Pain Management for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses by
Pain Management for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses guides readers through the important concepts of animal pain management, providing specific approaches to managing pain in a wide variety of veterinary conditions. Emphasizing the technician's role in advocating for the patient, the book equips technicians with the knowledge needed to manage pain in dogs, cats, horses, livestock, exotics, and zoo animals. Logically and comprehensively covering this difficult subject, Pain Management for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses provides both introductory material on the tenets of pain management and specific techniques to apply in the clinical setting. With information on recognizing and understanding pain, the physiology of pain, pharmacology, and analgesia in different settings, the book outlines how to practice good pain management as an integral part of nursing care. Pain Management for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses provides both basic and advanced information, allowing students, practicing veterinary technicians and nurses, and veterinary staff alike to take a more active role in pain management and develop a more thorough understanding of this complex subject.
Call Number: Atwood Library (Campus) SF910.P34 P34 also online
Publication Date: 2014-10-23
Exotic Animal Medicine for the Veterinary Technician by
Exotic Animal Medicine for the Veterinary Technician Third Edition Now in its third edition, Exotic Animal Medicine for the Veterinary Technician is a comprehensive yet clear introduction to exotic animal practice for technicians in the classroom and clinic setting alike. With an emphasis on the exotic species most likely to present to a veterinary practice, coverage includes avian, reptiles, amphibians, small mammals, and wildlife. For the first time in full color, this edition features updates throughout with a brand new chapter on fish medicine. Information ranging from anatomy, restraint, and common diseases to radiology, surgical assisting, and parasitology are included. Designed to provide technicians with all the information necessary to confidently and competently treat exotic patients, Exotic Animal Medicine for the Veterinary Technician offers easy-to-follow descriptions of common procedures and techniques. A companion website offers review questions and images from the book in PowerPoint for download. Key Features Now in full color Features anatomy, restraint, common diseases to radiology, surgical assisting, and parasitology New chapter on fish medicine Companion Website This book is accompanied by a companion website: www.wiley.com/go/ballard/exotics The website includes: Supplementary interactive multiple choice questions PowerPoint slides of all figures from the book for downloading
Call Number: Veterinary: Atwood Library (Campus) SF997.5.E95 E94 201, also online
Publication Date: 2016-09-26
Lavin's Radiography for Veterinary Technicians by
Make sure you understand and know how to use the very latest diagnostic imaging technology with Lavin's Radiography for Veterinary Technicians, 6th Edition! All aspects of imaging - including production, positioning, and evaluation of radiographs - are combined into this comprehensive text. All chapters have been thoroughly reviewed, revised, and updated with vivid color equipment photos, positioning drawings, and detailed anatomy drawings. From foundational concepts to the latest in diagnostic imaging, this text is a valuable resource for students, technicians, and veterinarians alike! More than 1000 full-color photos and updated radiographic images visually demonstrate the relationship between anatomy and positioning. UNIQUE! Non-manual restraint techniques including sandbags, tape, rope, sponges, sedation and combinations improve your safety and radiation protection. UNIQUE! Comprehensive dental radiography coverage gives you a meaningful background in the dentistry subsection of vet radiography. Increased emphasis on digital radiography, including quality factors and post-processing, keeps you up-to-date on the most recent developments in digital technology. Broad coverage of radiologic science, physics, imaging and protection provide you with foundations for good technique. Objectives, key terms, outlines, chapter introductions and key points help you organize information to ensure you understand what is most important in every chapter. Color anatomy art created by an expert medical illustrator help you to recognize and avoid making imaging mistakes. Check It Out boxes provide suggestions for practical actions that help better understand content being presented. Points to ponder boxes emphasize information critical to performing tasks correctly. Key points boxes help you to review critical content presented in the radiographic positioning chapters. NEW! All chapters have been reviewed, revised and updated to present content in a way that is easy to follow and understand. NEW! Updated radiation protection chapter focuses on the importance of safety in the lab. NEW! Additional popular diagnostic information includes MRI/PET and CT/PET scans. NEW! Coverage of Sante's Rule that clearly explains the mathematical process for creating a technique chart NEW! Chapters on Dental Imaging and Radiography, Quality Control, and Testing and Artifacts combines existing content with updates into these important parts of radiography.
