I. Not Just the Icing on the Cake: Integrating Special Collections into Teaching and Learning
Thursday, July 18, 2013
10:00am - 1:00pm
Lynne Farrington (Curator of Printed Books) and John Pollack (Library Specialist, Public Services), University of Pennsylvania Special Collections Center
Do you want to learn more about how to integrate special collections into teaching and learning at your institution? To consider ways that book history can be introduced to students in a wide range of courses? This workshop will help both faculty and librarians/curators explore ways to make the most of your institution's special collections. Participants will be asked to bring to the workshop a course (depending on their status, one that they teach or one that they know of) that intersects with one or more collections at their institutions and work to develop a potential assignment or presentation that they can bring to the table in future discussions with faculty or librarians at their institutions.
How can faculty and librarians work together successfully?
How do you manage expectations?
Is there a way to control the experience (dealing with large classes or unwieldy assignments)?
How can you deal with disasters?
How do you evaluate the success of assignments and presentations?
Is there such a thing as too much success?
How do you deal with scheduling conflicts?
What is the best way to reach out to faculty/librarian and curators?
The workshop leaders will share ideas and approaches based on years of working with faculty to create meaningful experiences for undergraduates and graduate students within the classroom setting. They will discuss the role of assignments using special collections materials as well as presentations of materials directly related to the specific topics being discussed in classes.
Following this overview, there will be time for each participant to present their ideas and receive direct feedback as well as to raise questions for the group.
II. Digitization Crossroads
Thursday, July 18, 2013
10:00am - 1:00pm
Moderator: Alea Henle, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Archivists, historians, librarians, literary scholars, and others agree on the transformative power of digitization initiatives. Yet scanning materials alone does not a digitization project make for the designers and implementers of digitization projects make decisions which shape the resultant projects. Recent scholarship suggests the existence of distinct professional and disciplinary differences concerning the collection and preservation of historical materials. These differences contribute to varying approaches to the role, design, and functionality of digitization; for example some scholars are particularly interested in the materiality of documents and others focus on teaching implications.
This roundtable brings together scholars and practitioners from archives, history, library science, and literary studies to encourage interdisciplinary and cross-profession exchanges. The session will begin with brief presentation from the speakers and then open for broader discussions between speakers and audience. Issues discussed will likely include back-end design and functionality, archival processing and arrangement, and the intersection of materiality with digital description.
After the roundtable, participants have the option of taking a tour of the new Schoenberg Center for Electronic Text and Image (SCETI) facilities, located in Van Pelt Library.
Speakers include:
Mark A. Greene, University of Wyoming
Melissa Homestead, University of Nebraska
A. Mitchell Fraas, University of Pennsylvania
Jen Rajchel, Tri-College Digital Humanities initiative
August Imholz, Jr., Readex (retired)
(organized as part of SHARP's outreach to SAA, the Society of American Archivists, and related professionals)
III. Getting Published THIS WORKSHOP IS NOW FULL; TO PLACE YOUR NAME ON THE WAITLIST PLEASE EMAIL sharpupenn2013@gmail.com
Thursday, July 18, 2013
10:00am - 12:00pm
Jerome E. Singerman
Humanities Editor, University of Pennsylvania Press
This workshop is designed for first-time monograph authors and especially (though not exclusively) for those in the process of reworking a dissertation into a book. We will discuss the changing print and digital realities of scholarly publishing and will walk through the steps of revising a text for submission, choosing and approaching a publisher, and successfully navigating the manuscript review process. Participants will be asked to prepare a book prospectus, sample chapter, and additional materials, and to be ready for both group and one-on-one discussions of these.
Each participant will also have a 20-minute individual consultation with Dr. Singerman on the afternoon of Thursday, July 18 or the morning of Friday, July 19. We will send invitations to sign up for these individual sessions via e-mail in May 2013.