Archaeology and the Iliad
Get a comprehensive view of your particular area of interest through these scholarly handbooks and guides
These resources can help you come up with dates, names, additional vocabulary and variant spellings for your research. They can also help you develop a better understanding of your topic or give you ideas for comparisons and contrasts.
- Oxford Companion to ArchaeologyNewest edition published in 2012 at Museum Library reference. This edition also available through Oxford Reference Online Premium
- Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization ONLINEProvides an authoritative survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects, including articles on diverse fields such as, history and politics; ethics and morals; law and punishment; social and family life; language, literature, and art; religion and mythology; technology, science, and medicine.
- Brill's New PaulyEncyclopedic entries on most aspects of the ancient world.
- Oxford Handbooks Online: ClassicsCurrently more than 35 handbooks with nearly 1,400 articles (chapters) covering as many discrete topics within broad fields within Classical Studies.
- Cambridge CompanionsA little more difficult to navigate than the Oxford Handbooks -- you'll need to browse through titles or do key word searches
- Wiley-Blackwell Companions to the Ancient WorldIndividual volumes on discrete topics, available in print and in some cases electronically. Located on the shelves in Van Pelt or via the Web. Coverage of literature, history, and culture.
Other titles of interest
The Archaeology of Mediterranean Landscapes ONLINE by Call Number: ONLINE and in print Museum Library. GF541 .W35 2014ISBN: 9780521853019Publication Date: 2013A comprehensive review of palaeoenvironmental evidence and its incorporation with landscape archaeology from across the Mediterranean.
Maritime Networks in the Ancient Mediterranean World ONLINE by Call Number: ONLINE and in printISBN: 9781108429948Publication Date: 2018Uses network analysis to test the paradigm of connectivity. From prehistory into the Byzantine period.
Use keywords or subject terms to search article databases
These databases will also uncover book chapters along with articles in journals
- JSTORJSTOR provides access to about 119 archaeology journals and 78 classical studies journals. It can be tricky to find just the right articles because it is searching every word in every article in the database. You may want to watch this short video on how to search JSTOR for classical studies.
- L'Annee PhilologiqueThe standard database for research in the broad area of Classical Studies. It indexes the current scholarship from over 1,500 journals and as well as books, edited volumes and conference papers. (Compare with JSTOR). Watch a short video on how to search L'Annee Phil.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online ClassicsAn online resource to academic articles. Focused on multiple aspects of ancient studies including archaeology, history, literature, economics, and more. For a quick tour on how best to use, see this short video.
- Google ScholarUse this link to search Google Scholar to incorporate Penntext access to Penn subscribed and owned resources. Scroll through at least several pages for best results.
- Articles+Penn Libraries' equivalent to Google Scholar -- all of our subscribed and open access content. Search by keyword and subject terms or search authors and titles -- connect to online content or find print in Penn Libraries collections
Digital Loeb
- Digital LoebDigital Loeb provides fully searchable access to the entire bilingual Loeb library of critical editions of Greek and Latin text.
- Oxford Scholarly Editions OnlineLike Loeb, provides bilingual editions of the ancient Greek and Latin authors. Follow this link, then scroll down to see link for "only classical authors." Follow this link, then click on "Browse authors."
Penn Libraries
- Van Pelt-Dietrich LibraryCollections focus on humanities and social sciences (but not exclusively). Includes books for history, literature, philosophy, politics, economics ..
- Fischer Fine Arts LibraryCollections focus on art history, architecture, urban and landscape studies, "above ground" archaeology (structures, artifacts)
- Museum LibraryCollections focus on anthropology, world-wide ancient archaeology, Egyptian history
Research Assistance
Rebecca Stuhr is the librarian specialists for Classical Studies.
You can arrange individual appointments or ask questions by email by contacting Rebecca at stuhrreb @ upenn.edu or click the button just below to find a time that works for you:
Rebecca also has office hours in the Classics Lounge, Cohen Hall 2nd floor: Mondays 1-2 and Thursdays 12:30-1:30. Feel free to drop in any time.
Required readings available online
- The Oxford handbook of the Bronze Age Aegean ONLINEAlso available in Print at Van Pelt and the Museum Library DF220 .O946 2010
- Cambridge Companion to the Aegean Bronze Age ONLINEAlso available in print at the Museum Library: DF220 .C36 2008
- A New Companion to Homer ONLINEAlso available in print at Van Pelt Library. PA4037 .N42 1997
- Introduction to Aegean Art Betancourt ONLINEAso in print at the Museum Library. N5640 .B48 2007
- Maritime Networks in the Mycenaean ONLINEAlso available in print at Van Pelt and the Museum Library VK16 .T37 2013
- Kingdom of the Hittites ONLINEAlso available in print at Van Pelt Library. DS66 .B75 1997
- 1177 The year Civilization Collapsed ONLINEAlso available in print at Van Pelt Library. GN778.25 .C55 2014
- Ancient Greece: From the Mycenaean Palaces to the Age of Homer ONLINEAlso available in print at the Museum Library. DF221.5 .A53 200
- Philistines and other "Sea Peoples" in Text and Archaeology ONLINEAlso available in print at Van Pelt Library. DS90 .P55 2013
- Greece in the Making 1200-479 BC ONLINERobin Osborne, Second edition.
Also available in print Museum Library DF220 .O82 2009. Ist edition available at Van Pelt. - Franklin (Penn Libraries Catalog)Lists materials in the Penn libraries, including the Museum Library. Includes records for books, ebooks, videos, journal titles, journal articles, and more.