Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are Saved Search Alerts?
Search alerts are automated database searches that periodically run saved search parameters and send an email notification when new results are found. Search alerts are a feature of many of the Library’s research databases. Many associations, organizations, and publishers also offer search alerts.
Google Alerts are email updates of the latest relevant Google results (web, news, etc.) based on your queries.
After you enter a search, on the results page click on the option on the left. Complete form
and click Create Alert.
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Click on "Alerts" at the top of the page, register. Do a search and click on "Create new alert from this search."
Databases with Saved Search or Topic Alerts
Databases include: PsycINFO, Sociological Abstracts, ERIC, Communications Abstracts, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, EconLIT and more.
Create a My Research Account in ProQuest
Do a search. Click on the Create alert button.
Complete pop-up form (email is already supplied), Save alert
You may modify or delete this type of alert through your My Research account.
Without having a My Research Account
Do a search. Click on the Create alert button (yellow envelope)
Complete pop-up form with email and frequency.
Access email and confirm alert.
You may delete this type of alert through a subsequent alert email.
Databases include: Agricola, BIOSIS, CAB Abstracts, HealthSTAR, Medline.
After completing a search, click on "set email Alerts". Registration required.
Saving Searches and Alerts
. To upload to a bibliographic software management program, save AutoAlert as: Email Options = Inline; Output Type = ASCII; Report Type = Email includes records only; Fields = Complete Reference; Citation Format = Reprint/Medlars. Also do not check off the Include Strategy checkbox
Search: on Search results page, click "Create Alert" or after completing a search, click on the "Search History" link in the upper right of screen, then click "Create Alert". You may have a total of 260 alerts and saved searches.
STAT!Ref Evidence Alerts system provides e-mail delivery of current evidence-based medicine (EBM) research by specialty from over 130 clinical journals. With McMaster University, the system delivers EBM alerts that are qualified, then rated for clinical relevance and newsworthiness by a panel of practicing physicians. In StatRef
, click on MyStatRef to create an account (further instructions
Create account. After executing a search, on right see save search and alert options.
Click: Sign into NCBI. Create an account. From the main PubMed page, after doing a search, click on "Create alert" at top of page. Answer yes to the question: Would you like e-mail updates of new search results? Choose frequency, day email will be received, format, number of items to receive. Go to My NCBI to edit saved searches. To upload results to a bibliographic management program, choose MEDLINE as the format.
Register. After completing a search, click "Set Alert" button. From the Alerts page, you can also click on "Set New Search Alerts" to create new Alerts by Author, Affiliation, or Subject. To upload to a bibliographic software management program, choose "Text" for Email Format.
Web of Science
Click “Sign In” to register for a Web of Science Profile. Click “Search History” to view your entire search history. Create alerts. Renew alerts (24 weeks for Search Alerts). To upload to a bibliographic software management program, set the Alert Type = Full Record; Email format = Field Tagged.
Associations, Organizations, Publishers offering Search Alerts
American Chemical Society
Allows for saved search alerts.
American Medical Association
Search- run a search, click 'Get Alerts' link on upper right of the search results page.
Topic -go to any Topic page, click 'Get Alerts' link on upper right of the page.
TOC - any content page that offers a 'Get Alerts' link on upper right of the page.
Saved searches, TOC, and citation alerts. See: RSS Feeds
After completing a search, click "Add to saved searches" button. Name search, choose frequency and email format.
After a search, on search results page, click Save Search button, set up search alert.
Institute of Physics
Saved Search and TOC
From a search results page, click "Save as Alert."
Saved Search, Topic, and TOC and Book-Series Alerts. See: Tutorial
Taylor & Francis
Register. Click "My Account" to manage Alerts.
Wiley Online Library
Click "save search," from saved search screen, click "Activate Search Alert."