Guides: HIST 230-601: The Living Dead: Religious and Cultural Relics: Home

Finding Journal Articles, Book Reviews, Chapters

Catalog and Articles+
Searching Catalog and Articles+ searches through many of our Penn-subscribed journals, and the entire Franklin Catalog to bring you cross-disciplinary results. Franklin Catalog in the left column, Database search results in the right
ATLAReligion
provides citations and links to full text to 50 years of scholarship in the field of Religious Studies. Books, chapters, journal articles, book review, and more
American: History and Life and Historical Abstracts
Two separate databases that together cover the history of the world through scholarly articles, books, chapters, and book reviews. America: History and Life focuses on the United States and Canada from "prehistory" to the present and Historical Abstracts covers the rest of the world from 1450 to the present. You may limit searches to a specific time period.
Hathi Trust digital repository
Hathi Trust is a large repository that in many ways replicates Google Books, but is operated and maintained by research libraries. All books in the public domain (including all books published before 1923) are fully available
Proquest Historical Newspapers
Historical Newspapers from the United States, including Philadelphia, and other parts of the world. Search the New York Times 1851-2013.
Times Digital Archive [London]
Digital access to the Times of London from 1788 until about 6 years ago.
JSTOR
Cross disciplinary, deeply historical access to a large number of journals. For current coverage rely on Articles+ Project Muse, or the other databases in this list.
Project Muse
Online access to a selection of journals in the social sciences and humanities. For most journals in this collection, you will have access to the most recent issue.

National Relics

The Liberty Bell, photo by Tony Fisher used through a Creative Commons Attribution license

Finding Online Access to Primary Sources

Artemis Primary Sources brings together newspaper databases, image databases, archival and special collections databases on a wide range of topics. Artemis allows you to do term frequency and term cluster visualizations as well.

Artemis Primary Sources
Note: When searching off campus, use Safari or Chrome browsers.
First World War Database
Art work, three dimensional representation of artifacts, letters, books, photographs, documents, covering the First World War, including background and documentation on war monuments
Bibliography of British and Irish History
Citations and links to full text or catalog records for Penn resouces: documents, books, chapters, articles, facsimiles
Google Scholar
Use this link to search Google Scholar to incorporate Penntext access to Penn subscribed and owned resources. Be sure to scroll through multiple pages. Google tends to privilege Google resources (i.e. Google Books) over items that you may be able to connect to in JSTOR or other Pennkey accessible databases and journals

Terms to use when looking for books, journals articles, and other resources

pilgrims	pilgrimage
relic*	sacred space
national monument*	monument*
collective memory	Saints
Christian Saints	reliquaries
tombs	alters
martyrs	memorials
politic*	nation*
example: (politc* OR national) AND (relic OR monument* OR memorial*)
example: Saint* AND (relic* OR monument OR tomb)

* Using an asteric at the end of a word in most cases truncates that word. politic* will find political, politics, politician; nation* will find national, nationalistic, nationalism ...

Cult of Saints

The Cult of the Saints: Its Rise and Function in Latin Christianity by Peter Brown
Call Number: Also in print at Van Pelt LIbrary: BX2333 .B74
ISBN: 0226076229
Publication Date: 1982
In this work, Peter Brown explores the role of tombs, shrines, relics, and pilgrimages connected with the sacred bodies of the saints.
Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage by P. J. Cabrera, et al.
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9789004181298
Publication Date: 2009
The Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage explores the period from 300-1500 CE. It includes 435 alphabetical entries that investigate local sites of pilgrimage as well as the main routes to Rome, Jerusalem and Santiago.
Christianity in the Later Roman Empire: A Sourcebook by David M. Gwynn
Call Number: Van Pelt Library: BR63 .G89 2015 PRINT
ISBN: 9781441122551
Publication Date: 2015
.
Saints Preserved by Thomas J. Craughwell
Call Number: Van Pelt Library: BX2315 .C73 2011 PRINT
ISBN: 9780307590732
Publication Date: 2011
A finger, a lock of hair, a crucifix, a chalice--if such items belonged to a saint, they are considered to be relics and as such are venerated by the Catholic Church. Relics are still very much a part of our 21st Century culture.

Assistance

For assistance in identifying and finding resources for your research in this course, please contact

Rebecca Stuhr
216 Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center
215-898-5999