Skip to main content

Summer Workshops : Digital Archives and Special Collections

undefined

The Penn Libraries is home to incredible repositories of culture and history, containing rare and sometimes unique materials — and thanks to ongoing digitization efforts, many can be explored online. Find out how to access and teach from digitized primary sources, special collections, and archives from home.

How to Teach Remotely Using Digital Special Collections

Thursday, June 25 | 2:00pm - 3:00pm

online via Zoom.

Kislak Center Curators Lynne Farrington, Mitch Fraas, and John Pollack will discuss the possibilities for and challenges of remote teaching using Penn's special collections (and other digital archival collections). Our primary focus will be on the particular challenges we may face on the Penn campus in the fall semester. Contact: jpollack@upenn.edu.

 

Register

Exploring Penn's Special Collections from Home

Tuesday, July 7 | 2:00pm - 3:00pm

In this workshop, participants will learn how to find archival collections and digital special collections materials at Penn. They will also learn how to navigate Finding Aids and Catalog Records as well as what steps to take to prepare for an in-person archival visit. Participants will also be briefly introduced to archival collections outside of Penn. 

Workshops being offered that complement this workshop are: (1) Finding Digitized Primary Sources, Special Collections, and Archives in Your Field, (2) Simplify Your Archival Research Workflow with Tropy, (3) OPenn and Digital Primary Resources (4) How to Teach Remotely Using Digital Special Collections

 

Register