Guides: Critical Writing Program: The Crow Nation and Radical Hope: Research Tools

Finding Reviews

These resources will lead you to appropriate book reviews.

EBSCO MegaFILE
Try a search for the title of your book AND the author's name: "radical hope" AND "lear." You can limit your search to the Document Type Book Review, but try the search without the limit as well.
Web of Science
Choose the Cited Reference Search option and search on Cited Author "lear j*? and Cited Work "radical*." Select all the results, choose Finish Search, then "refine results" with "Book Review."
America: History and Life
Try a search for the title of your book AND the author's name: "radical hope" AND "lear." In an advanced search you can limit the search to the Document Type "Book Review," but try the search without the limit as well.
Philosopher's Index
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, logic, and philosophy of mind as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, language and education.
ATLA Religion Database
Covers all religious traditions; strongest coverage is for materials dealing with the Judeo-Christian tradition. While about half of the material included is in English. Includes materials published in most European languages with extensive coverage of publications in German, French, Italian, and Spanish.

Background Resources

These resources provide contextual information.

Oxford Reference Online
Includes Dictionary of Banking and Finance, Oxford Business French Dictionary, Oxford Business Spanish Dictionary, Dictionary of Accounting, Dictionary of Economics, and Dictionary of Statistics

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Philosophy Encyclopedias & Subject Dictionaries
The online collection of the Dictionary of Literary Biography series includes Chinese Fiction Writers, 1900-1949. Vol. 328.

Getting Physical Books

First, use Franklin to identify the book's library and call number.

Van Pelt Stack Directory
If your book is in Van Pelt Library, this chart will tell you the floor and side of the building in which you can find it. Just match the beginning of the call number with the letter or number on the chart.
Reading Call Numbers
If you are not familiar with the Library of Congress call number system then this table will explain how you can find an individual book once you have found the part of the library that has items in that call number range.
Other Libraries
Locations of Penn's libraries
If the book is in "LIBRA"
If the location of the book is listed as "LIBRA" then click on the "Request" link located to the right of the book. It will be shipped to the library you choose in one or two business days.

Scholarly Databases

These databases will help you find scholarly articles about your topic

JSTOR
JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines. Issues are available both as images and as text, making searching possible both within each title and across the whole database.

Penn's subscription currently includes all the available collections:
- the Arts & Sciences Collection I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII and the Complement
- the Business II & III Collection
- the Biological Sciences Collection
- the Health & General Science Collection
- the Language and Literature Collection
- the Music Collection
- the 19th Century British Pamphlets
Access to journals from JSTOR is restricted to current Penn faculty, staff and students.

Printing from the JSTOR database requires downloading a helper application called JPrint.
Google Scholar
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
EBSCO MegaFILE
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
America: History and Life
A bibliographic database indexing books, book chapters, and over 1,800 journals relating to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Philosopher's Index
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, logic, and philosophy of mind as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, language and education.
ATLA Religion Database
Covers all religious traditions; strongest coverage is for materials dealing with the Judeo-Christian tradition. While about half of the material included is in English. Includes materials published in most European languages with extensive coverage of publications in German, French, Italian, and Spanish.
Anthropology PLUS
ACCESS NOTE: 5 users. Combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute of the UK. Offers worldwide indexing of all core periodicals, in addition to lesser known journals, from the early 19th century to today. Broad geographical coverage emphasizes the Commonwealth and Africa and extends to Eastern Europe, the Americas, Asia, Australasia, and the Pacific. Covers fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.

Search for databases by subject

Using Citations to Find Resources

You may already have citations of relevance to the text on which you are working. These resources will help you find an online or text version of the cited work.