Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

American Politics: Overview

Lists indexes, statistical sources and encyclopedias

HTML

This bibliography of reference resources attempts to include the major resources under each category, but it is of necessity highly selective. The Library holds many similar titles, which can be found on the Reference Room shelves between Library of Congress call numbers J and JX and through Franklin searches.

Contents:

  1. Penn Library Bibliographies
  2. Franklin - Penn's Library Catalog
  3. Internet Resources
  4. Encyclopedias and Atlases
  5. Dictionaries
  6. Guides
  7. Yearbooks
  8. Bibliographies
  9. Indexes
  10. News Sources
  11. Biography and Directories
  12. Government Documents
  13. Statistics Sources
  14. Campaign Finance
  15. Elections
  16. Interest Groups
  17. U.S. Congress
  18. U.S. Constitution
  19. U.S. President
  20. U.S. Supreme Court

  1. Related Penn Library Bibliographies

  2. FRANKLIN and other library catalogs

    • Franklin - (The Library's online public access catalog) For help in using Franklin, ask at a Reference Desk, and see the: Franklin Help Pages

      SUBJECT HEADINGS for use in Franklin ( Subject ) searches. For a full list of Subject Headings, see: Library of Congress Subject Headings, 4 vols, 1996 (ask at the Reference Desk)

      Try Franklin Subject searches for the following example Library of Congress Subject Headings:

      afro-american legislators
      business and politics
      communication in politics
      comparative government
      conservatism united states
      democracy
      diplomacy
      elections
      geopolitics united states
      international law
      international relations
      local government
      minorities united states political activity
      national security
      peace treaties
      political culture united states
      political leadership
      political rights
      political parties united states
      political science
      politics and religion
      right and left
      security international
      strategic alliances business
      treaties
      united states foreign economic relations
      united states foreign relations
      united states foreign relations
      united states foreign relations japan
      united states politics and government
      united states relations
      voting
      women in politics
      women politicians
      womens rights
      world politics
      world politics 1989



      Try Franklin Keyword searches such as:

      • skey elections - elections in Subject Headings
      • (treaties OR treaty OR alliance?) AND japan AND "United States"

      Results of keyword searches are displayed in reverse chronological order, newest titles first.

      [Note: Use Convert Franklin Records to change downloaded Franklin records to: APA, Chicago, EndNote, HTML, MLA, Notebook, or ProCite format, for efficient printing and processing.]

    • RLIN/Eureka Bib file
      Eureka BIB provides searching of the Research Libraries Group's RLIN bibliographic database (BIB) of over 27 million books, serials, archives, and other materials held in over 100 large research libraries in the U.S. and current cataloging of the Library of Congress.

    • WorldCat
      WorldCat lists over 33 million items -- books, serials, sound recordings, musical scores, visual materials, maps, machine-readable files, and manuscript or archival materials -- located in over 4500 libraries. FirstSearch, the same user-friendly interface thats available for MLA and Books in Print, allows the searcher to find items by author keyword, title keyword, or subject keyword, by phrase, or by various combinations. Online help is always available.

  3. INTERNET RESOURCES -- There are many recent political documents and resources on the Internet. Use the Library's online guide to Internet resources:

    Do a search of the Internet using the Internet Search Tools.

    See also the Penn Political Science Department's Home Page

  4. ENCYCLOPEDIAS and ATLASES

    • Oxford companion to politics of the world. N.Y., Oxford Univ. Pr., 1993 1055 p. index. Long signed articles on people, places, and concepts; many entries include bibliographies.

    • A Companion to contemporary political thought . ed. Robert E. Goode. Oxford, Blackwell, 1993. 677p. index. 41 essays on topics such as: socialism, power, state, welfare, anarchism, etc., with bibliographies. (Van Pelt Reference JA 71 C565 1993)

    • Encyclopedia of American political history : Studies of the principal movements and ideas. Jack P. Greene, editor. New York: Scribner, 1984. 3v. (Van Pelt Reference E 183 E5 1984 )

    • Clucas, Richard A. Encyclopedia of American political reform. Santa Barbara, Ca., ABC-CLIO, c1996. x, 346 p. ( Van Pelt Reference E 839.5 C57 1996)

    • Encyclopedia of Democracy. Wash. D.C., CQ, 1995. 4 vols. 1554p. Long signed articles on concepts, countries, persons, with bibliographies. (Van Pelt Reference JC 423 E53 1995)

    • Encyclopedia of the United States Congress. N.Y., Simon and Schuster, 1995. 4 vols. (Van Pelt Reference JK 1067 E63 1995)

    • Encyclopedia of the American Presidency. N.Y., Simon and Schuster, 1994. 4 vols. (Van Pelt Reference JK 511 E53 1994)

    • Encyclopedia of the American Legislative System. N.Y., Scribners, 1994. 4 vols. (Van Pelt Reference JF 501 E53 1994

    • Congressional Quarterly's Guide to Congress. 4th ed. Wash. D.C., Congressional Quarterly, 1991. 838, 348p. (Van Pelt Reference JK 1021 C565 1991)

    • Facts about the Congress. Stephen Christianson. NY, Wilson, 1996. 6-8 page entries for each congress, including background, chronology, key votes, leadership, organization, major legislation, bibliography. (Van Pelt Reference Jk 1021 C48 1996)

    • Encyclopedia of the American Left. ed. Mari Jo Buhle. N.Y., Garland, 1990 928p. Subject index. Long signed articles on people, organizations, events, concepts, with bibliographies. (Van Pelt Reference JK 1021 C565 1991)

    • Encyclopedia of the Republican Party; Encyclopedia of the Democratic Party . ed. G Kurian. Armonk, NY, Sharpe, 1997. 4 vols. Issues, biographies, conventions, platforms. Indexes. (Van Pelt Reference JK 2352 K87 1996)

    • Political Parties and Elections in the United States: an Encyclopedia. N.Y., Garland, 1991. 2 vols (Van Pelt Reference JK 2261 P633 1991)

