Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fall 2020 Penn Libraries Media Support

PowerPoint for Presentations

PowerPoint presentation software

PowerPoint

PowerPoint is part of Microsoft's O365 suite of applications, and is useful for online or printed presentations. PowerPoint is included in the suite of applications available to users of Office 365. 

Learning Microsoft PowerPoint through LinkedIn Learning.

All current Penn students, staff and faculty have access to tutorials on the various uses of PowerPoint through LinkedIn Learning. Explore training resources through our curated collection of tutorial and tips videos in this LinkedIn Learning PowerPoint Tutorial Collection. In this collection you'll find tutorials that will guide you through the creation and uses of presentations. These tutorials are organized by a table of contents and you can work your way through them from start to finish or pick out topics of interest if you have a specific area of interest. In this collection, you'll also find short video tutorials (usually five minutes or less) on popular topics.

Penn Libraries Staff Consultation Appointments

If you aren't able to find answers to your questions from LinkedIn Learning tutorials, or for questions about specific uses of software for your course, current members of the Penn community can schedule a one-on-one appointment with a Penn Libraries staff member through an appointment form.

Google Slides for Presentations

google slides

Google Slides

Google Slides is the presentation app that accompanies Google user accounts. Slides can be used for print or online presentation. Slides files are created and live online--you store them on your Google Drive account. They are 'live' documents and can be collaborative if you invite others to edit them. They can't be downloaded in their native file format, but Slides presentations can be exported as PowerPoint files (with some formatting changes) and saved as PDF files for screen and print use.

Learning Google Slides through LinkedIn Learning.

All current Penn students, staff and faculty have access to tutorials on the various uses of Google Slides through LinkedIn Learning. Explore training resources through our curated collection of tutorial and tips videos in this LinkedIn Learning Google Slides Collection. In this collection you'll find tutorials that will guide you through the creation and uses of presentations. These tutorials are organized by a table of contents and you can work your way through them from start to finish or pick out topics of interest if you have a specific area of interest. In this collection, you'll also find short video tutorials (usually five minutes or less) on popular topics.

Penn Libraries Staff Consultation Appointments

If you aren't able to find answers to your questions from LinkedIn Learning or for questions about specific uses of software for your course, current members of the Penn community can schedule a one-on-one appointment with a Penn Libraries staff member through an appointment form.

Online Training & Consultations

Online Training

All Penn student, faculty and staff have access to the excellent web-based training modules for a variety of software in LinkedIn Learning. You'll find short introduction videos of a few minutes to comprehensive, in-depth training videos through LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda) in this collection of tutorials available to current members of the Penn community.  Many of the longer videos are broken into searchable chapters which can be viewed on their own or as part of a series and can also be saved in your LinkedIn Learning account to review at a later time if you forget what you learned. There are usually multiple courses associated with any given application, each with its own instructor and approach to training. 

Penn Libraries Staff Consultation Appointments

If you aren't able to find answers to your questions from LinkedIn Learning or for questions about specific uses of software for your course, current members of the Penn community can schedule a one-on-one appointment with a Penn Libraries staff member through an appointment form. Find a librarian through the software lists and be sure to let our staff know what you'd like to learn more about when filling out the form and if you've accessed any of the LinkedIn Learning tutorials. If you don't see the software you are interested  in through the menu on this form, it is likely that it is outside of the range of applications we can support. If you aren't sure which applications might be helpful for a specific use or have other questions about the use of media in your courses, submit a consultation request through the form on this media support page and the appropriate staff member will follow up with you as soon as possible.