- Chronicling America (1879-1922)
Includes: The Sun (1859-1920), the Evening World (1887-1922) and the New-York Tribune (1841-1922).
- Albany Student Newspaper Archive (1916- 1985)
Albany Student Press and its predecessors
- Altamont Enterprise (1888-2008)
- American Popular Entertainment (1853-1929)
Collection of publications covering Vaudeville
New York Clipper (1853-1924)
The Player (1911-1913)
Vaudeville News (1920-1929)
- Aufbau (1951- 2004)
German-Jewish emigre journal.
- Bard College Student Newspaper Archive (1895-1999)
- Barnard Bulletin (1901-2002)
- The Bethpage Tribune (1941, 1966- 2011)
Bethpage is located on Long Island. Select a year to search content within that year.
- Brooklyn Daily Eagle (1841-1902)
Extensive national and international coverage. At one point the country's most widely read afternoon daily.
- Buffalo Criterion (1952- 1989)
"The Buffalo Criterion is the oldest continuously published African American newspaper in Western New York. The newspaper was founded in 1925 by Frank E. Merriweather, Sr., and his wife, Camilla Merriweather, and it is still published by the Merriweather family. The Buffalo Criterion has been a major voice in recording the history of African Americans with a focus on Buffalo and the Western New York area. This collection can be searched by keyword and date, with available issues spanning from 1952 to 1989."
- Buffalo Express (1869-1871)
Mark Twain (Samuel L. Clemens) co-owned and co-edited The Buffalo Express from August 1869 to March 1871. During that period, he contributed sixty feature stories, thirty-one editorials, and thirty brief entries in a "People and Things" column.
- Buffalo Jazz Report (1974-1978)
Founded in Buffalo, New York in March of 1974 by Bill Wahl, the Buffalo Jazz Report was a free newspaper distributed at clubs and record stores in the Buffalo, NY area as a service to the local jazz community. It provided record reviews, articles on jazzmen from the area, interviews with visiting musicians, and new album listings. Later issues broadened its focus beyond Buffalo, NY to include Toronto, ON and Rochester, NY.
- Catskill Mountain News (1902-1967)
- Chautauqua County Newspapers (1826-1899)
Newspapers published in Westfield, New York.
- Cornell Daily Sun (1880-1981)
Cornell University undergraduate newspaper.
- Erie County (Buffalo) Newspapers (1869-1989)
- Farmingdale Historic Newspapers (1961- 1977)
Includes The Observer, Farmingdale Observer, The Farmingdale Post. Missing some years. Select the paper and the year to search within that content.
- Fifth Freedom Newspaper (1970-1983)
The Fifth Freedom was a periodic free newspaper of the Mattachine Society of the Niagara Frontier, Western New York's most prominent early gay rights organization. In being the official written mouthpiece of the region's first systematic gay rights organization, The Fifth Freedom expresses the earliest codified and widely distributed literature of the gay community within the region.
- Frederick Douglass' Paper (1852- 1855)
Abolitionist paper published in Rochester, earlier called The North Star. This is a page of links to transcribed articles. Not searchable. The entire March 18, 1853 issue is available here: http://utc.iath.virginia.edu/interpret/fdpaper/fdpagesf.html
- Freedom's Journal (1827-1829)
All 103 issues available as full-text PDFs. The first African-American owned and operated newspaper published in the United States, Freedom's Journal was published weekly in New York City.
- The Friend of Man (1836-1842)
This online archive contains 281 issues, which is close to the complete run. The Friend of Man was "one of the most significant and little studied newspapers documenting early anti-slavery and other reform movements," and was published in central New York.
- The Gaelic American (1903, 1905, 1906, 1915- 1917)
Irish-American newspaper published in New York City. Six issues are included here.
- The Griffin (1933-1979)
Student newspaper of Canisius College.
- Hudson River Valley Historical Newspapers (1833-1916)
Newburgh Telegraph (1831-1835), Rockland County Journal (1850-1879), Rockland County Messenger (1848, 1851-1855, 1857-1860), Rockland County Times (1902-1904), The Kingston Daily Freeman (1895, 1903-1912), and three publications from Vassar College: The Vassar Miscellany Weekly (1872-1915), Vassar Chronicle (1944-1978), and Vassar Spectator (1983-1993).
- Ithacan (1931 - 2002)
Student newspaper of Ithaca College.
- Kingston Daily Freeman (1895, 1903-1913)
Kingston is New York's Hudson River Valley, between Poughkeepsie and Albany.
- Mackenzie's Gazette (1838-1840)
New York City newspaper, the content of which "reflected [William Lyon] Mackenzie's views entirely and was extremely reform minded to the point that it advocated revolution against the ruling system of government."
