Nursing 101: Library Resources for Searching Databases and Creating Bibliographies: Overview

Many people think of plagiarism as copying another's work or borrowing someone else's original ideas. But terms like "copying" and "borrowing" can disguise the seriousness of the offense.

Since the University is an academic community, its fundamental purpose is the pursuit of knowledge. Essential to the success of this educational mission is a commitment to the principles of academic integrity. Every member of the University community is responsible for upholding the highest standards of honesty at all times. Students, as members of the community, are also responsible for adhering to the principles and spirit of the following Code of Academic Integrity.*

“Peer Review is a process that journals use to ensure the articles they publish represent the best scholarship currently available. When an article is submitted to a peer reviewed journal, the editors send it out to other scholars in the same field (the author's peers) to get their opinion on the quality of the scholarship, its relevance to the field, its appropriateness for the journal, etc. Publications that don't use peer review (Time, Cosmo, Salon) just rely on the judgment of the editors whether an article is up to snuff or not. That's why you can't count on them for solid, scientific scholarship.”

"Don't base your evaluations on friendship or personality conflicts. Your input can be a valuable indicator to help assess contributions in a fair manner.”

"In the faculty evaluation, you should mention those things which have been important to the educational exchange which has occurred between you and the faculty member."

This web page lists many tools and services available to the health sciences community via the University of Pennsylvania Holman Biotech Commons.

Lists records for all books and journals subscribed or formerly subscribed by the Libraries (electronic or print) and dvds & videos

The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health.

Biomedical sciences literature database from the National Library of Medicine.

RefWorks allows users to create personal citation databases by importing references from online databases. RefWorks features also facilitate manuscript preparation, allowing for automatic formatting of the paper and the bibliography.