Guides: Clinical Rotation Resources: Drug Info

Overview

General drug information can be quickly found in the databases below.

Key Resources

Micromedex
Mobile version is available. MicroMedex indexes information on drugs and medication safety, health care and disease management, patient education information, and toxicology. Thomson Reuters Micromedex indexes actionable information on drugs and medication safety, health care and disease management, patient education information, and toxicology. The information in this database is intended for clinicians, for use in clinical practice. A number of tools are available to address each area of treatment.
DynaMed
Mobile version is available. DynaMed is an essential drug reference with evidence based analysis for healthcare and medical professionals that provide more than 800 topic summaries on AHFS Drug Information. DynaMed is an essential drug reference with evidence based analysis for healthcare and medical professionals that provide more than 800 topic summaries on AHFS Drug Information. This includes Warnings, Mechanisms of Actions/Pharmacokinetics, General Information, Stability, Uses and Efficacy, Preparations, Dosage and Administration Patient Information, Cautions, References, Drug Interactions, and more.
Clinical reference tool created for use primarily at the point-of-care, with clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,000 topics.
UpToDate
Mobile version is available. Searching information on drugs in UpToDate is available. Drug sections include: dosing, contraindications, unlabeled/investigational use, pharmacokinetics, interaction analysis for drug-drug/drug-herb/herb-herb, Canadian/international brand names, pricing. Drop Topics include: drug therapy, general drug information, pediatric information, patient drug information, international drug information, natural drug information, Source of drug information: Lexi-Comp.

Epocrates RX
This free app is available for iPhone, Blackberry, Palm, Android and Windows Mobile devices. You can download the app to your mobile device by first selecting the platform at: http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/94998.

More Resources

MD Consult
MD consult includes Drugs section.
more...less...
Drugs section includes: OTC and Rx, indications/dosage, administration/contraindications, interactions, adverse reactions, monitoring parameters, patient education (Eng/Spa), chemical structures, pill images. Source of drug information: Gold Standard.
AccessMedicine
Mobile version is available. AccessMedicine covers drug information from monographs.
more...less...
Drug sections includes indications & usage, contraindications, warnings/precautions, adverse reactions, Interactions, dosing administration, pregnancy & lactation, clinical pharmacology, monitoring, patient education, storage & compatibility, additional Information and references. It also contains image, video, audio search results. Source of drug information: Gold Standard.
U.S. Pharmcopeia National Formulary
The USP-NF is a combination of two official compendia, the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF).
more...less...
The USP-NF is a combination of two official compendia, the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF). It contains standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, biologics, compounded preparations, medical devices, dietary supplements, and other therapeutics.

In order to access this resource you must use use Microsoft Internet Explorer (version 5.x or 6.0). In addition, full text, online access requires username and password. To access the password for this resource, you will be required to authenticate yourself as an authorized Penn user.

Clinical Rotation Resources: Drug Info

Table of Contents

Overview

Key Resources

More Resources