Call Number: Veterinary: Atwood Library (Campus) - Reserve SF757.8 .L38 2022; ebook not available to libraries
Publication Date: 2017-10-23
INSTRUMENTS & SURGICAL NURSING
Veterinary Instruments and Equipment by
Use this pocket guide to learn veterinary instruments and equipment at a glance! Veterinary Instruments and Equipment, Third Edition shows hundreds of detailed, full-color photographs of instruments and describes how and when each is used. A flashcard-style format makes it easy to flip through the pages, so you will quickly become familiar with commonly used equipment. An Evolve companion website includes instrument photographs that may be rotated 360 degrees so that you can zoom in to see close-ups of the different tips. With this knowledge, you'll prove a valuable member of the clinical team! 400 high-quality color photographs help you quickly become familiar with instruments. A flip book, flashcard format makes it easy to learn veterinary instruments and equipment. Coverage of surgical instruments includes general instruments such as hemostats, forceps, and scissors, and describes orthopedic, ophthalmic, and dental instruments used in veterinary specialty surgeries. Coverage of restraint equipment includes proper restraint techniques for all species of large and small animals. Instruments and equipment shown for common procedures for small and large animals, including bovine, equine, sheep, pigs, and goats, and include procedures such as dehorning, hoof care, castration, and teat and obstetrical procedures. An Evolve companion website includes all of the photos from the book plus images of 30 instruments in a zoom-and-rotate format, allowing you to focus in on instrument details including the different tips. Two pages are allotted to each instrument, with the top page including a photo and the bottom page including the instrument's name, functions, and characteristics. Spiral binding allows the book to lay flat or fold over so that only the instrument or description is visible. NEW photographs of veterinary instruments, including: Bair Hugger warming unit Centrifuges: small (urine), medium (blood), and large (fecal) Microscope Autoclave (steam and gas) Surgical table (V table and flat table) Suction Microchip implanter Anal gland excision kit UPDATED photographs provide improved resolution of images.
Call Number: Atwood Library (Campus) SF913 .S66 2019 4th print edition & 3rd online
Publication Date: 2013-12-05
Surgical Patient Care for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses by
Surgical Patient Care for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses is a highly practical reference covering all aspects of caring for canine and feline surgical patients. Covers all tasks associated with small animal surgical patient care, from the initial exam and beyond discharge Offers clear descriptions of common surgical assisting procedures and their etiology Presents 285 full-color clinical photographs to demonstrate common surgical instruments and assisting procedures and patient care Includes chapters on the history and physical examination, pre-operative planning, asepsis, surgical assisting, procedures, wound management, postoperative care, and aftercare Includes access to a companion website with review questions and answers and the figures from the book in PowerPoint
Call Number: Atwood Library (Campus) SF911 .H65 2015; ebook not available to institutions
Publication Date: 2015-06-11
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Advanced Veterinary Nursing by
The third in the series, the BSAVA Manual of Advanced Veterinary Nursing, was written to provide a deeper level of information for qualified veterinary nurses, especially those undertaking Medical or Surgical Diplomas. The new edition has been completely revised and updated under the direction of the new editorial team of Alasdair Hotston Moore and Suzanne Rudd. Reflecting recent advances in nursing skills and training, the content has been upgraded to include more advanced procedures. Full colour photos and specially commissioned illustrations, together with text boxes and tinted tables ensure the easy-to-use format that is the trademark of the BSAVA Manuals.