    • Havel, James T. U.S. Presidential Candidates and the Elections; a biographical and historical guide. N.Y., Macmillan, 1996. 2 vols. Vol. 1. Candidates biographies. Vol 2. Summary of each election: candidates, platform highlights, brief results. (Van Pelt Reference JK 528 H38 1996)

    • Miner, Brad. The Conservative Encyclopedia. N.Y., Free Press, 1996. 318 p., index, bibliography p.277-302. "200 of the most important ideas, individuals, incotements, and institutions that have shaped the movement." (Van Pelt Reference JC 573 M56 1996)

    • Wetterau, Bruce. CQ's Desk Reference On American Government. Wash., D.C., Congressional Quarterly, 1995. 348p. Answers to frequently asked questions. (Van Pelt Reference JK 274 W449)

    • Martis, Kenneth. The Historical Atlas of Political Parties in the United States Congress, 1789-1989 NY, Macmillan, 1989. thematic maps, tables, index, bibliography. (Van Pelt Reference G 1201 F9 M25 1989)

  5. DICTIONARIES

    Search in Franklin: "political science dictionaries"; "world politics dictionaries", for many other political science dictionaries, including some languages other than English.

    • Shafritz, Jay. Harpercollins Dictionary of American Government and Politics. N.Y., HarperPerennial, 1992. 656p. (Van Pelt Reference JK 9 S43 1992)

    • Plano, Jack C.The American political dictionary. Fort Worth, Harcourt, 1993. 9th. ed. 672p. (Van Pelt Reference JK 9 P55 1993)

    • Safire, William Safire's new political dictionary. N.Y., Random House, 1993. 930p. (Van Pelt Reference JK 9 S2 1993)

    • Concise Oxford dictionary of politics. N.Y., Oxford Univ. Pr., 1996. 559p. (Van Pelt Reference JA 61 C665 1996)

    • Cassell dictionary of modern politics. London, Cassell, 1994. 340p. (Van Pelt Reference JA 61 C37)

    • Shafritz, Jay. Dictionary of 20th-century world politics. N.Y., Holt, 1993. 756p. (Van Pelt Reference JA 61 S53 1993)

  6. GUIDES

    • A New Handbook of Political Science. N.Y., Oxford Univ. Pr., 1996. 845p. Name and subject indexes. Chapter bibliographies. Systematic discussion of the major areas of the discipline, in 35 bibliographic essays by political science faculty members. (Van Pelt Reference JA 66 N49 1966)

    • Johnson, Janet B. Political science research methods . Wash, D.C., CQ Press, 1995. 452 p. index. Textbook on political science research. (Van Pelt Reference JA 73 J64 1995)

    • Information sources in politics and political science; a survey worldwide . London, Butterworths, 1984 509 p. index. Detailed bibliographic essays by various authors. (Van Pelt Reference JA 71 I39 1984)

    • York, Henry E. Political science; a guide to reference and information sources . Englewood, Co., Libraries Unlimited, 1990 249p. index. Annotated bibliography of reference works. (Van Pelt Reference JA 71 Y67 1990)

    • Congressional Quarterly's Guide to the Presidency. Wash., D.C., C.Q., 1996. 2 vols., 1705p. Index. 37 chapters covering all aspects of the presidency, biographies, documents. (Van Pelt Reference JK 516 C57 1996)

    • Goehlert, Robert. The Presidency; a research guide Santa Barbara, ABC Clio, 1985. 340p. Covers Presidential documents, secondary sourced, campaigns and elections, research strategy, with charts and tables. (Van Pelt Reference JK 516 G56 1985)

    • Martin, Fenton S. How to research the presidency Fenton S. Martin, Robert U. Goehlert. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly, c1996. x, 134 p. (Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks JK 516 M378 1996)

    • Davison, Kenneth E. The American presidency : a guide to information sources Kenneth E. Davison. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research Co., 1983. xvi, 467 p. (Van Pelt Library E 176.1 D38 1983)

    • Guide to reference books. Ed. Robert Balay. Chicago, ALA, 1996. 2020p. The major guide to reference works in all subject areas. See "Political Science" pp. 1038-1112. (Van Pelt Reference Desk Z 1035.1 G89 1996)

    • Morehead, Joe. Introduction to United States Government information sources. 4th ed. Englewood, Colo., Libraries Unlimited, 1992. 474p. The most up-to-date guide to U.S. government publications. (Van Pelt Reference Desk J 83 M665 1992)

    • Schmeckebier, Laurence. Government publications and their use. 2d ed. Washington, Brookings Institution, 1969. 502p. The standard guide until replaced by Morehead. (Van Pelt Reference Desk Z 1223 Z7 S3 1969)

    • Boyd, Anne. United States Government Publications 3d. ed. New York: H.W. Wilson, 1949. 627p. Superseded in part by Schmeckebier but still useful for historical purposes. (Van Pelt Reference Z 1223 Z7 B7 1950)

    • State Party Profiles; a 50- State Guide to Development, Organization, and Resources. Ed. Andrew M. Appleton. History, current organization, and sources of information. Bibliographic references. Wash. D.C., CQ, 1997. 388p. (Van Pelt Reference JK 2261 S83 1997)

  7. YEARBOOKS

    • The Almanac of American Politics; the Senators, the Representatives and the Governors: their records and election results, their states and districts. Wash. D.C., National Journal, 1972 - . Introduction, 5-18 page discussions of situation in each state, incl. Cong. Dist. boundary map; 1 1/2 page political,economic, and demographic description of each Congressional District; brief biog. info., interest group ratings, National Journal liberal/conservatice ratings, and key votes of each senator and representative.; primary and general election results. Committee membership; campaign finance charts of top raisers and spenders. Index. Published every two years. (Latest issue at the Van Pelt Reference Desk JK 1012 A456 19--; Annenberg Reference.

