Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Print and ebook versions of the required work.
These resources provide contextual information. Brief Encyclopedia articles will present the highlights, usually with short bibliographies listing significant or controversial works. Handbook chapters offer article-length treatments, usually with much longer bibliographies whose citations are discussed in the chapter narrative. Bibliographies and literature reviews are articles that focus on the published literature.
"Environmental personhood". Wikipedia: the free encyclopedia that anyone can edit
Yes, the article is interesting, but the "Talk" tab may be more interesting. That's where you'll learn what the Wikipedia editors see as controversial, weak, or erroneous in the article. See, for example, the entry, "Biocentrism"
. You can also watch the article go through revisions and compare specific revisions using the article's "View History" tab.
WARNING! Be careful to keep track of where you are in Wikipedia's backstage: both the article and discussion pages have their own "View History" tabs!
Garner’s Dictionary of Legal Usage
A recent online Anglo-American dictionary of legal terms. It's not Black's legal dictionary
, but it's online for quick lookups.
"Rights of nature : a constructive analysis" / Peter Burdon and Claire Williams. In: Research handbook on fundamental concepts of environmental law. Edward Elgar, 2016.
Handbook chapter on recent legal developments on the recognition of the rights of nature, and the philosophical and political objections to legislating rights of nature.
"Ordinary objects" / Dana Goswick. Oxford Bibiographies : Philosophy. 2016.
Annotated bibliography that describes works treating what makes ordinary objects distinctive. See also:
• Animal rights"
/ Mark Rowlands. 2012. with sections on "Animals and natural rights" and "Animals as persons".
"Crimes against animals" / Kenna Quinet. Oxford Bibliographies : Criminology. 2016.
Annotated bibliography that includes sections on "Animals as property" and "Anticruelty statutes, Animals as crime victims, etc."
"Citizen suits; standing to sue". American Jurisprudence. 2nd ed. West Publishing, 2002- . Vol. 35A §70.
From a restatement of American federal and state law, an encyclopedia-like legal reference work that combines definitions, analysis, and citations to significant case law. See also: "Parties"
. American Jurisprudence. 2nd ed. West Publishing, 2002- .Vol. 59.
These databases will help you find scholarly articles about your topic.
HINT! Try to search by building sets of synonyms linked together with "OR" (between synonyms) and "AND" (between sets of synonyms).
- "rights of nature" OR "trees have standing"
- (sovereignity OR "property rights" OR ownership)
- (environment* OR natur*) AND (property OR ownership OR rights)
HINT! To discover the subject terms a database uses, try to find an article you already know and then view its abstract and indexing. Re-do your search with the subject terms for your article. Also, some articles and books are foundation works for their subjects, so try searching for phrases from their titles: "trees have standing".
IBSS - International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
A broad general social sciences bibliographic database, describing the scholarly literature of anthropology, sociology, economics, and political science.
WARNING! The ProQuest interface defaults to hidden-fulltext searching, producing huge search results. So, try an "Anywhere" search; then re-do your search using "NOFT - Anywhere EXCEPT Full Text".
A broad bibliographic database covering many disciplines, including philosophy. Includes fulltext, also links to fulltext through PennText.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
A sprawling bibliographic database covering environmental science and pollution management, agricultural science and policy and Environmental Impact Statements.
SocAbs covers scholarly works in sociology, including the sociology of law and political sociology. Recently absorbed Social Services Abstracts to add coverage of social policy. Has a strong orientation toward US publications, but cover worldwide materials, too.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
A large bibliographic database for finding the scholarly literature on political science, legal philosophy, and related fields.
Index to Legal Periodicals : Current & Retrospective
The best entry point into the law-review literature.
It's tempting to search HeinOnline
, the fulltext law-review database. But it's more efficient to use ILP
... unless you're trying to find a law-review article using its Blue Book citation form or you're trying to see how a specific court opinion has been cited in law-review articles.
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
Using Citations to Find Resources
You may already have citations of relevance to the text on which you are working. These resources will help you find an online or print version of the cited work.
Getting Physical Books
First, use Franklin to identify the book's library and call number.
Van Pelt Stack Directory
If your book is in Van Pelt Library, this chart will tell you the floor and side of the building in which you can find it. Just match the beginning of the call number with the letter or number on the chart.
Reading Call Numbers
If you are not familiar with the Library of Congress call number system then this table will explain how you can find an individual book once you have found the part of the library that has items in that call number range.
Locations of Penn's libraries
If the book is in "LIBRA"
If the location of the book is listed as "LIBRA" then click on the "Request" link located to the right of the book. It will be shipped to the library you choose in one or two business days.
Citations for case law and law review articles
Case law, or opinions for legal cases, and law review articles have a distinctive citation format, popular called Bluebook. To learn more about how to decipher Bluebook citation form, see these websites.
Librarian & Coordinator of Social Sciences Collections