Call Number: Atwood Library (Campus) SF774.5 .B73 2008 and online
Publication Date: 2008-12-22
MINIMALLY INVASIVE SURGERY
Small Animal Laparoscopy and Thoracoscopy by
Small Animal Laparoscopy and Thoracoscopy provides a comprehensive reference to laparoscopy and thoracoscopy, with step-by-step guidance for surgical techniques ranging from basic to advanced. * Acts as both a quick reference to specific techniques and as a comprehensive resource to small animal laparoscopy and thoracoscopy * Guides the reader through each step of the surgical techniques * Takes a clinically oriented approach, with tips on safely and quickly performing procedures throughout * Part of the Advances in Veterinary Surgery series copublished with the American College of Veterinary Surgeons Foundation * Includes access to a companion website with video clips of the procedures described and the figures from the book in PowerPoint
Call Number: Atwood Library (Campus) - Reserve SF914.2 .S63 2015 & online
Publication Date: 2015-10-12
Physical Rehabilitation for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses by
Physical Rehabilitation for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses provides a comprehensive, illustrated guide to all practical aspects of veterinary physical rehabilitation for veterinary technicians and nurses. Provides a comprehensive introduction to physical rehabilitation for veterinary technicians and nurses Offers a thorough grounding in the knowledge and skills needed to become a valued member of a veterinary rehabilitation team Features contributions from leading practitioners from across the United States sharing their knowledge and expertise on all aspects of veterinary physical rehabilitation Presents practical tips, tricks and advice to meet common challenges faced by rehabilitation technicians Covers pain management, hands-on therapy, therapeutic exercises, patient motivation, troubleshooting, and more
Call Number: Atwood Library (Campus) SF925 .P48 2018 & online
Publication Date: 2017-11-29
SMALL ANIMAL SURGERY
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Surgical Principles by
This is a foundation level manual in the popular series from the BSAVA. It presents the basic principles upon which the practice of modern veterinary surgery is based. The principles of surgery will often dictate the outcome of a surgical procedure, more so than the use of the most up-to-date technique, and the surgeon ignores them at their peril. The BSAVA Manual of Surgical Principles presents a solid grounding in the basic principles, with practical examples of why they are important, creating a manual that is very readable and relevant for the veterinary surgeon in practice.
Call Number: print & online
Publication Date: 2012-02-13
Small Animal Surgery by
From basic procedures like spays, castrations, and declaws to advanced surgeries like craniotomy, vertal slots, and lung lobectomy, Fossum's Small Animal Surgery, 5th Edition is the go-to, full-color guide for everything that general veterinarians and vet students need to know about both soft tissue and orthopedic surgery. Five editors bring their expert perspective as they discuss the latest advances in key areas such as imaging modalities, regenerative medicine, minimally invasive surgery, and neurology. With each book adoption, you'll also have access to the Expert Consult website, which includes a fully searchable version of the book plus step-by-step video clips and animations of surgical procedures, aftercare instruction handouts, case presentations, references linked to full text articles on PubMed, and an extensive image collection. There is no better resource to keep you up to date on the latest advances and techniques in small animal surgery! Well illustrated, step-by-step instructions for surgical techniques provide quick reference to practical how-to information in emergency and clinical situations. Anesthesia Protocols offer easy access to recommendations for anesthetizing animals with particular diseases or disorders. Coverage of cutting-edge imaging techniques, including radiographs, CT, MRI, and digital imaging, explores the most useful imaging modalities for demonstrating areas of surgical concern. Clinical tips boxes provide at-a-glance surgical and practice tips. Postsurgical care instructions provide customizable client aftercare handouts for many of the procedures in the book. Reference links to PubMed grant access to full-text articles. NEW! Expanded sections on thoracoscopy, arthroscopy, and laparoscopy reflect the significant growth in minimally invasive procedures in vet medicine. NEW! Significantly revised section on joint disease includes additional techniques and procedures. NEW! Revised chapter on regenerative medicine emphasizes application of stem cell and regenerative medicine technologies to clinical patients. NEW! Increased emphasis on differential diagnosis helps you learn how to avoid misdiagnoses that result in unnecessary surgery with the inclusion of boxes covering disorders that may mimic the more commonly encountered surgical neurologic problems that are not actual disorders requiring surgical repair. NEW! Correlation boxes highlight the advances in veterinary medicine that correlate with human medicine. NEW! Expanded chapter on neurologic examination cover how to perform a proper neurologic exam to detect problems in cats and dogs. NEW! Step-by-step procedure videos that walk through both basic and advanced procedures have been added to this new edition. NEW! Aftercare instructions and rarely performed procedures have been added to the Expert Consult.
