SPIN Plus is a web-based system available through PennERA (Penn's Electronic Research Administration) portal. To access SPIN Plus, go to PennERA and click on Logon to PennERA to authenticate using PennKey and password. Choose Find Funding from the top of page.
SPIN Plus includes three components:
SPIN Searchable funding opportunities database that includes national and international government and private (foundations, associations and corporations) funding sources. For generic training videos on the SPIN platform provided by InfoEd International, Inc., see https://spin.infoedglobal.com/Home/TrainingVideos.
GENIUS Global WWW network and database of investigator profiles of scientific and scholarly expertise.
SMARTS Investigator Funding Alert System which matches investigator profile information with SPIN. Matches occur on a daily basis, and opportunities are emailed to researchers.
Through the PennERA portal, you can also connect to the Institutional Review Board's Human Subjects Electronic Research Application (HSERA).
See Annual register of grant support. 52nd ed. Medford, N.J. : Information Today, 2019.
Van Pelt Reference - Financial Aid. LB2338 .A558
Foundation Directory Online searches grantmakers, grants, and companies. In the grant search, narrow by Field of Interest, Location, or type in keywords to help find specific grants.
Grant Advisor Plus offers lists of grant opportunities with upcoming deadlines (accessible only on campus, through Penn IP addresses). If the link provided here does not work, you might need to enter and use the password updated monthly through Penn's Career Services - Online Subscriptions page.
grants.gov is a searchable database of funding opportunities available through all federal grant-making agencies. If you are new to applying for federal grants, it is worth reading the information under Grants 101 and watching the training videos before starting the application process.
Information about grant opportunities, program officers, and successful past recipients can be found through agency web pages as well:
National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH)
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
National Science Foundation (NSF) Social, Behavioral & Economic Science Funding
American Anthropological Association - Fellowships and Support lists research funding, scholarships, honors and awards from AAA and other anthropology-related organizations.
Archaeological Institute of America - Grants and Awards llists scholarships, fellowships, and grants for research, publication, fieldwork, and site preservation, administered by the AIA, as well as a list of opportunities from other sources.
Wenner-Gren Foundation has a variety of grant programs, including Dissertation Fieldwork Grants. The Foundation's website also maintains a list of other grant and funding opportunities for anthropologists and archaeologists.
Social Science Research Council (SSRC) Fellowships and Prizes includes the prestigious International Dissertation Research Fellowship among others.
Andrew W. Mellon Foundation connects to the Mellon's grants database, policies, guidelines, and grantee portal.
Fulbright Scholar Program sends 800 U.S. faculty and professionals abroad each year, sponsored by the United States Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs.
Boren Fellowships funds research and language study proposals by U.S. graduate students in world regions critical to U.S. interests (an initiative of the Defense Language and National Security Education Office)
The Leakey Foundation provides grants for Advanced Graduate students researching human origins.
Council of American Overseas Research Centers offers CAORC Fellowships along with Overseas Research Center (ORC) fellowships, grants, and language and cultural programs specific to its region.