O365: Calendar

​PennO365:  Outlook on the Web Calendar Basics

June 2016 Workshop Slides                 

1. Create a calendar event

• Choose a calendar view (day, work week, week, month)
• Create an item on your calendar
• Send a meeting request
• Select different availability options
• Create reoccurring events
• Set event categories
• Microsoft Tutorial:
  • Calendar in Outlook on the web

2.  Schedule a meeting

• Search the Directory to View other people’s calendars to see if they are busy
• Find a room (Penn Global Address List)
  • Use the prefix assigned to your school or center to search for rooms. If you need help, ask your LSP.
• Use the scheduling assistant
• Track replies
• Microsoft Tutorial:
  • Using the scheduling assistant

3. Manage multiple/shared calendars

• Share your calendar
• Add a shared calendar to your account
• Access and manage shared calendars/accounts
  • Add to your account portal
  • Log in directly to an account
  • Shared accounts
• Microsoft Tutorials:
  • Sharing your calendar in Outlook Web App 
  • Manage another person's mail and calendar items 
  • Allow someone else to manage your mail and calendar 
  • Working with multiple calendars in Outlook on the web

Using Contacts ("People") in Outlook Web Access

• "People" includes two types of contacts:
  • Your Contacts: This is your personal address book with contacts you add.
  • Directory: The Penn Global Address List (GAL) includes everyone with a PennO365 account. This is different than the Penn Online Directory, which includes everyone at Penn, including accounts for rooms and departments.
• Adding people to Your Contacts:
  • From outside the Directory (manually): Click "New" in the top navigation bar and enter your contact's information.
  • From the Directory: After searching the directory, highlight the person's name and click "Add to contacts" in the top navigation bar.
  • Import contacts: To import your contacts from another email program, you will need to save your contacts to a CSV file and upload the file to Outlook.  To find instructions for creating a CSV file in your other email program, click "Manage" in the top navigation bar and select "Import contacts."

Microsoft Tutorials:

• People overview
• Using contacts (People) in Outlook on the web