Skip to main content
Click logo to go to Libraries homepage

NIH Public Access Policy: Tutorials

The information in this guide will help with several of the compliance issues that University of Pennsylvania authors will need to address and is organized around three steps to compliance: addressing copyright, submitting to PMC and citing PMCIDs in NIH

Tutorials

The tutorials on this page were created to help with orientation to some of the tools needed to manage publications, awards and NIH Public Access Policy compliance.

Note, if you can't access the Youtube videos, check the box below this one for alternative versions for some of them!

Linking My NCBI and eRA Commons accounts

My NCBI's My Bibliography is the tool Principal investigators with eRA Commons accounts need to use to manage and populate their bibliographies and for reporting. My NCBI must be linked with an eRA Commons account before it can be used to manage citations for NIH reporting.

Orientation to My Bibliography

MyBibliography is a place to save your citations. They can be imported directly from PubMed or added manually.  If your account is linked with your eRA Commons account, MyBibliography also allows you to see whether your publications are in compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy, associate publications with grants that supported them and begin the process of submitting a publication to PMC.

Generating an Award Compliance Report PDF

My Bibliography includes an option to create a PDF Report that is a continuation page of form PHS 2590. A brief, printed review of how to generate the report is available here, in addition to the video below.

How to associate a publication with a grant in My Bibliography

This video helps NIH-funded scientists link funding to their citations and manage compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy.

How to assign a delegate to manage a My Bibliography account

This brief tutorial gives an overview of MyBibliography and includes a description of where to find the link to add a delegate on minute 2:20