Skip to main content
Click logo to go to Libraries homepage

Digital Humanities Projects at the Penn Libraries: Home

Digital Humanities Projects at the Penn Libraries

The Digital Scholarship Team at the Penn Libraries offers a variety of partnership opportunities for students, faculty, and researchers interested in pursuing a digital project. Check out some of our current and past projects below!

Omeka

War and Conquest in Medieval Europe - An Omeka Course Project

War and Conquest in Medieval Europe - An Omeka Course Project

War was not only a series of actions, but it also permeated society in a very concrete way through physical objects and material texts. These objects and texts inscribed war in everyday settings and, beyond that, they also reaffirmed both the importance and glory of war. This exhibit examines the remains of the physical life of war. In other words, what were the aesthetics of medieval warfare? What made war appealing and/or beautiful? "The Aesthetics of Medieval Warfare" will treat aesthetics in a large way, not only in terms of beauty but in terms of physical expression more largely.

Here and Over There - An Omeka Course Project

Here and Over There - An Omeka Course Project

This website was created as a project of a curatorial seminar at the University of Pennsylvania in the Fall of 2014. The aim of this project is to explore the historic engagement of the University of Pennsylvania and its faculty, students, and graduates in the Near and Middle East. It does so while drawing in part on objects and materials in the Penn Museum and across Penn’s campus. This site showcases just a sampling of the interesting objects – and stories – that help to tell the narrative of Penn’s engagement in the Middle East.

Art at Penn - An Omeka Course Project

Art at Penn - An Omeka Course Project

Through this website five students within the Fall 2015 course on Digital Art History (under the guidance of Professor Christopher Pastore) attempt to create an easy-to-use online art collection. Each student selected five artworks encompassing a spectrum of mediums, sizes, and locations throughout the University of Pennsylvania's existing art collection.

Haudenosaunee Timeline - An Omeka Course Project

Haudenosaunee Timeline - An Omeka Course Project

Because the Creation Story of the Haudenosaunee has been passed on to generations by oral tradition, the story is different for every retelling. This version of the origin story is based on that of Chief Gibson.

Who Was Alfred Dreyfus? - A Library Special Collections Project

Who Was Alfred Dreyfus? - A Library Special Collections Project

The materials on display here are facsimiles of originals in the Lorraine Beitler Collection of the Dreyfus Affair at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries. This exhibition begins with a timeline and cast of characters and then gives a semi-chronological overview of the Dreyfus Affair, focusing on specific themes and individuals central to the Affair. It also examines the Affair from larger perspectives, exploring topics including the role of the military; images and graphics; social media and popular culture; women; the press and public opinion; and patriotism. Justice, truth, and loyalty: all were put to the test during the Dreyfus Affair, and its lessons will resonate with today’s audiences.

Penn Museum Archives Foreign Language Toolkit - A Penn Museum Omeka Project

Penn Museum Archives Foreign Language Toolkit - A Penn Museum Omeka Project

The Penn Museum Archives Foreign Language Toolkit is an ongoing project of the Penn Museum Academic Engagement Department and the Penn Museum Archives. We welcome you to browse these documents and images, which represent only a small fraction of the foreign language materials available for research and study in the Penn Museum Archives. 

The Preface Project - A Library Special Collections Project

The Prefact Project - A Library Special Collections Project

The Preface Project is a multi-modal digital archive exploring the relationships among truth claims, direct address of the reader, and authorial voice in the prefaces of 1760s novels. The archive conceives of prefaces as products of and catalysts for relationality, while weaving together new layers of enmeshment, through curated cataloging and audio, visual, and textual digital reproductions.  Through the proliferation and linking of metadata, through the multimedia presentation of the prefaces, and through the open-access publication of the archived materials, the Preface Project generates new networks, entangling them with the conversations and relations of 1760s prefaces.