    • Conressional Quarterly's Politics in America. Wash., D.C., Congressional Quarterly, 1990- . Four to six column discussion of senators and congressmen, with committees, key votes, interest group ratings, voting study, election results. State Cong. Dist maps. Separate sections on: committee membership; seniority; campaign finance receipts and expenditures. Index. (Van Pelt Reference Desk JK 1010 P642 ...)

    • World Almanac of U.S. Politics. World Almanac. Executive branch, Congressional districts, email addressses, courts, state and local government. (Van Pelt Reference Desk JK 6 W67 19..)

    • Statesman's Year Book. London, Macmillan, 1864- . (Latest at Van Pelt Reference Desk)

    • Political Handbook of the World. N.Y. Published for the Center for Comparative Political Research of the State University of New York at Binghamton and for the Council on Foreign Relations by McGraw-Hill, 1975- (Latest at Van Pelt Reference Desk JF 37 P6)

    • Europa World Year Book. London, Europe, 1959- . (Latest at Reference Desk JN 1 E 85)

    • International Year Book and Statesmen's Who's Who East Grinstead, Kelly's Directories, 1953- . (Latest at Reference Desk JA 51 I57)

  8. BIBLIOGRAPHIES

    • Martin, Fenton S. The American Presidency: a bibliography . Wash., D.C., Congressional Quarterly, 1987. 506p. (Van Pelt Reference JK 511 M36 1987)

    • The American presidency : a historical bibliography. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-Clio Information Services, c1984. viii, 376 p. (Van Pelt Library E 176.1 A658 1984; Van Pelt Library HQ 1687 K9313 1971

    • Greenstein, Fred I. Evolution of the modern presidency : a bibliographical survey Fred I. Greenstein, Larry Berman, Alvin S. Felzenberg, with Doris Lidtke. Washington: American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research, c1977. xv, [369] p. (Van Pelt Library JK 511 G74)

    • The United States Congress: an annotated bibliography . Wash., D.C., Congressional Quarterly, 1995. 640p. (Van Pelt Reference JK 1061 G632 1995)

    • Goehlert, Robert. The Executive Branch of the U.S. Government; a bibliography.Westport, Greenwood, 1898. 379p. Arranged by executive department. Author and subject index. (Van Pelt Reference JK 421 G56 1989)

  9. INDEXES

    See: CD-ROM Databases in Van Pelt Reference for CD databases such as ABC Pol Sci, FBIS Index, etc.

    See: Indexes in the Social Sciences and Humanities

    • Academic Index. Expanded Academic ASAP provides indexing and abstracting for more than 1550 scholarly and general interest journals, plus The New York Times; full text or full image is provided for more than 750 titles. Searched can be limited to refereed journals. (Penn Library Database)

    • Congressional Universe - Offers a range of legislative and government information in full-text. You can find recent bills, laws, selected Congressional committee reports, documents, prints, hearings, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and the popular news weekly National Journal. Provides of the U.S. legislative and government information that used to be available through LEXIS/NEXIS.
      Coverage and update schedule for Congressional Universe content
      For more information about Academic Universe and Congressional Universe

    • Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe -- LEXIS/NEXIS Academic Universe is a full-text online service which provides access to sources of national and international news and business information, biographical data, and some selected legal materials. News sources include newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, and wire services. Among the document sources included are the U.S. Code and Federal Case Law.
      For more information about Academic Universe and Congressional Universe

    • PAIS, Public Affairs Information Service. 1915- . Online 1972- . Indexes social and public policy literature (journal articles, books, official documents, etc) published in English, 1915- , in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, or Spanish, 1967- . Emphasizes political science, economics, international relations, public administration, education, sociology, demographics and social work. (Van Pelt Reference JA 1 P357; Penn Library Database, 1972- .)

    • ABC Pol Sci, 1969- . (Van Pelt Z 7161 A214; Van Pelt Reference CD-ROM, from 1984- )

    • International political science abstracts, 1951- . (Penn Library Database, 1989-)

    • America: History and Life, 1954- . (Penn Library Database, 1964- )

    • Historical abstracts, 1955 - . (Penn Library Database, 1970- )

    • Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in Political Science, 1876-1974 (Van Pelt Reference)

    • Handbook of Latin American Studies, 1980- . (via Web) 1935 -. (Van Pelt F 1401 H363; latest 5 years in Reference; 1990-

    • HAPI, Hispanic American Periodicals Index, 1980- (RLIN/Eureka HAP file, via Web)
      1970 - (Van Pelt F 1401 H577; latest 5 years in Reference)

    • Social sciences Citation Index. (Van Pelt Reference H 1 S616; and see: ISI Citation Indexes below)

    • International bibliography of the social sciences , 1951- . International Bibliography of Political Science (Van Pelt Reference Area JA 71 I453). (Penn Library Database, 1981- )

    • ISI Citation Indexes The ISI Citation Indexes include the Science, Social Science and Arts & Humanities Citation Indexes. The database covers 1993 to the present and is updated weekly. Both keyword and citation searching are available. The database covers 5,300 science , 1,700 social science, and 1,140 arts & humanities journals. (Penn Library Database)

    • Periodicals Contents Index (PCI). Chadwyck-Healey Ltd. PCI Web is an electronic index to article titles and authors in over 2000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues (in some cases back in to the 19th century) to 1990/1991. It will eventually index 3,500 journals and 15 million individual articles. An online Title List of the 3,290 journals so far identified for inclusion in PCI Web is available for review. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages. (Penn Library Database)

    • CIS Index, and CIS Annual, 1970- . (Van Pelt Reference JK 1001 C65) -- Catalogs, abstracts, and indexes all publications of Congress, except Bills and the Congressional Record. Covers Reports, Documents, Committee Prints, and Hearings. Includes Legislative Histories of Public Laws. Indexes by subject, name (author, witness), bill, report, and document number. Included in: Congressional Universe

