This is the "Overview" page of the "E-books at Penn" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
 *  Choose a Library * Ask Us/Get Help * Site Guide * Penn

E-books at Penn   Tags: 0type research guide, e-books, ipad, ipads  

Finding and Using Ebooks at the University of Pennsylvania
Last Updated: Jan 11, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.upenn.edu/pennebooks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search for e-books at Penn

 

What is an E-book

An e-book, electronic book, or digital book, is defined by The Oxford English Dictionary as a book whose text is available in electronic format for reading on a specialized device or computer screen.

Recommend a favorite e-book or e-book site

Directory of Open Access Books

"The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. . .The directory will be open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards."


Met Publications: Metropolitan Museum of Art

The Met makes nearly 400 texts freely available online.


Folger Digital Texts

Reliable, expertly edited, and free digital Shakespeare texts for use by researchers. Starting from the Folger Editions of Shakespeare's works edited by Barbara Mowat and Paul Werstine, Folger Digital Texts uses XML to create a highly articulate indexing system. Researchers can read the plays online, download PDFs for offline reading, search a play or the whole corpus, navigate by act, scene, line, or the new Folger Through line Numbers. As of Fall 2013, 13 plays are available. Freely available!

 

Introduction

This page is intended to lead you to and guide you through the use of e-books at the University of Pennsylvania.

Highly Recommended

  • Books@OVID
    This is a collection of clinical textbooks and manuals for medicine and nursing, fully cross-searchable, and with links from bibliographies to articles in external databases such as PubMed.
  • Cambridge Books Online
    Collection of over 900 e-books from across the disciplines published by Cambridge University Press. Try also the related collection of e-books, Cambridge Companions online-http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/84298
  • e-Duke Books Scholarly Collection
    This collection of e-books from Duke University Press includes 100 newly published books as well as hundreds of earlier imprints. Every title is searchable in Franklin or from the e-Duke site.
  • Kotobarabia Arabic e-book collection  
      
    Online access to approximately 4000 literature, social science and humanities titles from 1960s to the present, written by Arab authors, mostly from Egypt, with increasing content from other countries.
  • Other Voice in Early Modern Europe. Toronto Series  
      
    A series of books available through the ITER database, which focus on primary renaissance era texts by women. Available through a library purchase requiring Pennkey and password for access.
  • Safari Books Online
    Penn Libraries subscribe to a collection of 300 titles from the Safari Books Online digital library covering the subject areas of technology, digital media, and business books and videos online to academic and library users
  • Sage Knowledge  
      
    SAGE Knowledge social sciences digital library is intended for students, researchers, and faculty. The SAGe Knowledge platform hosts 2,700 titles and includes scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more. Each title has a separate entry in Franklin, or go directly to SAGE Knowledge and conduct keyword searches across the entire platform. Find Individual titles through Franklin:http://tinyurl.com/pf2scvj
  • Sephardic Editions 1550-1820
    Spanish and Portuguese books written and/or published by Sephardic Jews of Early Modern Europe
  • Translated Texts for Historians
    Fully searchable scholarly translations from Greek, Latin, Syriac, Coptic, Arabic, Georgian and Armenian of texts published between 300 and 800 AD; from late antiquity to the early middle ages.
  • World Bank E-Library
    Fulltext PDF-format collection of more than 1,200 World Bank books, including all new titles and selected titles beginning in 1984. Topics covered include:agriculture, education, environment, finance, globalization, governance, health and population, industry, infrastructure, international economics, labor and employment, macroeconomics and growth, poverty, private sector development, public sector management, rural development, social development, transition economies, urban development.
 

Recently Added Ebooks

Follow the RSS feed below to find more new e-books at Penn.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Questions? Contact:

Rebecca StuhrCoordinator for Humanities Collections
Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center
stuhrreb @ pobox.upenn.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip