This guide provides information about the second annual One Book One GSE book and its authors, including videostream author interviews and also book reviews in the popular press and in scholarly journals. It presents suggestions for finding print books (when you're on campus), ebooks (even when you're off campus), and scholarly journal articles on the One Book One GSE book's topic.
The 
icon identifies Penn Libraries electronic resources - databases, e-books, e-journal articles, and more - that require PennKey authentication to access. For more information on PennKey and its use by the Penn Libraries, please consult our online guide, Using Electronic Resources : Access to Electronic Resources (On and Off Campus / EZproxy).
Radical Equations : Math Literacy and Civil Rights by Online African American National Biography (Oxford University Press, 2013; digitized in Oxford African American Studies Center). Washington Monthly 33, 4 (April 2001) : 57-58. (ABI/INFORM Global) The Journal of Blacks in Higher Education 32 (Summer 2001) : 140. (JSTOR)
Robert Parris Moses : a life in civil rights and leadership at the grassroots by
One of the most influential leaders in the civil rights movement, Robert Parris Moses was essential in making Mississippi a central battleground state in the fight for voting rights. As a leader of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), Moses presented himself as a mere facilitator of grassroots activism rather than a charismatic figure like Martin Luther King Jr. His self-effacing demeanor and his success, especially in steering the events that led to the volatile 1964 Freedom Summer and the formation of the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party, paradoxically gave him a reputation of nearly heroic proportions. Examining the dilemmas of a leader who worked to cultivate local leadership, historian Laura Visser-Maessen explores the intellectual underpinnings of Moses's strategy, its achievements, and its struggles. This new biography recasts Moses as an effective, hands-on organizer, safeguarding his ideals while leading from behind the scenes. By returning Moses to his rightful place among the foremost leaders of the movement, Visser-Maessen testifies to Moses's revolutionary approach to grassroots leadership and the power of the individual in generating social change.
Online Fulltext for these book reviews is linked through Franklin Articles+, the Penn Libraries' basic tool for locating online journal articles. Dissent 48, 4 (Fall 2001) : 157-159. (Alt-Press Watch) Educational Researcher 31, 7 (October 2002) : 39-45. (JSTOR) ASEE Prism 11, 4 (December 2001): 36-38. (JSTOR) Counterpoise 6, 4 (October 2002) : 40. (Alt-Press Watch) Handbook of international research in mathematics education. 3rd ed. Routledge, 2015. 336-358. Handbook of research on teaching. 5th ed. American Educational Research Association, 2016. 1039-1097. Oxford Research Encyclopedia : Education, 2018. Handbook of the cultural foundations of learning. Routledge, 2020. 141-159. Oxford Research Encyclopedia : Education, 2020.These articles will summarize the current state of research on a topic and will identify emerging research fronts. They typically offer long bibliographies, useful for identifying important or controversial articles and books.
International handbook of mathematics teacher education. Volume 1: Knowledge, beliefs, and identity in mathematics teaching and teaching development. 2nd ed. Brill, 2019. Review of Educational Research 86, 1 (March 2016) : 163-206. Disrupting inequality through education research (special issue). Review of Research in Education 41, 1 (March 2017) 228-252. The challenges and possibilities of intersectionality in education research (special issue). Review of Research in Education 42, 1 (2018) : 122-145. A dream deferred : a retrospective view of culturally relevant pedagogy (special issue). Teachers College Record 119, 1 (2017). What counts as knowledge in educational settings : disciplinary knowledge, assessment, and curriculum (special issue). Review of Research in Education 32, 1 (2008) : 187-240. Toward Latin@ revisionings of decolonizing Western science and math (special issue). Cultural Studies of Science Education 8, 4 (December 2013) : 803-820These articles describe books, book chapters, and articles that discuss a topic. The articles are arranged in topical sections, each section with a brief narrative introduction. Each book, book chapter, or article has a note that explains its inclusion in the annotated bibliography. Entries have links to Franklin Catalog, to Penntext, or to other available fulltext.
Oxford Bibliographies : Childhood Studies, 2018. Oxford Bibliographies : Education, 2013. Oxford Bibliographies : Education, 2016. Oxford Bibliographies : Education, 2018.Franklin Catalog identifies books, journals, videos, and sound recordings - in print and electronic formats - available for you to read.
Penn Libraries books similar to Radical Equations.
How does that search work?
Franklin Catalog uses Library of Congress subject headings and subject heading subdivisions to describe books, videos, and audio recordings.
Several subject heading clusters describe the topics covered by Radical Equations:
| Algebra | Mathematical Ability |
| Arithmetic | Mathematical Fluency |
| Geometry | Mathematics |
[You could substitute Engineering, Technology, and other terms if you wanted to explore other school-taught subjects.]
| Culturally Relevant Pedagogy | Inclusive Education |
| Education, Urban | Multicultural Education |
| Educational Equalization | Study and Teaching |
| African Americans | Minorities |
| Civil Rights | Minority Students |
| Social Justice |
Combine these subject headings using OR for synonyms, gather the synonym groups within parentheses, and separate the synonym groups with AND.
And here's the resulting Franklin Catalog keyword expert search:
Oxford Research Encyclopedia : American History, 2018. The encyclopedia of African American history, 1896 to the Present. Oxford University Press, 2009. (Online, Oxford African American Studies Center). Oxford Bibliographies : African American Studies, 2018.