  10. NEWS SOURCES

    • Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe -- LEXIS/NEXIS Academic Universe is a full-text online service which provides access to sources of national and international news and business information, biographical data, and some selected legal materials. News sources include newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, and wire services. Among the document sources included are the U.S. Code and Federal Case Law.
      For more information about Academic Universe and Congressional Universe

    • CQ Weekly Report, 1956- . (library has: v.23- ., 1965- . Van Pelt JK 1 C15; latest 5 years in Reference; latest 3 months at Reference Desk) -- A ca. 50 page weekly report, summarizing the activities of Congress and including House and Senate votes and status of major legislation. Text of selected documents; topical articles; long profiles of frehsmen lawmakers. Convention iddues include delegation profiles, platforms, text of convention addresses. State by state pre-election reports and candidate profiles from selected districts, in a mid-October issue. New committee assignments appear in a late January or early February issue (1 Feb in 1997). The CQ Almanac, 1948- , summarizes information from the CQ Index , including a summary of role-call votes. (Library has: v. 8- , 1952- . Jk 1 C66; latest 10 years in Van Pelt Reference)

    • New York Times Index, 1851- . (Van Pelt Reference balcony AI 21 N44)

    • Facts on File, 1940- . -- (Van Pelt Reference D 410 F35; current year at Desk)

    • Keesings record of world events, 1931- . (Van Pelt Reference D 410 K4 and on CD-ROM in Moelis CD Area D 410 K41)

    • Ethnic newswatch, 1990- . Ethnic NewsWatch is a full text, comprehensive archival database providing access to more than 400,000 articles in nearly 200 ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines, and journals. Newspaper s and magazines are published in English or Spanish. Sources: Source material includes news, business, culture, history, food, fashion, entertainment, and sports from a variety of perspectives. Dates Covered: Covers 1990 to date. Updated monthly. (Penn Library Database)

  11. BIOGRAPHY and DIRECTORIES

    • The Almanac of American Politics; the Senators, the Representatives and the Governors: their records and election results, their states and districts. Wash. D.C., National Journal, 1972 - . Introduction, 5-18 page discussions of situation in each state, incl. Cong. Dist. boundary map; 1 1/2 page political,economic, and demographic description of each Congressional District; brief biog. info., interest group ratings, National Journal liberal/conservatice ratings, and key votes of each senator and representative.; primary and general election results. Committee membership; campaign finance charts of top raisers and spenders. Index. Published every two years. (Latest issue at the Van Pelt Reference Desk JK 1012 A456 19--; Annenberg Reference.

    • Conressional Quarterly's Politics in America. Wash., D.C., Congressional Quarterly, 1990- . Four to six column discussion of senators and congressmen, with committees, key votes, interest group ratings, voting study, election results. State Cong. Dist maps. Separate sections on: committee membership; seniority; campaign finance receipts and expenditures. Index. (Van Pelt Reference Desk JK 1010 P642 ...)

    • Congressional Staff Directory. CQ, Members, committees, staffs, biographies. (Van Pelt Reference Desk JK 1012 C65 .. 19..)

    • Federal Staff Directory. CQ, White House, departments, agencies, biographies. (Van Pelt Reference Desk JK 661 F323 19..)

    • Government Phone Book USA. Comprehensive guide to federal, state, conty, and local government offices in the U.S. (Van Pelt Reference Desk JK 404 G684 19..)

    • Lexis/Nexis Congressional Universe -- LEXIS/NEXIS Congressional Universe provides of the U.S. legislative and government information that used to be available through LEXIS/NEXIS. Much of the material is fulltext. Contents include pending bills, laws, legislative histories, committee reports and documents, selected Congressional hearings and committee prints, and biographical data about members of Congress. For more information about Academic Universe and Congressional Universe

    • Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-1989 . Wash., D.C., G.P.O., 1989. 2104p. Senators and Representatives for each state; biographies. (Van Pelt Reference JK 1010 U5 1989)

    • Biographical Directory of the United States Executive Branch, 1774-1989. ed. Robert Sobel. NY, Greenwood, 1990. 567p. Administrations, including cabinet officers, and biographies, with references. (Van Pelt Reference E 176 B578 1990)

    • The Almanac of Women and Minorities in American Politics . Boulder, Westview Press, 1999. 293p. index. Chronology, congress, governors, state govt., judiciary, local. Women, African americans, hispanics, asian americans, native americans, gays and lesbians. (Van Pelt Reference HQ 1236.5 U6 M3778 1999)

    • The Right Guide; a Guide to Conservative and Right-of-Center Organizations. An Arbor, Economics America, 1995. 472p. Keyword index. List of periodicals. Fairly long entries include mission, accomplishments, products and services. (Van Pelt Reference JA 84 S4 U5 R447 1995)

    • The left guide : a guide to left-of-center organizations edited by Derk Arend Wilcox. Ann Arbor, Mich.: Economics America, Inc., c1996. x, 516 p. (Van Pelt Library Reference HM 216 L4 1996)

    • North American Human Rights Directory. 1980- . Wash., D.C. Human Rights Internet, 1980- . 700 organizations in U.S. and Canada concerned with human rights and social justice. Activities, address and phone, director, publications, collections. Lib. has: 1984 (Latest in Van Pelt Reference JC 571 H76944)

  12. DOCUMENTS

    • U.S. Government Documents at Penn

    • Document resources on the Library's Web

    • Lexis/Nexis Congressional Universe -- LEXIS/NEXIS Congressional Universe provides of the U.S. legislative and government information that used to be available through LEXIS/NEXIS. Much of the material is fulltext. Contents include pending bills, laws, legislative histories, committee reports and documents, selected Congressional hearings and committee prints, and biographical data about members of Congress.
      For more information about Academic Universe and Congressional Universe

    • Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, 1965- . (Van Pelt J 80 A284; latest year in Van Pelt Reference; also on Lexis/Nexis, 1979- .) -- Texts of Addresses, Bill Signings, Communications to Congress and Federal Agencies, Executive Orders, Interviews, Statements, etc. Quarterly, semi-annual, and annual name and subject indexes. -- Available full text through GPO-Access from 1995 and Academic Index from 1992.

    • Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, 1929-33, 1945- (Van Pelt J 80 A283; on Lexis/Nexis, 1979-)

    • Historic Documents on Presidential Elections, 1787-1988. Ed. Michael Nelson. Wash., D.C., Congressional Quarterly, 1991. 902p. Index. 70 documents: speeches, platforms, debates, articles, etc. (Van Pelt Reference JK 1965 H56 1991)

    • Historic Documents on the Presidency, 1776-1989. Ed. Michael Nelson. Wash., D.C., Congressional Quarterly, 1989. 902p. Index. Largely speeches and messages to Congress; includes Teapot Dome Resolution, Nixon's "Smoking Gun" tapes, etc. (Van Pelt Reference JK 511 H57 1989)

  13. STATISTICS SOURCES

  14. Campaign Finance

    In Franklin, do a subject search for:
    CAMPAIGN FUNDS; FINANCIAL DISCLOSURE ELECTION LAW; ELECTIONS--UNITED STATED--CAMPAIGN FUNDS; CAMPAIGN FUNDS--LAW AND LEGISLATION; ELECTION LAW--UNITED STATES

    • "Campaign Finance (Financial Disclosure, Honoraria, PACS, etc.)" From: U.S. Political Parties and Elections - Penn Library Bibliography

    • Federal election campaign laws Washington, D.C.: The Commission; U.S. G.P.O. Library has: 1980, 1990, 1994 ( Van Pelt KF 4920 A29 U55 )

    • Combined federal/state disclosure directory 1987- Washington, D.C.: Public Disclosure Division, Federal Election Commission, 1987- . Library has: 1991-1992 ( Van Pelt Reference Desk JK 1997 C652)

    • Campaign finance law : National Clearinghouse on Election Administration. Library has: 1992, 1994, 1996. ( Van Pelt KF 4920 Z95; ;atest in Reference) L5 )

    • Morris, Dwight, 1952- Handbook of campaign spending : money in the 1992 congressional races. Dwight Morris and Murielle E. Gamache. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly, 1994. xiv, 592 p. Detailed analysis for each member of Congress. ( Van Pelt Reference JK 1991 M78 1994 )

    • Makinson, Larry. Open secrets : the encyclopedia of congressional money & politics. Larry Makinson. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly, c1992. xi, 1339 p. : ill. Industry, committee, member, and PAC profiles, with detailed financial data. ( Van Pelt Reference JK 1991 M26 1992 )

  15. Elections

      "Election Statistics", from U.S. Political Parties and Elections

    • American National Election Studies 1948-1994. CD-ROM. (Annenberg)

    • America at the Polls: a Handbook of Presidential Election Statistics. Vol 1. Harding to Eisenhower, 1920 - 1956, Vol. 2, Kennedy to Clinton, 1960 - 1992. Compiled and edited by Alice V. McGillivray and Richard M. Scammon. Washington, DC: Elections Research Center, Congressional Quarterly, 1994. (Van Pelt Reference: JK 524 .a73 1994)

    • America Votes. Washington, DC: Elections Research Center, Congressional Quarterly, 1956 - . (Van Pelt Reference: JK 1967 .A8], 1956/57 -) .
      Annual, see earlier volumes. Each state entry gives post-World War II state-wide votes for President, Governor and Senator, as well as Congressional district data for recent Congressional elections. County level figures for the most recent elections are provided.

    • Campaign and election Reform; a Reference Handbook. Santa Barbara, ABC Clio, 1997. 350p Index. (Van Pelt Reference JK 1976 U88 1997). Annotated bibliography of books, articles, AV, Internet. Survey sources; chronology; glossary.

    • Congressional Quarterly's Guide to the U.S. Elections. 3nd edition. Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly Inc., 1994. (Van Pelt Reference: JK 1967 .C662 1994]
      Contains narrative material on the function of party conventions, summaries of each party convention with convention ballots, and data for Presidential, Congressional, and gubernatorial elections.

    • Israel, Fred. Student's Atlas of American Presidential elections, 1789-1996 Wash., D.C., CQ, 1997. 202p. Discussion of the issues, results, and thematic map for each election. (Van Pelt Reference JK 524I 85 1997)

  16. Interest Groups

    In Franklin, do a subject search for:
    PRESSURE GROUPS; LOBBYISTS; LOBBYING; POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEES; CAMPAIGN FUNDS; BUSINESS AND POLITICS; CORPORATIONS--UNITED STATES--POLITICAL ACTIVITY;

    • opensecrets.org -- from Center for Responsive Politics. Nonpartisan. Politicians, special interests, political parties, individual donors, regulations, the law, international, states, lobbyists. Includes Lobbyist Database - The Federal government is not now publishing lobbyinst information in the Congressional Record. Under the Lobbying Disclosure Act of 1995, [2 USC 267(b) sect 6(4)], two semi-annual reports are due by those who lobby at the Federal level, one must go to the House Legislative Resource Center (Rm B-106 of the Cannon House Office Building) and use a terminal to search the database. The CRP has been downloading this database but may not have the latest semi-anual information.

    • Congressional Quarterly's Federal PACs Directory. Wash., D.C., CQ, 1998- . PACS giving $5000+; data; contact info for 2,400 PACs; charts; ideology and interests; subject arrangement; name and location index. (Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks JK 1991 C663 19..)

