Guides: Critical Writing Program: Global Development & NGOs: Research Tools

Finding Reviews

These resources will lead you to appropriate book reviews.

EBSCO MegaFILE
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
Web of Science
Indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Allows for cited reference searching. Includes Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address, as well as for articles that cite a known author or work.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Bibliographic citations and subject indexing for the international journal article and book literature in anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology. Produced by British Library of Political and Economic Science, London School of Economics and Political Science, with the support and assistance of International Committee for Social Science Information and Documentation and UNESCO.
Google Scholar
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.

Background Resources

These resources provide contextual information.

Related Library Guides & Collections

How to Read a Citation

Book citations generally show a publisher, city of publication, and year. Book chapters will include the title of the chapter as well as the name of the book.

• Lehmann, Karsten. (2016). Religious NGOs in international relations: the construction of "the religious" and "the secular." Abingon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge.

Article citations have a journal/periodical title in addition to the article title. They will usually also show a volume and issue number, page numbers, and may show a date, or month or season (e.g., Winter), plus year.

• Bradley, Tamsin (2005). Does compassion bring results? A critical perspective on faith and development. Culture and Religion 6(3), 337-352.

Scholarly Databases

These databases will help you find scholarly articles about your topic

Articles+
Articles+ searches through many of our Penn-subscribed journals, and brings you results all in one place.

EBSCO MegaFILE
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
JSTOR
JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines. Issues are available both as images and as text, making searching possible both within each title and across the whole database.
Google Scholar
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Bibliographic citations and subject indexing for the international journal article and book literature in anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology. Produced by British Library of Political and Economic Science, London School of Economics and Political Science, with the support and assistance of International Committee for Social Science Information and Documentation and UNESCO.
Anthropology PLUS
ACCESS NOTE: 5 users. Combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute of the UK. Offers worldwide indexing of all core periodicals, in addition to lesser known journals, from the early 19th century to today. Broad geographical coverage emphasizes the Commonwealth and Africa and extends to Eastern Europe, the Americas, Asia, Australasia, and the Pacific. Covers fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.
Sociological Abstracts
Covers sociology, case work, demographics, policy studies, political science, family studies, feminist studies, and social security programs.
Philosopher's Index
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, logic, and philosophy of mind as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, language and education.

Search for databases by subject

Challenging the NGOs (2006) by Tamsin Bradley

Subject Guide

Joe Holub

Email Me

Contact:

Van Pelt Library
3420 Walnut Street
Philadephia PA 19104

215-898-4325

Subjects: French Studies, Italian Studies, Spanish & Portuguese Studies

Using Citations to Find Resources

You may already have citations of relevance to the text on which you are working. These resources will help you find an online or text version of the cited work.

Getting Physical Books

First, use Franklin to identify the book's library and call number.

Van Pelt Stack Directory
If your book is in Van Pelt Library, this chart will tell you the floor and side of the building in which you can find it. Just match the beginning of the call number with the letter or number on the chart.
Reading Call Numbers
If you are not familiar with the Library of Congress call number system then this table will explain how you can find an individual book once you have found the part of the library that has items in that call number range.
Other Libraries
Locations of Penn's libraries
If the book is in "LIBRA"
If the location of the book is listed as "LIBRA" then click on the "Request" link located to the right of the book. It will be shipped to the library you choose in one or two business days.

Search Aids

Keyword search worksheet
This document suggests a good method of crafting effective keyword searches.

Any Questions?

Chat with a librarian

Monday-Friday, 11am-5pm.

Send us a question

Penn Online Research Tutorial

Online guide to working with topics, finding information, and more.