Scalar

A Monument to Climate Change - A Scalar Course Project

A Monument to Climate Change - A Scalar Course Project

This project takes Lenape teachings, embodied by the statue of Teedyuscung, and considers how they are related to scientific understandings of the environment.  Although Indigenous and scientific knowledge systems are quite different, the class discovered interesting intersections where the two systems speak eloquently to one another. The course project was created using Scalar.

TimelineJS and StorymapJS

Art at Penn - TimelineJS Embedded in an Omeka Course Site

Art at Penn - TimelineJS Embedded in an Omeka Course Site

TimelineJS can be used as an entry point into a website! Check out how a course in History of Art used TimelineJS in combination with Omeka to explore art around Penn's campus!

Make Your Own Timeline

Haudenosaunee Timeline - Deep Time in TimelineJS

Haudenosaunee Timeline - Deep Time in TimelineJS

While TimelineJS requires that you give each point along your timeline a fixed date, a professor at Penn has come up with a solution for representing "deep time" or "relative time" such as the time when creation stories take place. Click the image to check out his TimelineJS embedded in an Omeka site!

Make Your Own Timeline

Digging Deeper - Embedding TimelineJS in a Weebly Course Project

Digging Deeper - Embedding TimelineJS in a Weebly Course Project

TimelineJS can be embedded anywhere that you can write or paste HTML! Check out a course project that built a digital exhibit in Weebly, including embedded Timelines!

Make Your Own Timeline

A Monument to Climate Change - StoryMapJS Embedded in Scalar

A Monument to Climate Change - StoryMapJS Embedded in Scalar

Explore how students in a Religious Studies course at Penn used StoryMapJS to interweave the narratives of the Lenape creation story and the impact of climate change on Philadelphia.

Make Your Own StoryMap

Story Map by Esri

The Library as a Hub for Digital Scholarship - A Library Outreach Project

The Library as a Hub for Digital Scholarship - A Library Outreach Project

This project, designed by Social Science Librarian Anne Larrivee, demonstrates the power of Story Map by Esri as a presentation tool. This presentation uses the Story Map Cascade template.

Custom Web Applications

Monument Lab - A Philadelphia Community Project

Monument Lab - A Philadelphia Community Digital Asset & Data Management Project

This custom-built plugin for ResourceSpace, a digital asset management system, allows users to display their uploaded images and other files on an interactive map. The map is built using the Leaflet Javascript library by Summer Digital Scholarship Interns. The plugin has been implemented for Monument Lab, a public community project designed to allow the citizens of Philadelphia to propose what an appropriate monument is for the city.

Check out the code here.

Digital Humanities Tool Selector - A Custom Library Django Project

Digital Humanities Tool Selector - A Custom Library Django Project

This web application, built using Django/Python by Summer Digital Scholarship Interns, is designed to be a platform for librarians to build interactive guides to help patrons find the right tool for a project. The project includes extensive documentation on how you can set up your own version of the application to try your hand at building a web app with Django!

Visit the Beta Version Here.

Digging Deeper - Course Project in Weebly

Digging Deeper - A Course Project in Weebly

In the Spring of 2018, the Penn Museum will open a new installation of its important collection of artifacts from the Middle East. The galleries are conceived as a JOURNEY TO THE CITY. Through this lens we tell the emerging story of human society from early villages to the great urban centers of the ancient and medieval world.  Here we invite you to explore one of the most important cross cutting themes presented in the galleries:  Trade and Exchange.  Almost as fundamental to humans as language, all human societies engage in trade and exchange. This website is the product of a curatorial seminar sponsored by the History of Art department at the Univesity of Pennsylvania.  Eleven students, from a variety of interests, joined together to explore trade and exchange across time and space.​

Contact Us


Sasha Renninger
Digital Humanities Specialist
sashafr@upenn.edu

Specializations: web development, data management, coding for the humanities
Contact me about: the digital components of your coursework and research


Scott Enderle​
Digital Humanities Specialist
enderlej@upenn.edu

Specializations: statistical text analysis, machine learning, data visualization
Contact me about: using new technologies and large collections of data for humanities research and teaching