    • Public interest profiles. Washington, D.C., Foundation for Public Affairs, 1977- . Library has: 1982,84, 1992/93 Non-profit, nonpartisan, political organizations, such as: AARP, ADA, NAACP, NRA, SANE, PETA, etc. (Van Pelt JK 1118 P79; latest in Reference)

    • Washington representatives. . Washington, Columbia Books, 1981- . Library has: 1981,86,91-92,1996. Lobbyists, foreign agents, consultants, public affairs representatives. Subject and industry indexes. (Van Pelt JK 1118 D58; latest in Reference)

    • Almanac of Federal PACS . Arlington, VA: Amward Publications, 1986 - . Latest edition includes information on PACs contributing $5,000 or more to candidates seeking election to the House or Senate in 1993-94. Over 2,400 profiles. 1985-1992 for PACs giving $50,000 or more. Index (Van Pelt Library JK 1991 A732; latest in Reference)

    • Greenpeace USA. The Greenpeace guide to anti-environmental organizations Greenpeace ; Carl Deal. Berkeley, Calif. ; Odonian Press ; Emeryville, Calif.: Distribution is through Publishers Group West, c1993. 110 p. ( Van Pelt JA 75.8 G77 1993 )

    • U.S. aging policy interest groups : institutional profiles edited by David D. Van Tassel and Jimmy Elaine Wilkinson Meyer. New York: Greenwood Press, c1992. xxiv, 258 p. ( Van Pelt Reference HQ 1064 U5 U22 1992 )

    • Weber, Paul J., 1937- U.S. religious interest groups : institutional profiles Paul J. Weber and W. Landis Jones. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1994. xxviii, 207 p. ( Van Pelt Reference BL 2525 W413 1994 )

    • U.S. women's interest groups : institutional profiles edited by Sarah Slavin. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, c1995. xl, 645 p. ( Van Pelt Reference HQ 1904 U2 1995 )

    • Walls, David. The activist's almanac : the concerned citizen's guide to the leading advocacy organizations in America David Walls. New York: Simon & Schuster, c1993. 431 p. : ill. ( Van Pelt Reference HN 55 W35 1993 )

    • Directory of Congressional Voting Scores and Interest Group Ratings. 2d. ed. Wash., D.C., CQ, 1997. 1542p. Conservative coalition, party unity, W presidential support, voting participation. Ratings by ADA, ACU, ACLU, ASC, CCUS, CFA, COPE, LCV, NEA, NTU. (Van Pelt Reference JK 1051 S555 1997)

    • Project Vote Smart Congressional Districts are findable in Vote Smart by ZIP Code. Includes for each member, "Performance Evaluations by Special Interest Groups."

    • Federal Election Commission. - Campaign finance. Includes financial data on PAC's.

    • Voting Records of Members of Congress -- From Library of Congress. Includes also links to Special Interest Group Rating sites: Project Vote Smart; VIS: Voter Information Service; ACU; ACLU; Christian Coalition; Concord Coalition; Public Citizen; League of Conservation Voters.

    • Sharp, J. Michael. The Directory of Congressional Voting Scores and Interest Group Ratings. 2d ed. 2 vols. New York, NY: Facts on File Publications, 1987. Contains voting records of members of Congress, 1947-94. Scores are given for four scales, as are ratings by eleven interest groups: ADA, ACU, ACLU, ASC, CCUS, CFA, COPE,LCV, NEA, NTU. . (Van Pelt Reference: JK 1051 S555 1997)

    • The Almanac of American Politics, for information from the previous two years. Arranged by state and district. Includes state and district political and demographic descriptions, biography, committee assignments, interest group ratings for a 3 year period, key votes, election results. Committee membership and index. (Van Pelt JK 1012 A456 1998; latest at Reference Desk).

    • Politics in America. By state and district, demographics, biography,and brief: election results, campaign finance, voting study scores, key votes, and four interest group ratings. (Van Pelt Library JK 1010 P642; latest at Reference Desk)

    • Congressional Quarterly Almanac. Annual Offers group ratings in the voting studies appendix. Library has: v. 8- , 1952- . (Van Pelt Reference JK 1 C66)

  17. U.S. Congress

    • U.S. Congress - Penn Library bibliography.

    • Encyclopedia of the United States Congress. N.Y., Simon and Schuster, 1995. 4 vols. (Van Pelt Reference JK 1067 E63 1995)

    • Encyclopedia of the American Legislative System. N.Y., Scribners, 1994. 4 vols. (Van Pelt Reference JF 501 E53 1994)

    • Congressional Quarterly's Guide to Congress. 4th ed. Wash. D.C., Congressional Quarterly, 1991. 838, 348p. (Van Pelt Reference JK 1021 C565 1991)

    • Landmark Documents on the U.S. Congress. Ed. Raymond Smock. Wash., D.C., CQ, 1999. 642p. Index. Classic writings, court opinions, debates, editorials, hearings, investigations, legislation, petitions, private letters, rules, speeches. Selected and often abridged texts, with reference to sources. (Van Pelt Reference Stacks JK 1041 L46 1999)

    • The United States Congress: an anotated bibliography . Wash., D.C., Congressional Quarterly, 1995. 640p. (Van Pelt Reference JK 1061 G632 1995)

    • The Almanac of American Politics; the Senators, the Representatives and the Governors: their records and election results, their states and districts. Wash. D.C., National Journal, 1972 - . Introduction, 5-18 page discussions of situation in each state, incl. Cong. Dist. boundary map; 1 1/2 page political,economic, and demographic description of each Congressional District; brief biog. info., interest group ratings, National Journal liberal/conservatice ratings, and key votes of each senator and representative.; primary and general election results. Committee membership; campaign finance charts of top raisers and spenders. Index. Published every two years. (Latest issue at the Van Pelt Reference Desk JK 1012 A456 1972-; Annenberg Reference; also on Lexis/Nexis.)

