Guides: Italian Studies: Databases & Article Indexes

Find articles in the Penn Library's electronic & print collections

PennText Article Finder

Databases by Title and Subject

Browse the complete list of databases by title or subject. If you are accessing the page from off-campus, you will need to enter your PennKey and password.

If an article is not available at/through Penn Libraries

Use the Request Article icon on the left side of the page.

InterLibrary Loan
Use the Request Article link on the left side.

General Databases

Articles+

JSTOR
JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines. Issues are available both as images and as text, making searching possible both within each title and across the whole database. Coverage dates from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before the present.
EBSCO MegaFILE
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes four EBSCO fulltext and bibliographic databases: Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier, and Regional Business News. There are bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals. Coverage varies: mostly 1990s to present.
Google Scholar
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index: A&HCI
1,140 arts & humanities journals, 1975 to present. Includes citations as well as indexing information for each article, and allows searching where articles are cited. Part of the ISI Web of Science, which also contains the Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index.
Periodicals Index Online
Humanities and social sciences. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages. Coverage starts with the 17th century.

IBZ Online
Covers a broad range of humanities and social sciences periodicals, with a primary focus on German titles, but it includes publications from over 40 countries and more than 40 languages.
more...less...
Internationale Bibliographie der geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Zeitschriftenliteratur (IBZ) indexes recent scientific articles from a broad range of humanities and social sciences periodicals, especially those that intersect with the natural sciences. Its primary focus is on German titles, but it includes publications from over 40 countries and more than 40 languages.

Italian Databases

BiGLI
The online version of the annual Bibliografia generale della lingua e della letteratura italiana is the primary Italian language database of articles and book studies on Italian language and literature.
more...less...
BiGLI includes texts, critical and historical surveys, philological and linguistic notes, essays, monographs, bibliographic reviews, etc., from 1981 to present. It is co-published by the Centro Pio Rajna and Salerno Editrice in Rome.
AIDA: Articoli italiani di periodici accademici
Approximately 290,000 articles in the humanities from nearly 1,400 Italian periodicals.
more...less...
Publications cover the humanities and related disciplines. Entries include information on author, title, subject (in German, English, Italian), journal title, subtitle (year of publication, volume, issue, page number), ISSN, publisher, box number of union catalogue and the Italian catalogue of journals, ZDB-ID, holdings of Italian libraries.
Italinemo
Italinemo is a free database that indexes international periodicals in the field of Italian studies. Coverage begins with articles published in 2000. The records include abstracts.

Subject Databases

MLA International Bibliography
Covers literature, languages, folklore, and linguistics in all languages. Provides information about, and links to, journal articles, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Book reviews are not included. 1963 to the present.
Literature Resource Center
Full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. PLEASE NOTE: Penn has licensed two user "seats," which means it is sometimes necessary to wait to get access until other users are finished.
Literature Criticism Online
Critical responses over time on a wide range of authors from the classical period to the present.
Historical Abstracts
Provides information about, and links to, articles on the history of all parts of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) and in all languages from 1450 to the present from over 2,000 journals. Covers 1974- present.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance
Medieval (400-1500) and Renaissance (1300-1700) studies.
International Medieval Bibliography
300,000 articles, 1967 to present. 300,000 articles derived from regular coverage of some 4500 periodicals and thousands of volumes of conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, and exhibition catalogs. 1967 to present.

All databases related to Italian Studies

Print Article Indexes

Romanische Bibliographie. Tübingen : M. Niemeyer Verlag, 1961/62- . Location: [Van Pelt PC3 .R453]. Last five years held in Reference. See Franklin record for full holdings information. From 1878 to 1961 it was a supplement to Zeitschrift für romanische Philologie. Covers Italian as well as all other Romance languages and literatures except French. Free online version covers 1965-1992.