A selection of Books on the material culture of Acient Greece and Athens
Athens at the Margins: Pottery and People in the Early Mediterranean World by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780691222660Publication Date: 2021The connections between pottery, migration, non-elites in Athens and surrounding region.
Theoretical Approaches to the Archaeology of Ancient Greece by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780472130238Publication Date: 2017Objects and buildings tell us something about their creators. Status, gender identity, and cultural affiliations are a few characteristics we can deduce from modern material culture. This text explores the possibility of determining whether we can draw these same conclusions from the extant material culture of ancieht Greece. See table of contents
Material Culture and Cultural Identity: a Study of Greek and Roman Coins from Dora by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781784910938Publication Date: 2015Greek and Roman presence in an ancient Israeli town.
New Approaches to Ancient Material Culture in the Greek and Roman World by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9789004440692Publication Date: 2020The multi-disciplinary papers deal with archaeology and art history, museum objects and fieldwork data, ancient texts and material culture, archaeological theory and historiography, and technical and literary analysis. See table of contents
Greek Art in Context: Archaeological and Art Historical Perspectives by Call Number: Penn Museum Library N5633 .G75 2014 (print)ISBN: 0367595087Publication Date: 2017Papers that consider ancient Greek art in the prespective of society, religion, politics, material culture and more. Link takes you to catalo record and full table of contents for this print text.
Search with formal subject headings and free terms
Formal Subject headings
When searching with subject headings in Franklin Catalog:
- It is easiest to use the "subject heading keyword" search option
- you don't need to know what the subject headings are.
- Looking at the subject headings in either a catalog record or from a journal database helps you find good descriptive terms to use as you search for books and articles.
- Material culture -- Greece -- History -- To 1500
- Landscape archaeology -- Greece
- Social archaeology -- Greece
- Pottery, Greek -- -- Greece -- Athens
- Coins, Greek -- Greece -- Athens -- History
- Food habits
- Drinking customs
- manners and customs
- Mediterranean Region -- Commerce.
Mediterranean Region -- Social life and customs.
Freely constructed terms and phrases
- You can construct simple or complex searches using the "keyword expert" search
- complex keyword search: ("ancient athens" OR Greece OR Greek) AND "material culture"
- animals AND ancient (greece OR greek)
- simplekeyword search: Greek statuary and women
- complex keyword search: ("ancient athens" OR Greece OR Greek) AND "material culture"
Publishers and databases for discovery
We have searchable and comprehensive access to both
- Archeopress
- Works best with simple searches.
- In advanced search, choose the geographical reagion
- Greece, Aegean, Crete, Black sea
- Add a term -- such as pottery, animal, coins... etc. into the free text box.
- Search directly in Franklin may be more effective
- In advanced search, choose the geographical reagion
- Works best with simple searches.
- BAR Digital Collection (British Archaeology Reports)
- use search box in upper right hand corner
- you can type in or two words such as statuary female (even Kithara comes up)
- Look through "subjects" in the left hand column, and you'll find
- Mediterranean
- Greece, Aegean, Crete, Black sea
- Classical and Hellenistic
- you can "truncate" using ? for one letter and * for multiple letters.
- Greek? = could be Greek or Greeks
- statu* = could be statute, statue, statuary, statuesque
Searching for journal articles:
- L'Annee philologique
- Dedicated to the ancient Mediterranean and Near Eastern world
- Literature, language, history, art, and more
- Choosing "advanced search" allows you to limit the language of article results
- Most of our databases will give you a "penn text" link to connect to a journal article or other text, in this database look for SFX. It will be at the top of the record you are looking at.
- JSTOR Advanced Search
- Choose journal categories:
- Archaeology
- Classical Studies (only 74 journals -- compared to hundreds of journals and books covered in L'Anne philologique)
- JSTOR is all fulltext -- if you find a journal article it should be available on the site
- We do not have all JSTOR books
- Proximity search: "word 1 word 2" ~maximum number of words separating the two words
- "kylix sports"~20
- ARSTOR (images) is now incorporated into JSTOR.
- After you do your search and see your results, scroll down along the left hand column.
- you'll see a box to check for "images"
- Try typing in the name of your object and then clicking on image.
- Kithara, kylix, tetradrachm, amphorae -- for instance bring up many images.
- Choose journal categories:
- Articles+
- Choose scholarly and peer review from the left-hand facets
- You may also want to view newspapers or magazines
- start with a simple search: amphora* "ancient greek" and as you find interesting articles, look at "Quick look" to find
- summaries
- and descriptive terms
- working new terms that you run across nto your search will allow you to get more precisely to articles that may meet your needs
- Google Scholar
- using this link to Google Scholar makes sure that your Penn credentials are recognized so that you can connect with articles and other resources to which we have subscriptions
- If you go through this link (proxied for Penn), you'll see the "Penn Text" links to connect with actual argticles
- The beauty of Google Scholar is you can type exactly type a sentence exactly as you would say or think it.
Librarian for Classical Studies, Ancient History
Rebecca Stuhr
she/her/hers
Contact:
Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center 218
215-898-5999
Subjects: Classical Studies
Encyclopedias and Sources for Broad Context
Ancient Greece and Rome. ONLINE by ISBN: 9780195170726Publication Date: 2009Provides a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world--Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman--from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.
A Companion to Greeks Across the Ancient World by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781118341339Publication Date: 2020ancient Greek mobility and migration from 1000 BCE to 30 BCE
Brill's New Pauly Encyclopedia of the Ancient World and supplements by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9004122591Publication Date: 2011-
A Companion to Greek Art by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781118273289Publication Date: 2013account of the development Greek Art through the 1st millennium BC.
A Companion to Families in the Greek and Roman Worlds by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781444390766Publication Date: 2011research on family structure from archaeology, art, social, cultural, and economic history
A Companion to Sport and Spectacle in Greek and Roman Antiquity by Call Number: OnlinerISBN: 9781118610053Publication Date: 2013applies a socio-historical perspective to myriad aspects of ancient sport and spectacle.