    • The Congressional District Atlas 105th Congress on CD-ROM. (Van Pelt Reference Moelis Area G 1201 F7 U452) Introduction and Navigation

    • Biographical directory of the American Congress, 1774-1996 . The Continental Congress, September 5, 1774, to October 21, 1788, and the Congress of the United States, from the First through the 104th Congress, March 4, 1789, to January 3, 1997. Alexandria, Va. : CQ Staff Directories, Inc., c1997. 2108 p. (Van Pelt Library Reference JK 1010 A5 1997)

    • CQ Weekly Report, 1956- . (library has: v.23- ., 1965- . Van Pelt JK 1 C15; latest 5 years in Reference; latest 3 months at Reference Desk) -- A ca. 50 page weekly report, summarizing the activities of Congress and including House and Senate votes and status of major legislation. Text of selected documents; topical articles; long profiles of frehsmen lawmakers. Convention iddues include delegation profiles, platforms, text of convention addresses. State by state pre-election reports and candidate profiles from selected districts, in a mid-October issue. New committee assignments appear in a late January or early February issue (1 Feb in 1997). The CQ Almanac, 1948- , summarizes information from the CQ Index , including a summary of role-call votes. (Library has: v. 8- , 1952- . Jk 1 C66; latest 10 years in Van Pelt Reference)

      CIS Annual, 1970- . (Van Pelt Reference JK 1001 C65) -- Catalogs, abstracts, and indexes all publications of Congress, except Bills and the Congressional Record. Covers Reports, Documents, Committee Prints, and Hearings. Includes Legislative Histories of Public Laws. Indexes by subject, name (author, witness), bill, report, and document number.

    • Congressional Quarterly, inc. Congress and the Nation; a review of government and politics in the postwar years. Washington <1965-1985> v. illus. Library has: v. 1-8, 1945-1992. Summarizes 4 years of the CIS Annual. Articles, key vote charts, members, index. Vol. 8, 1989-1992, has 1308p. ( Van Pelt JK1061 .C62 Van Pelt Reference JK1061 .C62 )

    • Directory of Congressional Voting Scores and Interest Group Ratings. 2d. ed. Wash., D.C., CQ, 1997. 1542p. Conservative coalition, party unity, presidential support, voting participation. Ratings by ADA, ACU, ACLU, ASC, CCUS, CFA, COPE, LCV, NEA, NTU. (Van Pelt Reference JK 1051 S555 1997)

  18. U.S. Constitution

    • Vile, John A. A Companion to the United States Constitution and its Amendments. 2d ed. Westport, Praeger, 1997. 288p. Background, articles, bibliography, glossary. text. (Van Pelt Reference KF 4550 V55 1997)

    • "Constitution of the United States" - Web sites for full text

    • U.S. Constitution - James Madison University

    • Mitchell, Ralph. CQ's guide to the U.S. Constitution : history, text, index, glossary Ralph Mitchell. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly Inc., c1986. x, 108 p. ( Van Pelt Reference KF 4528.5 M57 1986 )

    • United States. The Constitution of the United States of America : analysis and interpretation : annotations of cases decided by the Supreme Court of the United States to July 2, 1982 prepared by the Congressional Research Service, Library ... Washington, D.C.: U.S. G.P.O., 1987. xxxviii, 2308 p. Includes an alphabetical table of cases. (Van Pelt Reference KF 4527 K54 1987); Bound with 298p. 1990 Supplement (Van Pelt Reference KF 4527 K54 1990).

    • United States. The Constitution of the United States of America as amended : unratified amendments, analytical index presented by Mr. Brooks. Washington: U.S. G.P.O., 1992. viii, 81 p. : ill. (Van Pelt KF 4525 1992)

    • United States. Encyclopedia of the American Constitution Leonard W. Levy, editor-in-chief ; Kenneth L. Karst, associate editor ; Dennis J. Mahoney, assistant editor. New York: Macmillan ; London : Collier Macmillan, c1986. 4 v. (xciv, 2196 p.) Long, signed articles, with bibliographies. Appendices include a chronology, the "Articles of Confederation", important events in the development of American Constitutional Law, glossary, and case, name, and subject indexes. ( Van Pelt Reference KF 4548 E53 1986 )

    • United States. Encyclopedia of the American Constitution. Supplement 1 Leonard W. Levy, editor-in-chief, Kenneth L. Karst, associate editor, John G. West, Jr., assistant editor. New York: Macmillan Pub. Co. ; Toronto : Collier Macmillan ; New York : Maxwell Macmillan International, c1992. xxxiv, 668 p. ( Van Pelt Reference KF4548 E53 1986 Suppl.)

    • Vile, John R. Encyclopedia of constitutional amendments, proposed amendments, and amending issues, 1789-1995 John R. Vile. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c1996. xvii, 427 p. ( Van Pelt Reference KF 4557 V555 1996)

    • Janosik, Robert J. The American Constitution : an annotated bibliography Robert J. Janosik. Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, c1991. xi, 254 p. (Van Pelt Reference KF 4546 A1 J36 1991 )

    • Reams, Bernard D. The Constitution of the United States : a guide and bibliography to current scholarly research by Bernard D. Reams, Jr. and Stuart D. Yoak. Dobbs Ferry, N.Y.: Oceana Publications, c1987. xvii, 545 p. ( Van Pelt Reference KF 4546 A1 R4 1987 )

    • Mason, Alpheus Thomas, 1899- American constitutional development compiled by Alpheus Thomas Mason and D. Grier Stephenson, Jr. Arlington Heights, Ill.: AHM Pub. Corp., c1977. xviii, 166 p. ( Van Pelt Reference KF 4546 M38 )

    • Mason, Alpheus Thomas, 1899- American constitutional law : introductory essays and selected cases Alpheus Thomas Mason, Donald Grier Stephenson, Jr. Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice Hall, c1993. xv, 652 p. : ill. ( Van Pelt KF 4549 M3 1993 )

    • Bradford, M. E. 1934- Founding Fathers : brief lives of the framers of the United States Constitution M.E. Bradford ; foreword by Russell Kirk. Lawrence, Kan.: University Press of Kansas, c1994. xxi, 222 p. : ill. ( Van Pelt E 302.5 B74 1994 )

  19. U.S. President

    • Presidential Documents -- selected recent documents, executive orders, press releases

      History - United States - Presidents -- links to Web sites

    • Congressional Quarterly's Guide to the Presidency. Wash., D.C., C.Q., 1996. 2 vols., 1705p. Index. 37 chapters covering all aspects of the presidency, biographies, documents. (Van Pelt Reference JK 516 C57 1996)