Call Number: Atwood Library (Campus) - Reserve SF911 .F673 2019 & online
Publication Date: 2018-05-29
Veterinary Surgery: Small Animal Expert Consult by
Focus on the "how" and "why" of medical/surgical conditions - the critical issues that lead to successful outcomes for your patients - with Veterinary Surgery: Small Animal Expert Consult, 2nd Edition. Expert Consult website offers access to the entire text online, plus references linked to original abstracts on PubMed. Comprehensive coverage includes surgical biology, surgical methods and perioperative care, neurosurgery, and orthopedics in Volume One, and all soft tissue surgery organized by body system in Volume Two. Extensive references to published studies available on Expert Consult show the factual basis for the material. Strong blend of clinical and basic science information facilitates a clear understanding of clinical issues surrounding operative situations. Highly recognized contributing authors create chapters from their own experience and knowledge base, providing the most authoritative, current information available. Coverage of anatomy, physiology, and pathophysiology in chapters on specific organs includes information critical to operative procedures and patient management. In-depth chapters on anesthesia, surgical oncology, tumors of the spine, and musculoskeletal neoplasia provide valuable resources for practicing surgeons, especially in the area of cancer treatment. Preoperative considerations and surgical implications for surgical procedures help surgeons make decisions about treatment approaches. NEW and UPDATED! Expert Consult website with print text plus complete online access to the book's contents, so you can use it anytime - anywhere. EXPANDED! Coverage of interventional radiology techniques in Volume Two (soft tissue volume) to provide cutting-edge information on contemporary imaging modalities that gain access to different structures of the patient's body for diagnostic and therapeutic reasons. NEW and UPDATED! Expanded coverage of coaptation devices and small animal prosthetics clearly explains how they are used in a variety of clinical situations. EXPANDED! Principles of minimally invasive plate treatment added to Volume One (orthopedic volume) to show how these advancements maximize healing and protect the patient while meeting the surgeon's goals in using fracture fixation.
Call Number: Atwood Library (Campus) - Reserve SF911 .V48 2018 & online
Publication Date: 2017-06-29
Veterinary Infection Prevention and Control by
Veterinary Infection Prevention and Control is a practical guide to infection surveillance and control in the veterinary setting. Outlining the steps for designing and implementing an infection control plan, the book offers information on both nosocomial infections and zoonotic diseases to aid the veterinary team in ensuring that veterinary practices and hospitals are safe for both the animal patients and their human caregivers. Veterinary Infection Prevention and Control provides guidelines to creating standard operating procedures for effective and efficient infection control in any veterinary practice. With background information on pathogens, bacteria, and disease transmission, the book focuses on specific infection prevention strategies, including disinfection, sterilization, and isolation. A companion website provides review questions and the figures from the book in PowerPoint. Veterinary Infection Prevention and Control gives practicing veterinarians, technicians, and practice managers in both small and large animal facilities the tools they need to successfully develop an infection-control program.
Call Number: Atwood Library (Campus) SF781 .V464 2012 and online
Publication Date: 2011-11-15
The World of Surgical Instruments for Animal Health by
A complete guide to testing and inspecting surgical instruments for the Veterinary market. This book contains over 1,060 high resolution, surgical instrument photographs with 19 tabbed sections, which include detailed information about scissors, needle holders, forceps, dental instruments, sharpness testing standards, how to measure, repair, instrument care and much more.
Call Number: SF913 .S38 2021
Publication Date: 2021-09-01
Veterinary Technician and Nurse's Daily Reference Guide by
The revised and expanded new edition of this classic reference to daily skills used by veterinary technicians Veterinary Technician and Nurse's Daily Reference Guide: Canine and Feline provides rapid access to the information veterinary technicians need in clinical practice. With an easy-to-use tabular format, the book covers diagnostic and patient care skills, diseases and conditions, preventive care, anatomy, anesthesia, and all other major areas of veterinary technician education and training. Chapters written by experienced veterinary specialists integrate charts, tables, and concise explanatory text to enable quick and efficient retrieval of information. Focusing on practical skills and knowledge, the fourth edition features extensively revised material incorporating the latest developments, evidence-based guidelines, and best practices in veterinary medicine. Brand-new chapters describe licensure and certifications in veterinary technology and discuss nursing theory and science and its relation to veterinary nursing. Expanded and updated coverage includes novel therapeutics in dermatology, vaccination standards, pain assessment and management, stress-free handling and nursing care strategies, RECOVER CPR guidelines, and more. Equally useful in the classroom and in the clinic, this popular quick-reference guide: Provides new and updated content, including coverage of advancements in diagnostic capabilities and of pharmacologic agents used in treatment and management of disease states Contains hundreds of clear illustrations and high-quality photographs Includes a comprehensive table of contents in each chapter Features a companion website with forms and worksheets, self-review questions, vocabulary flashcards, links to online resources, and PowerPoint slides Veterinary Technician and Nurse's Daily Reference Guide: Canine and Feline, Fourth Edition remains an invaluable resource for both student and practicing veterinary technicians and nurses of all skill and experience levels.
Call Number: print on order; ebook not available for libraries
Publication Date: 2022-04-26