Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
All of these databases can be searched together as one. No matter which one you "come in on," once in, look for "Choose Databases" at the top to see the full list of databases; click on the ones that pertain to your topic before starting your query.
Offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline. Includes Communication Abstracts and Communication and Mass Media Complete.
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
Business Source Complete
Provides citations and full text content for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more
Provides broad indexing, abstracting and citation linking to journals in all branches of the sciences, business, economics, and the social sciences.
Click on the Articles+ button to search Penn's vast access to journal and magazine articles, books, and book chapters, news sources, etc.
Magazines and nonfiction
Magazines and writing and nonfiction
Writing and (magazines OR mass media)
Long form journalism
writing consumer journalism audience
Publishing and magazines
Remake, Remodel by
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. PN4835.5 .D84 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Brooke offers a unique glimpse inside the women's magazine industry. She explores how the move to digital publishing and participatory journalism is creating an evolution in journalism, and how the industry is adapting to this change.
Breaking up America by
Call Number: Annenberg, Lippincott, and Van Pelt: HF5813.U6 T85 1997
Publication Date: 1997
Analysis of 20th C. practices with a historical perspective, Breaking Up America traces the shift that began in the mid-1970s when advertisers rejected mass marketing in favor of more aggressive target marketing.
Media Today by
Call Number: Annenberg Library - Reference. P90 .T874 1999 (also at LIBRA)
Publication Date: 1999
This text focuses on the boundaries among and in the various media industries: newspapers, books, magazines, radio, recording, advertising, PR TV, film and electronic, showing the mass media as an interrelated arena of issues, causes, and effects.
Pew Research Center
The State of the News Media
Since 2004, Pew Research Center has issued an annual report on key audience and economic indicators for a variety of sectors within the U.S. news media industry. These data speak to the shifting ways in which Americans seek out news and information, how news organizations get their revenue, and the resources available to American journalists as they seek to inform the public about important events of the day.
Useful Guides to Resources for Researching Media
This guide developed by Sharon Black is more comprehensive and includes a larger selection of databases, reference tools, and monographs.
This guide, developed by Mia Wells at the Lippincott Library, focuses on the business of publishing and advertising.
Books on Magazines and Publishing
The Art of Making Magazines by
Call Number: Rosengarten Reserve
Publication Date: 2012
An anthology of essays from editors, writers, art directors, and publishers from such magazines as Vanity Fair, The New Yorker, The New Republic, Elle, and Harper's.
The Accidental Life by
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. PN4874.M48396 A3 2016
Publication Date: 2016
A celebration of the writing and editing life, as well as a look behind the scenes at some of the most influential magazines in America (and the writers who made them what they are).
Writers' Rights by
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. PN4784.F76 C64 2016
Publication Date: 2016-
As media industries undergo rapid change, the conditions of media work are shifting just as quickly, with an explosion in the number of journalists working as freelancers.
The Routledge Handbook of Magazine Research by
Call Number: Available online -- click on link to go to record with direct link to source
Publication Date: 2015
Scholarly engagement with the magazine form has, in the last two decades, produced a substantial amount of valuable research.
How to Write for a General Audience by
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. PN145 .K38 2007
Publication Date: 2007
This work shows academics how to communicate their ideas effectively to a wider audience. With humor and personal anecdotes, she provides practical information on coming up with ideas as well as necessary business tips
Contacts for Research Assistance
Director, Annenberg School for Communication Library
Assistant Director for Liaison Services
Librarian for Bibliography and Classical Studies
stuhrreb @ pobox.upenn.edu
Additional Business and News Sources
LexisNexis Academic (includes NY Times)
Access to full-text national and international newspapers , including the New York Times. News sources also include magazines, broadcast transcripts, wire services, and Congressional publications.
A full-text online service that provides access to sources of national and international news, business, health and general information. News sources include newspapers, magazines, media transcripts, wire services, pictures and web sites. In addition, Dow Jones Factiva provides access to several financial databases.
Available at Annenberg Library - Reference. HF6105.U5 M23.
Published by Media Dynamics, Magazine Dimensions is an annual publication that explores and analyzes consumer magazines.