American Mathematical Society: The AMS is extending grace access for content hosted on our platforms (including MathSciNet) through the end of May for our existing customers. As courses transition to online, AMS can provide complimentary electronic “reserve” copies of textbooks for students who do not have access to print books. Please request access through the “request desk copy” link on the specific textbook page.
Annual Reviews: Annual Reviews has made all of their journal content available to all (without access control) through April 30, 2020 in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.
Archaeopress: Archaeopress has opened access to their digital library of archaeology-related texts to us through the end of July. The collection contains a little over 450 subscription-based titles and about 200 open access/free titles. Connect to the Archaeopress site and click on the "Continue to browse all digital downloads available through your account" link. The "download" link will take you to a summary page with a link to download the PDF (head towards the bottom of the page).
Archive.org's National Emergency Library: The Internet Archive has created a National Emergency Library by suspending waitists for the 1.4 million (and growing) digitized books in their lending library. The suspension on waitlists will run through June 30, 2020, or the end of the US national emergency, whichever is later. During the waitlist suspension, users will be able to borrow books from the National Emergency Library without joining a waitlist, ensuring that students will have access to assigned readings and library materials that the Internet Archive has digitized for the remainder of the US academic calendar. See their FAQ here.
Bloomsbury Digital Resources: Upon request Bloomsbury is making all of their resources are available online on an unlimited access basis through the end of May 2020, at no cost or obligation. The Penn Libraries have enabled this access and records should be available through the Franklin catalog 3/25.
Cambridge University Press: Cambridge has temporarily opened up free access for Higher Education Institutions to all 700 of its Academic higher education textbooks on Cambridge Core as well as free access to a collection of reference works, including all of the Cambridge Histories, Cambridge Companions, and Cambridge Elements. This free access is available until the end of May. The Penn Libraries have activated this content and records are available through the Franklin Catalog.
Cengage: For customers on campuses moving online, Cengage is offering free access to all digital platforms and 14,000 ebooks through Cengage Unlimited for the remainder of this semester. Cengage will provide institutions with services to help in getting digital resources setup and faculty trained, as well as providing technical support to all end users.
CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure): CNKI is opening up all of their online content (journals, e-books, data) to institutions with established subscriptions. Please also see this guide for more information on our Temporary Access to Chinese Electronic Resources.
Digitalia Hispanica: From March 18, Digitalia is offering free access to Digitalia Hispanica f
East View: East View is offering temporary free access to a number of e-resources to support online learning and research on Asia through the end of May 2020. Resources include select products from East View, CNKI, the Social Science Academic Press, and UDP. Please also see this guide for more information on our Temporary Access to Chinese Electronic Resources.
EBSCOhost: Customers impacted by COVID-19 will get unlimited access to all owned titles from over 300+ publishers through mid-June. This means that all licenses – including single-user and three-user models – will automatically convert to unlimited access during that period. The unlimited access also applies to additional titles purchased through mid-June. If you need to purchase a title on EBSCOhost, you can still purchase a 1 or 3 user license, but it will temporarily be unlimited access. Upgrades are in effect for 90 days and will revert back to original model on July 1, 2020.
Hein Online: Hein is offering free campus-wide and remote access options to HeinOnline Academic for the remainder of the current semester and all of next semester. Institutions can email a request to activate access here.
John Libbey EuroText: John Libbey EuroText has made the entire content of their journals available free of charge during the pandemic period. To access their content please connect to their site www.jle.com. You may need to create an account to access articles, but you should not be charged.
JSTOR: For participating academic institutions that currently license some, but not all, JSTOR Archive and Primary Source collections, JSTOR will turn on access to all unlicensed collections at no cost. Additionally, they are expediting the release of a new set of 26 journal archives in Public Health, making them openly accessible through June 30, 2020. JSTOR is also working with publishers to make more than 20,000 books available at no charge for JSTOR-participating academic institutions and secondary schools that do not participate in our books program. The number of books available through this effort is growing daily as more publishers opt in.
LWW Health Library: In addition to the Medical Education ebook package, LWW has opened access to Pharmacy, Clerkship/Clinical Rotation, Board Reviews Series and the Internal Medicine ebook packages. Records for this content are available in the Franklin catalog.
Maruzen: Maruzen is a Japanese publisher offering extended “Trial Reading” for the Maruzen eBook Library free of charge, without any order commitments, outside of Japan only. Free access is available through the end of May and concurrent access will be unlimited, but printing and downloading will not be enabled. Contact Kay Saban firstname.lastname@example.org to start the program.
Multimodal Resources: currated by Penn's CAMRA for teaching, enrichment, entertainment, and parenting.
Numérique Premium: Numérique Premium is offering free 30-day access to their 3500 French language ebooks from 50 publishers.
Ohio State University Press: OSU Press has opened up access to all scholarly monographs and their linguistics textbook, Language Files: Materials for an Introduction to Language and Linguistics, via the OSU Library’s Institutional Repository, Knowledge Bank. List of Open Titles in the OSU Press Knowledge Bank Collection during the COVID-19 Crisis.
