Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing of Women and Infants

Library Resources for Nursing of Women and Infants

Finding Publications and Research Articles

Information about the women's health and the health of birthing people can be found in many places- formally published research is accessible through Penn library subscriptions to leading journals in medicine, nursing, and interdisciplinary topics, as well as through research literature databases linked from the Penn Biomedical Library homepage at https://www.library.upenn.edu/biomed.

Databases in health sciences literature aggregate articles from a variety of journals that are carefully selected to meet standards for prestige and quality. Different databases may be specifically disciplinary or may reflect a range of multidisciplinary interests. The well known database Pubmed, for instance, includes articles from about 5,000 journals publishing in life sciences, clinical medicine, public health, dentistry, and veterinary sciences. While there is substantial content from nursing journals in Pubmed, the CINAHL database provides access to a similar number of journals, but with a specific focus on nursing and allied health professions. Identifying the most relevant evidence for your research interests may involve searching in several databases and combining results using research protocols such as PRISMA and web-based tools for citation management. 

The full list of health sciences databases is available at this link: Key List of Health and Life Science Databases

Other databases available from Penn Libraries include journal content and other material from humanities, social sciences, and political science-focused sources in Women's Studies and Gender Studies.

 

Significant Journals in Maternal-child Nursing

Data Sources

Philadelphia and Pennsylvania Initiatives

New Articles on Reproductive Justice (Updated daily from PubMed)

Loading ...

Manage Citations & Create Bibliographies

Citation Management tools are available through and/or supported by librarians at the different Penn Libraries. These tools enable you to efficiently export relevant research articles from databases, categorize and store libraries of full-text articles, and insert and format citations in written articles through plug-ins to word-processing software. 

Access to RefWorks is provided to all members of the Penn community. Zotero, Papers, and EndNote are other widely used and popular ciationms management tools.

Learn more about citation tools

Nursing Liaison Librarian