University Press, 2010.

Yes, the article is interesting, but the "Talk" tab is MORE interesting. That's where you'll learn what the Wikipedia editors see as controversial, weak, or erroneous in the article. You can also watch the article go through revisions and compare specific revisions using the article's "View History" tab.
WARNING! Be careful to keep track of where you are in Wikipedia's backstage: both the article and discussion pages have their own "View History" tabs!

An article from a major reference work. Pay particular attention to the "See Also"'s at the end of the text: IESBS covers many disciplines and provides multiple perspectives on a topic.

An encyclopedia that presents different sides of a topic in a very clear way. Articles have strong bibliographies.

Good brief essays interspersed with bibliographic citations: a guide to further reading.

A good starting point into the web of UN agencies that includes UNAIDS, UNDP, UNFPA, UNICEF, UNHCR, and many others.

To search IBSS for book reviews, try this search as a guide:
(niezen and "public justice") in All Fields + Text
AND review in PUBLICATION TYPE in Record type
WARNING!
IBSS won't offer fulltext for its records, so look for the PennText Article Finder icon to find fulltext online or a print version in the Penn Libraries stacks.

The best one-stop indexing database for the social sciences journal and book literature. Covers the scholarly literature worldwide for 1955-present, focusing on anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology.
SEARCH EXAMPLES:
These won't be the best searches for your topic, but think about how they work.
· ("public interest" OR "interest groups" OR "public opinion" OR "opinion formation" OR "opinion change" OR "attitude change") in Subject heading (all) - SU
AND (indigenous OR aborigines) in Subject heading (all) - SU
· (botswana OR namibia OR kalahari OR "south africa") in Subject heading (all) - SU
AND (bushm* OR san OR aborigines OR indigenous) in Subject heading (all) - SU
AND (justice OR reconcil* OR right*) in Subject heading (all) - SU
WARNING!
IBSS won't offer fulltext, so look for the PennText Article Finder icon to find fulltext online or a print

A fulltext e-journal collection, with all titles starting, "Annual Review of ...". Articles are lengthy literature reviews, often with ENORMOUS bibliographies. Useful for both the text summary and the citations for further reading.
SEARCH SUGGESTION:
Use the "Advanced Search" link in the upper right corner of the startup window. Try not to be over-specific.

Two bibliographic databases that work together: SocAbs covers scholarly works in sociology, demography, and human rights; SSA covers social policy, social work, and social planning. It has a strong orientation toward US publications, but covers worldwide materials, too.
WARNING!
SocAbs has no fulltext - look for the PennText icon.

If your book is in Van Pelt Library, this chart will tell you the floor and side of the building in which you can find it. Just match the beginning of the call number with the letter or number on the chart.

If you are not familiar with the Library of Congress call number system then this table will explain how you can find an individual book once you have found the part of the library that has items in that call number range.

Locations of Penn's libraries

If the location of the book is listed as "LIBRA" then click on the "Request" link located to the right of the book. It will be shipped to the library you choose in one or two business days.