OpenEdition: The majority of content from OpenEdition is Open Access. In response to the many closures due to COVID-19, OpenEdition has worked with their publishers to temporarily lift restrictions on embargoed content and provide extended access on both the OpenEdition Journals and OpenEdition Books platforms. A regularly updated list of participating publishers is available here.
Portfolio Management Research Journals: The Penn Libraries have been granted temporary access to all Portfolio Management Research journals through June 30th. Records for individual journals are available in the Franklin catalog.
Project MUSE: In response to the challenges created by the global public health crisis of COVID-19, Project MUSE is pleased to support its participating publishers in making scholarly content temporarily available for free on our platform. As of 3/20/20, 37 publishers have chosen to temporarily make content freely available on Project MUSE. Each publisher designates the specific content and for how long it will be freely available on MUSE. The current list of participating publishers will be updated on a daily basis.
ProQuest Central: ProQuest has enabled temporary access to ProQuest Central, a very large multi-disciplinary database that provides access to 47 complete databases, with a variety of content types across over 175 subjects,. Please see their LibGuide for more information on the content included in this resource. Records for ProQuest Central content are available in the Franklin catalog.
ProQuest's Coronavirus Research Database: ProQuest has released a Coronavirus Research Database at no cost for ProQuest customers that provides full-text content covering all facets of COVID-19 and related infectious diseases. The database aggregates authoritative content from ProQuest with content made available at no cost by members of the International Association of STM Publishers – including Springer Nature, Taylor & Francis and The BMJ. Journals, preprints, conference proceedings and dissertations provide comprehensive coverage of COVID-19 and other past coronavirus outbreaks, such as MERS and SARS, for context around the current global pandemic.
ProQuest Ebook Central: ProQuest Ebook Central customers impacted by COVID-19 will get unlimited access to all owned titles from over 100 publishers through mid-June. This means that all licenses – including single-user and three-user models – will automatically convert to unlimited access during that period. The unlimited access also applies to additional titles purchased through mid-June. If you need to purchase a title on Ebook Central, you can still purchase a 1 or 3 user license, but it will temporarily be unlimited access.
RedShelf: RedShelf is a textbook platform, similar to VitalSource, and they are opening up content to students through May 25. Like VitalSource, students will need to establish an account with their .edu email address and can have access to no more than 7 titles. RedShelf may not be accessible in some countries.
Rotunda - University of Virginia Press: As part of the University of Virginia Press’s response to library closures owing to COVID-19, we are making all Rotunda publications available to our customers, including ones you have not purchased, through 30 June 2020. The Penn Libraries have activated this content and records should be available in the Franklin catalog 3/26.
SAGE Publishing: SAGE is providing free 90-day access to all of their Video Collections, including Sage Research Methods Video, by IP authentication. This free video content has been activated and should be available in the Franklin catalog on 3/25. The Penn Libraries already has access to many SAGE products such as SAGE Journals, SAGE Knowledge and SAGE Research Methods Online including the Little Blue Books.
ScienceDirect Textbooks: The 256 textbooks currently on ScienceDirect are automatically available to all active ScienceDirect customers for a period of 90 days. Users accessing ScienceDirect through IP or remote access will be able to use these books while campuses are closed. The title list is available here but please use ScienceDirect link for off-campus access to the full-text. Records for these titles will also be available in the Franklin catalog on 3/26. Elsevier also participating in the VitalSource ebook access, and through ProQuest Ebook Central.
University of Michigan Press: Beginning on Friday, March 20, access restrictions will be removed for all 1,150+ titles in the University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection until the end of April 2020. The UMP EBC contains the Press’s scholarly output published since 2012 as well as new books and older titles as they are digitized.
Vendor Love: Vendor Covid-19 Related Donations and Pro Bono Access Librarian-crowdsourced, updated list to pro bono resources from vendors and publishers.
VitalSource: VitalSource is a platform that hosts multiple publishers including textbook publishers, including Wiley, Elsevier, Pearson, OUP and Taylor & Francis. It has temporary opened its platform to the world. For a list of all participating publishers click here. Please note, students will need to establish an account with their .edu email address and can have access to no more than 7 titles.
Wiley: Wiley is aiming to ensure instructors who need to teach remotely have the necessary tools to help their students. Beginning 3/12/20, instructors without an adopted online learning solution, such as WileyPLUS, Knewton Alta or zyBooks, can receive free access for their students for the remainder of the Spring 2020 term. Instructors teaching at impacted institutions can request access to WileyPLUS or Knewton Alta here (https://secure.wiley.com/COVID19OpenWPAccess); instructors looking for zyBooks access can apply here (https://www.zybooks.com/). For current WileyPLUS and Knewton Alta instructors, Customer Success Specialists are equipped to provide additional support, including extension of due dates, adjusting assignments or increasing the capacity to work remotely.