Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are Table of Contents Alerts?
Automatic notifications when a new issue of a specific journal is published.
Journal Websites and Alerts
Many journals offer alerting services. Use Google to go directly to many journal websites.
Also the below directory is a good source for identify journals of interest and connecting to their websites.
BrowZine - Penn Journals
BrowZine provides an easy browsing option for discovering Penn Libraries scholarly journal content. BrowZine pulls together articles from library subscription databases, joins them into complete issues, and displays them in a “newsstand” view.
Use the web version of Browzine or download the BrowZine app. Then, to connect, select University of Pennsylvania from the drop down list and enter your PennKey credentials when prompted. Learn more about BrowZine.
Keep track of 30 journals with JournalTOCs
JournalTOCs provides access to the Tables Of Contents (TOCs) of the current issues of over 30,000 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds. An individual who registers for the free option of this service can
- follow and receive email alerts for 15 journals.
- searches will retrieve up to 25 articles
Users can search for journals by title or ISSN, or keywords in journal article titles. Journals TOCs can be browsed by publisher or subject.
To follow a journal, from the search and browse results, click on the box next to the journal title. Click Search to return to the main page and see a list of the journals you are following
When viewing alerts off-campus, consider using the Penn EZproxy browser bookmarklet for easy access to Penn subscriptions:
Major Databases and Database Vendors with TOC Alerts
Some EBSCO databases allow for the creation of journal alerts. These include:
EBSCO Megafile, Business Source Complete, CINAHL.
Click the Publications link at the top of the EBSCO screen. From a journal's Publication Details Screen, click the Share link on right, and then click the E-mail Alert link. Further help: Creating a Journal Alert
Some ProQuest databases, including PsycINFO, Sociological Abstracts, ERIC, EconLIT, ABI/Inform, allow for journal alerts. When all ProQuest databases are selected, click the "Publications" link in the top gray bar. Search, click on journal titles, and, if available, click "Set up alert" or "Create RSS feed" from publication page. Further help: Search Alerts
Web of Science
Login to your Web of Science account. Do a search on Publication Name, click Search History, then Save History / Create Alert.
Publishers and Organizations with TOC Alerts
For most all sites, it is necessary to first set up an individual account.
Click Tools, then Email Alerts,and register.
To manage your preferences for Journal Email Alerts, click on "My Tools" once you have signed in.
On a journal page, select "Subscribe to new article alerts." ScienceDirect sends out alerts when new articles are published, rather than TOCs.
See E-Mail Alerts and RSS Feeds
Taylor & Francis Online
Find the journal of interest, click "New Content Alerts". To manage, go to My Account, then Alerts.
Wiley Online Library
Select "Get Content Alerts" from the homepage of a journal.