Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PennO365: Outlook on the Web Email Basics
June 2016 Workshop Slides
1. Working with mail
- Compose a new message
- Reply/forward a message
- Add an attachment
- Create folders
- Add categories
- Search for mail/use filters/sort/view as
- Microsoft Tutorial:
2. Managing your inbox
- Use rules
- Understand Junk and Clutter
- Trash/deleting mail
- Mail will remain in Trash folder for 14 days before being deleted
- PennO365 help with Clutter
- Microsoft Tutorials
3. Manage multiple mailboxes
- Open multiple mailboxes
- Move between multiple mailboxes
- Set up your profile
- Create a signature
- Microsoft Tutorials:
Using Contacts ("People") in Outlook Web Access
- "People" includes two types of contacts:
- Your Contacts: This is your personal address book with contacts you add.
- Directory: The Penn Global Address List (GAL) includes everyone with a PennO365 account. This is different than the Penn Online Directory, which includes everyone at Penn, including accounts for rooms and departments.
- Adding people to Your Contacts:
- From outside the Directory (manually): Click "New" in the top navigation bar and enter your contact's information.
- From the Directory: After searching the directory, highlight the person's name and click "Add to contacts" in the top navigation bar.
- Import contacts: To import your contacts from another email program, you will need to save your contacts to a CSV file and upload the file to Outlook. To find instructions for creating a CSV file in your other email program, click "Manage" in the top navigation bar and select "Import contacts."
Outlook vs. Outlook Web Access
Should you use Outlook on your desktop or the Outlook Web App?
Microsoft created this table as guidance:
- You have Outlook installed on your desktop.
- You're on your own computer.
- You need to see mail from multiple accounts all in one place.
- You manage someone else's inbox.
- You want complete offline access.
- You want to subscribe to and use groups in Office 365.
Outlook Web App
- You need a quick and easy way to do your email, calendar, and contacts from any web-enabled device, including PCs, mobile phones, and tablets.
- You’re using someone else’s computer, or a computer not connected to your office network.
- You want immediate access to the latest features.
- You want to use all the features of groups in Office 365.
Check out Microsoft's full comparison of the two.