Health Communication: Databases

Covers a selection of journals in complementary ("alternative") medicine (CAM), palliative care, and several other allied professions, 1985 - present.

Provides current and comprehensive information on drugs and pharmacology, and all other aspects of human medicine and related disciplines. Covers over 2,000 biomedical titles not currently offered by MEDLINE.

Global Health consists of more than 1.2 million record. Research content covering public health, tropical and communicable diseases, nutrition, helminthology, entomology and mycology.

Regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases.

Access to information on measurement instruments in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HAPI helps identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses, and program evaluation.

Full-text coverage of health and life sciences trade publications. Covers staffing, health care regulation, health care facilities management, marketing, finance, etc.

Contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery. The following topics are included: evaluation of patient outcomes; effectiveness of procedures, programs, products, services and processes; administration and planning of health facilities, services and manpower; health insurance; health policy; health services research; health economics and financial management; laws and regulation; personnel administration; quality assurance; licensure; and accreditation.

Premier database for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.

PubMed is the public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature. PubMedPlus is an enhanced version with links to full-text journals that the Penn Library subscribes to. Once the "Log-in" is completed, any full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the PubMed system by clicking on the Penn Text icon. The MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. The PubMed version of MEDLINE includes the PREMEDLINE database, which provides very current basic citati on information and abstracts before the full records are prepared and added to MEDLINE.

The premier source for the literature of social gerontology. Includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy, 1978-present, with selected coverage from 1966-1977.

The most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW covers popular issues and meets the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice.

Bibliographic citations and subject indexing for the international journal article and book literature in anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology.

The American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for the professional and scholarly literature in psychology and related fields. Coverage is worldwide. Sources are in English and over thirty languages.

Covers sociology, case work, demographics, policy studies, political science, family studies, feminist studies, and social security programs.

Indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Allows for cited reference searching. Includes Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address, as well as for articles that cite a known author or work.