Skip to Main Content

Health and Life Science Research: Literature

Focused on needs of researchers in the life and health sciences. Includes information about finding literature, protocols, and methods, setting up alerts to keep up to date, helping with publishing, locating funding, and services for authors.

Consultation & Researcher Services

Request a one-on-one consult with a librarian. We are available in-person, via email or video conference

More about our Services
Learn more about our services and some of the topics we can assist you with.

Proxy Bookmark

Use this bookmark to proxy-in to Penn content off-campus without going all the way back to the library Web site. Great if you WORK AT CHOP

Additional Subject Guides

Public Health - literature, data, statistics, GIS, and analysis tools
Medical Images - including videos and multimedia
Health Care Industry - business aspects of the health care industry
Systematic Reviews - searching the literature, managing results & data
Grey Literature - clinical trials, statistics, proceedings, guidelines, Web searching
Patents - patent resources and search tips for researchers

Manage Citations & Create Bibliographies

Tools are available to help manage citations. RefWorks, Zotero, Papers, and EndNote are examples.

Learn more about citation tools

Locate Research Articles

PubMed
NLM's public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature.
EMBASE
Covers biomedical literature. Includes over 1,800 biomedical titles not offered by Medline/PubMed
Web of Science
Indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Allows for cited reference searching.
Scopus
Indexes journals in science, technology, and medicine. Allows for cited reference searching.

CAB Abstracts
International coverage of veterinary medicine, agriculture, forestry and related bio-science fields.

Additional Subject-focused Databases

APA PsycInfo
Indexes literature in psychology and related fields.
CogNet
Repository for current and topical electronic resources in cognitive science, including computational intelligence, cognitive psychology, and neuroscience.
Reaxys
Web-based interface to the Beilstein organic and Gmelin inorganic data, as well as the Elsevier Patent Chemistry Database.

Other resources

If you have a suggestion for us to include here, email us!

Finding Full-Text

Within a journal database, look for the PennText link or button. Click on PennText to open a page with options for obtaining the full-text.

Locate full-text from a citation

Last Updated: Dec 19, 2023 2:32 PM
URL: https://guides.library.upenn.edu/hlthsci-research-resources
Print Page

Subjects: Health & Life Sciences

Tags: alerts, biology, biomedicine, funding, health sciences, methods, protocols, publishing

3420 Walnut Street,
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6206

Penn Libraries Home Franklin Home

(215) 898-7555