- Nassau County Libraries Historic Newspapers (1921- 2010)
Includes The Leader, Freeport News, Nassau Post, and others. Select the paper from the homepage to search within that paper. Freeport is located on Long Island. Date ranges vary by paper.
- New York Age (1890- 1892)
Influential African-American newspaper which ran from 1887- 1953. Staff writers included Ida B. Wells-Barnett and W.E.B. DuBois.
- New York Age (1906- 1953)
Influential African-American newspaper which ran from 1887- 1953). Staff writers included Ida B. Wells-Barnett and W.E.B DuBois. Issues available as non-searchable PDFs.
- The New York Daily Tribune (1842-1866)
The New York Daily Tribune was renamed the New York Tribune in 1866.
- New York Evening World (1887-1922)
Famously sensational newspaper published by Joseph Pulitzer and perhaps best know for its 'yellow journalism.'
- New York Sun (1859-1916)
The nation's first successful penny daily, and the New York City circulation leader for several decades in the 19th century. By 1900 it was less important than several other city papers but still influential. Continued in next link.
- New York Sun (1916-1920)
Includes vol. 83, no. 335 (July 31, 1916) through vol. 87, no. 153 (Jan. 31, 1920).
- The New York Tribune (1866-1922)
Continuation of the New York Daily Tribune.
- Northern New York Historical Newspapers (1811-2009)
Includes over 50 papers from Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Jefferson, Lewis, Oswego and St. Lawrence counties in the Adirondack region of northern New York State.
- Old Fulton NY Postcards/New York State Historical Newspapers/New York Tribune (18th-20th centuries)
The search interface supports complex searching. To search a specific newspaper start your search with the title in quotes "Syracuse NY Post Standard." Use this format to limit by date: 1904~~1920. Connect information with 'and.' For example: "Syracuse NY Post Standard" and 1904~~1920 and canal. A listing of all newspapers that provides date browsing is available here Includes New York city papers: Tribune (1841-1922), Sun (1843-1945), Spectator (1797-1845), Evening Telegram (1868-1924), Evening Post (1810-1920), New York Age (1906-1953), Spirit of the Times (1838-1890), World (1862-1901) more.
- Putnam Courier (1849-1930)
Newspaper published in Mahopac, which is located near Danbury, Connecticut.
- The Rambler (1948- 2000)
Student newspaper of Farmingdale State College on Long Island. Some issues are missing. Includes a few scattered issues from between 2001 and 2010.
- Rochester Area Historic Newspaper Collection (1826-1866)
This collection of newspapers from Rochester and surrounding Monroe County includes the Liberal Advocate, The Rights of Man, The Monroe Democrat, Soldiers Aid and 20 other antebellum and Civil War era newspapers.
- Rochester Regional Newspapers (1803-1992)
Arcadian Weekly Gazette (April 1889 - March 1906)
Brockport Republic (1854-1927)
Catholic Courier (1889 - 2004)
Fairport Herald (February 1873 - March 1889, April 1890 - April 1925)
Fairport Herald-Mail (May-December 1925)
Fairport-Perinton Herald-Mail (1980 - 1992)
Geneva Advertiser (1841 - 1842, 1880 - 1914)
Geneva Courier (1831 - 1903)
Geneva Daily Times (May 1895 - May 1902)
Geneva Expositor (1806 - 1809)
Geneva Gazette (1809 - 1839, 1846 - July 1901)
Geneva Palladium (1821 - 1828)
Marion Enterprise (September 1880 - December 1923)
Monroe County Mail (1885 - 1893, 1896 - 1979)
Newark Courier (December 1870 - 1886, 1889 - June 1916, 1917 - 1922)
Newark Gazette (August 1906 - March 1908)
Newark Union (August 1872 - December 1891)
Newark Union-Gazette (April 1908 - December 1908, April 1909 - 1912, 1915 - 1922)
Ontario Repository (April 1809 - March 1826)
Ontario Repository and Freeman (December 1836 - June 18
- The Spectrum (1950- 1962)
The student newspaper of SUNY-Buffalo.
- Stony Brook University Campus Newspaper Archive (1958- 2011)
Stony Brook University student newspapers and other campus publications.
- Suffolk County Historic Newspaper Archive (1822-2007)
Historic newspapers from the eastern three-quarters of Long Island, New York. Includes the Babylon Beacon (1967-1972), The Corrector (Sag Harbor, 1822-1911), The Long Islander (Huntington, 1839-1974), The Patchogue Advance (1926-1961), and eight others.
- Village Voice (1955-2004)
One of the original "alternative newsweeklies," the Voice featured local news and coverage of art, culture, and entertainment in lower Manhattan and throughout New York.
- World War I Newspapers
Fatherland [New York City] (1914–1917)
Vital Issue/Issues and Events [New York City] (1914–1919)
World War [New York City] (1914–1916)