Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Words Like Loaded Pistols: Rhetoric from Aristotle to Obama
These databases will help you find scholarly articles about your topic.
Articles+ searches through many of our Penn-subscribed journals, and brings you results all in one place.
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
Covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education, as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Linguistics, literacy, language acquisition, speech and hearing, and language research.
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, logic, and philosophy of mind as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, language and education.
The American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for the professional and scholarly literature in psychology and related fields. Coverage is worldwide. Sources are in English and over thirty languages.
Why use this guide?
This Critical Writing Program guide will help you to:
- Read a citation
- Find books and articles using citations and keywords
- Choose the best scholarly resources for your topic
- Get personalized assistance!
How to Read a Citation
Book citations generally show a publisher and a city of publication. Book chapters will include the title of the chapter as well as the name of the book.
Article citations have a journal/periodical title in addition to the article title. They will usually also show a volume and issue number, and may show a day and month.
Using Citations to Find Articles
If you have a complete article citation, search Articles+ on the Penn Libraries homepage to find the full text of your article.
No luck? That doesn't mean we don't have access to the article - it could be in print! Try using the PennText Article Finder as a next step. You can find PennText on the Library homepage.
To find the full-text of an article, enter the journal name into the PennText article finder. A pop-up box will give you options to access the article online, in print, or the option to request through interlibrary loan.
Using Citations to Find Books
If your citation is a book, use Franklin, the Library catalog. Franklin will help you find the library in which the book is located, and the call number.
You can search for a specific book by title, author, or ISBN. You can also do a keyword or subject keyword search to find books on a particular topic.
Other important resources for finding books:
This document suggests a good method of crafting effective keyword searches:
PowerNotes is software that helps you gather and organize research.
Have questions about PowerNotes? Tips, troubleshooting, and tutorials are here: https://www.blog.powernotes.com/help
Still need help? You can use the PowerNotes contact form, or you can contact the Penn Libraries -- be sure to include "PowerNotes" in your question, so it is routed to the correct librarian.