    • Goehlert, Robert. The Presidency; a research guide Santa Barbara, ABC Clio, 1985. 340p. Covers Presidential documents, secondary sourced, campaigns and elections, research strategy, with charts and tables. (Van Pelt Reference JK 516 G56 1985)

    • Martin, Fenton S. How to research the presidency Fenton S. Martin, Robert U. Goehlert. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly, c1996. x, 134 p. (Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks JK 516 M378 1996)

    • Davison, Kenneth E. The American presidency : a guide to information sources Kenneth E. Davison. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research Co., 1983. xvi, 467 p. (Van Pelt Library E 176.1 D38 1983)

    • Encyclopedia of the American Presidency. N.Y., Simon and Schuster, 1994. 4 vols. (Van Pelt Reference JK 511 E53 1994)

    • The Presidency A to Z. 2d. ed. Wash., D.C., CQ, 1998. 602p. index. Appendices: Presidents and Vive Presidents, with terms in office; backgrounds; summary of elections; party affiliations; Presidential Cabinets 1789-1998; U.S. govt. organizational chart; online links. (Van Pelt Reference JK 511 P775 1998)

    • The Executive Office of the President; a historical, biographical, and bibliographical guide. Ed. Harold Relyea. Westport, Greenwood, 1997. 678p. (Van Pelt Reference JK 552 E94 1997)

    • Martin, Fenton S. The American Presidency: a bibliography . Wash., D.C., Congressional Quarterly, 1987. 506p. (Van Pelt Reference JK 511 M36 1987)

    • Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, 1965- . (Van Pelt J 80 A284; latest year in Van Pelt Reference; also on Lexis/Nexis, 1979- .) -- Texts of Addresses, Bill Signings, Communications to Congress and Federal Agencies, Executive Orders, Interviews, Statements, etc. Quarterly, semi-annual, and annual name and subject indexes.

    • Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, 1929-33, 1945- (Van Pelt J 80 A283; and on Lexis/Nexis, 1979- ,)

    • Historic Documents on Presidential Elections, 1787-1988. Ed. Michael Nelson. Wash., D.C., Congressional Quarterly, 1991. 902p. Index. 70 documents: speeches, platforms, debates, articles, etc. (Van Pelt Reference JK 1965 H56 1991)

    • Historic Documents on the Presidency, 1776-1989. Ed. Michael Nelson. Wash., D.C., Congressional Quarterly, 1989. 902p. Index. Largely speeches and messages to Congress; includes Teapot Dome Resolution, Nixon's "Smoking Gun" tapes, etc. (Van Pelt Reference JK 511 H57 1989)

    • Ragsdale, Lyn, 1954- Vital statistics on the presidency : Washington to Clinton. Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly, 1996. xvi, 455 p. : ill. Mostly data and tables. Index. Beginning with Washington but concentrating on the present era. (Van Pelt Reference JK 518 R34 1996 )

  20. U.S. Supreme Court

    • Witt, Elder. Congressional Quarterly's guide to the U.S. Supreme Court Elder Witt. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly Inc., c1990. xxi, 1060 p. : ill. Origens, development, Federal System, work, members, major decisions. Documents. Subject and Case indexes. (Van Pelt Reference KF 8742 W567 1990)

    • Baum, Lawrence. The Supreme Court . Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, c1995. xii, 307 p. : charts. General overview of the role and work of the Court. ( Van Pelt Reference KF 8742 B35 1995 )

    • Baum, Lawrence. The Oxford companion to the Supreme Court of the United States Kermit L. Hall, editor in chief; James W. Ely, Jr., Joel B. Grossman, William M. Wiecek, editors. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 1992. xx, 1032 p. : ports. A-Z encyclopedia of people, cases, concepts. Case and topical indexes. Bibliographic notes. ( Van Pelt Reference KF 8742 A35 O93 1992 )

    • Paddock. Lisa. Facts about the Supreme Court. NY, Wilson, 1996. 569p Index. Separate analysis under the court of each chief justice; issues and cases. Index and Index of cases. (Van Pelt Reference KF 8742 P32 1996)

    • Baum, Lawrence. The Supreme Court A to Z: a ready reference encyclopedia Elder Witt, advisory editor. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly, 1994. xiii, 528 p. : ill. A-Z encyclopedia of people, cases, concepts. Case and topical indexes. Bibliographic notes. ( Van Pelt Reference KF8742.A35 S8 1994 )

    • Epstein, Lee, 1958- The Supreme Court compendium: data, decisions, and developments Lee Epstein ... . Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly Inc., 1994. xviii, 741 p. Mostly tables. (Van Pelt Reference KF 8742 E68 1994 )

    • Martin, Fenton S. The U.S. Supreme Court: a bibliography Fenton S. Martin, Robert U. Goehlert. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly, c1990. xv, 594 p. 9434 unannotated references to books and articles. Arranged under 15 broad categories, with author and subject indexes. (Van Pelt Reference KF 8741 A1 M37 1990 )

    • Martin, Fenton S. The Justices of the United States Supreme Court: their lives and major opinions. Edited by Leon Friedman & Fred L. Israel. New York: Chelsea House Publishers, <1995>, 1997. 5 v. (xviii, 2115) : ill., charts. Long articles, with selected bibliography. (Van Pelt Reference KF 8744 F75 1995 )

    • Martin, Fenton S. The Supreme Court yearbook. 1989-1990- Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly, 1991- 5 v. (xviii, 2115) : ill., charts Library has: 1989- . Voting patterns, summaries of major decisions, previews. (Van Pelt KF 8741 A152 S87 )

Librarian & Coordinator of Social Sciences Collections

Lauris Olson's picture
Lauris Olson
Contact:
University of Pennsylvania Libraries
203 Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center
University of Pennsylvania
3420 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6206
U.S.A.
215-898-0119
Website