- AccessAnesthesiology
Online compendium of medical resources, including procedural videos, Custom Curriculum, search functionality, and quick reference tables and charts which offers tools for resident education and certification/recertification in pain management, critical care, and perioperative medicine
- AccessMedicine
Inncludes access to Harrison's Online, Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, other core medical texts, Lange clinical review library, USMLE review, drug information, patient education, and many more resources.
- Ageline
Aging and middle age from an interdisciplinary perspective. Topics include: psychology, economics, sociology, gerontology, and health.
- AGRICOLA
Covers agriculture, agronomy, animal science, breeding, dairy science, farm management, food and nutrition, and zoology.
- AGRICOLA - free
Covers agriculture, agronomy, animal science, breeding, dairy science, farm management, food and nutrition, and zoology.
- AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine) Database
Includes complementary ("alternative") medicine (CAM) and palliative care.
- Aquaculture Abstracts (ASFA)
All aspects of marine and freshwater aquaculture.
- BCC Research
Comprehensive market research reports in the areas of Biotechnology, Energy and Resources, Healthcare and Pharmaceuticals.
- CAB Abstracts
International coverage of veterinary medicine, agriculture, forestry and related bio-science fields.
- CAB Abstracts (complete)
International coverage of veterinary medicine, agriculture, forestry and related bio-science fields.
- Cancer Mondial (World Cancer Statistics)
Access to information on the occurrence of cancer world-wide held by the Unit of Descriptive Epidemiology at the International Agency for Research on Cancer.
- CDC Wonder - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Database of reports, guidelines, and numeric public health data by mortality, natality, disease and demographic groups.
- CINAHL/ Nursing
Authoritative coverage of nursing and allied health literature.
- Cochrane Library
Regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases.
- CogNet
Repository for current and topical electronic resources in cognitive science and its six core areas: philosophy of mind, computational intelligence, cognitive psychology, linguistics, neuroscience, and cognitive anthropology.
- Consultant - Vet Diagnostic Support
Veterinary diagnostic support system used to suggest possible diagnoses or causes for clinical signs and symptoms and provides a brief synopsis of the diagnosis/cause.
- DynaMed
Clinical reference tool created for use primarily at the point-of-care, with clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,000 topics.
- EMBASE
Covers biomedical literature. Includes coverage of over 1,800 biomedical titles not offered by Medline/PubMed
- Environment Abstracts
Principal bibliographic abstracting service for the scholarly, professional, and policy literatures on the environment.
- Exam Master Online Medical Board Review (USMLE, Certification, etc.)
Online board review tool for the USMLE, NBDE, NAPLEX, PANCE/PANRE and medical certifications in Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, Pediatrics, SPEX, Surgery, and Urgent Care. This tool enables students to take practice exams and provides detailed explanations.
- Global Health
Content covers: public health, tropical and communicable diseases, nutrition, helminthology, entomology and mycology.
- HEAL (Health Education Assets Library)
Digital repository that allows medical educators to discover, download, and re-use over 22,000 medical education resources
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Access to information on measurement instruments in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
- Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project
Aggregate national statistics and trends and selected state statistics about hospital stays, using data from the Nationwide Inpatient Sample, the Kids' Inpatient Database, and the State Inpatient Databases for States that participate.
- HealthSTAR/OVID Healthstar
Indexes published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. Focused on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery.
- ISI Citation Indexes (Web of Science)
Indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Allows for cited reference searching.
- ISI Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
Journal comparison by accumulating and tabulating citation and article counts. Includes Impact Factor, Immediacy Index, Cited Half-Life, Citing Half-Life, etc.
- JAMAevidence
Helps identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care.
- Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database (OVID)
An online gateway to a collection of evidence-based resources and tools designed to assist in the clinical decision-making process and to support best practice.
- MD Consult
Web portal containing full-text content of over 50 publishers and other organizations. Access includes full text textbooks, Clinics of North America, full text journals, practice guidelines, drug information and patient education.
- Medical eTrack
Focused on the medical device and medical equipment industries, Medical eTrack provides information about companies, product pipelines, clinical trials, deals and procedure information.
- MEDLINE (complete file)
Premier database for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. Ovid Interface
- MEDLINE In-Process and Other Non-Indexed Citations
NLM's in-process database for MEDLINE. New records are added daily (OVID Interface)
- MedlinePlus
Consumer health resources
- Mental Measurements Yearbook
Descriptive information and reviews of English-language test instruments. Selected subject areas include achievement, behavior assessment, development, education, intelligence and scholastic aptitude, neuropsychology, personality, reading, science, and sensory motor skills.
- Micromedex
Suite of databases providing fulltext drug and substance data.
- NCBI - National Center for Biotechnology
National resource for molecular biology information. Use portal to search all the databases maintained by NCBI. GenBank, Protein, Structure, OMIM, Nucleotide, Genome, PopSet, and Taxonomy.
- NIH RePORTER
NIH Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool Expenditures and Results
- NLM Gateway
Web-based system that lets users search simultaneously in multiple retrieval systems at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- OVID Multi-Database Searching
Searches multiple databases simultaneously using OVID Interface. Deduping available.
- Primal Pictures Interactive Anatomy
Interactive multi-media overview of human anatomy. Features three-dimensional animations that show function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures.
- Primatelit Database
Bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates.
- Proquest Dissertations and Theses Fulltext (formerly Dissertation Abstracts)
Doctoral-level dissertations completed at North American universities. Selected master's theses are also included.
- PsycINFO
Indexes literature in psychology and related fields.
- PsycTests
A repository for the full text of psychological tests and measures as well as a rich source of structured information about the tests. A wide variety of test types are included in PsycTESTS, including achievement and aptitude tests, intelligence tests, tests of cognitive functioning, occupational tests, personality tests, and more.
- PsycTherapy
A database of streaming psychotherapy demonstration videos featuring some of the most renowned therapists in North America working with participants on a host of therapeutic topics.
- PubMed Central
Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature
- PubMed Plus (Penn Only)
NLM's public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature.
- PubMed Plus - Veterinary
PubMed is the public access version to MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical literature. PubMedPlus Veterinary is an enhanced version with links to Penn Library's full-text journals subscriptions and optional limits to Veterinary articles, articles with University of Penn-identified first authors and Faculty of 1000 reviews and links.
- Reaxys
Web-based interface to the Beilstein organic and Gmelin inorganic data, as well as the Elsevier Patent Chemistry Database
- Scopus
Indexes peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine.
- Sociological Abstracts
Covers sociology, case work, demographics, policy studies, political science, family studies, feminist studies, and social security programs.
- Springer Protocols
Subscription-based electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences.
- Toxnet
Collection of government databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals and related areas.
- U.S. Pharmacopeia National Formulary
Source for FDA enforceable quality standards for drugs, dietary supplements, excipients, procedures for tests, assays, analytical methods, and more.
- Unbound Medicine
Portal to medical information including Medline, journal table of contents, e-book content (Clinical Evidence, A-Z Drug facts).
- UpToDate
(ONLY accessible from UPHS and School of Medicine locations, NO remote access) UpToDate is a practical clinical reference designed to provide instant access to the information you need. It is comprised of thousands of original to
- Visual DX
Web-based tool for supporting the clinical decision-making process by enhancing diagnostic accuracy
- WILDPro
Provides information on the natural history, health and management of captive and free-ranging wild animals.