LinkedIn Learning (previously Lynda.com) is an online training library that provides access to video tutorials covering a wide selection of topics, including cover letters, resumes, and career development. New and improved courses are added weekly. University students, faculty, and staff have access to LinkedIn Learning.
Here are just a few of the many video tutorials available:
Job Search Letters - Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) - These OWL resources will help you write job application letters, thank you and follow up letters, as well as effective acceptance and rejection letters. Also included are links to other OWL resources geared for entry-level and skilled labor positions.
Microsoft Office Templates - Access a wide selection of MS Word templates with formatting for various styles of resumes and cover letters.
Step-by-step guide for how write cover letters and every type of letter you will use in a job hunt. How to build, edit and polish professional letters for maximum impact and how to use them to get four times the interviews.
From sparkling cover letters to six-word bios, a fresh bevy of job search letters has grown powerfully useful for successful career communications. Job Search Letters For Dummies delivers the quality of New Era know-how you need right now to land good jobs and thrive.
Résumés and CVs - Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) - These OWL resources will help you compose effective résumés and curricula vitae (or CVs) for your job search. This section includes resources on page design (which includes using white space, headings, and fonts), as well as resources on tailoring your résumé for specific employers. This section also contains links to other OWL resources geared for entry-level and skilled labor positions.
CareerOneStop Résumé tutorials guide job seekers through resources for resume types, design, and essential features.
In The Elements of Résumé Style, Bennett shows readers how to craft clear, compelling, targeted résumés and cover letters that actually work.This new edition includes social media and online-application tips.
Infographic resumes are in, and they’re not just for designers. The Infographic Resume provides essential tips and ideas for how to create visual resumes and portfolios that will make you stand out from the crowd.
Knock 'em Dead Resume Templates shows you how to write a killer resume and includes 105 ready-to-use Microsoft Word resume templates. You get resume writing advice from a New York Times career bestseller, plus 105 Microsoft Word resume templates.
Handshake is Career Services’ powerful platform for University of Pennsylvania students, postdocs and alumni. Handshake uses cutting edge technology to help you more easily connect with employers and source jobs and internships, event information, and schedule appointments with Career Advisors.
Career Services at Penn offers access to a number of e-resources to assist you in your job search and career exploration. The resources are listed alphabetically and updated regularly as Career Services acquires new subscriptions. (PennKey login required)
The Chronicle has listings for jobs in various academic areas. Access to the full text requires a password. Following the link above will lead you to an authentication page, where you will be required to authenticate yourself as an authorized Penn user.
Students at the University of Pennsylvania have access to a wide variety of work opportunities, made centrally available through the Office of Student Employment in Student Financial Services. Learn about employment options and search open positions here.
It's tough landing that first job out of school and starting your climb up the professional ladder in such an uncertain world. In Knock 'em Dead Secrets & Strategies for First-Time Job Seekers, you will learn how to climb the ladder of success and get what you want out of life.