Guides: Copy of Critical Writing: WRIT 050-301: Overview

Seminar Reading

Drugs for Life: How Pharmaceutical Companies Define our Health by Joseph Dumit
Publication Date: 2012
Click for the ebook available from the Penn Libraries

Scholarly Databases

Articles+
Articles+ searches through many of our Penn-subscribed journals, and brings you results all in one place.

Google Scholar
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
PubMed
NLM's public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature.
Health Business Fulltext
Full-text coverage of health and life sciences trade publications. Covers staffing, health care regulation, health care facilities management, marketing, finance, etc.

Academic Search Premiere
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly journals and other periodicals.

Background Resources

Penn Library Guide: Pharmaceutical Industry
Links to library resources on the topic, including books, key journals, and business intelligence resources.
Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA)
PhRMA is an industry group representing the country's leadings pharmaceutical companies. An incredibly well financed and influential lobby, PhRMA promotes industry-friendly policy responses to issues affecting drug pricing and production.
The Center for Responsive Politics: Open Secrets Database
CRP's database allows you to search for donors to politicians, PACs, and other political entities.
Make Insulin Affordable
Lobbying site from the American Diabetes Association. Insulin pricing remains a political and personal flashpoint in America.

Why use this guide?

This Critical Writing Program guide will help you to:

Read a citation
Find books and articles using citations and keywords
Choose the best scholarly resources for your topic
Get personalized assistance!

Research Skills Trainer
Short online tutorial covering most of the skills areas summarized in this guide and presented at the librarian's class presentation.

How to Read a Citation

Book citations generally show a publisher and a city of publication. Book chapters will include the title of the chapter as well as the name of the book.

Article citations have a journal/periodical title in addition to the article title. They will usually also show a volume and issue number, and may show a day and month.

Using Citations to Find Articles

If you have a complete article citation, search Articles+ to find the full text of your article.

No luck? That doesn't mean we don't have access to the article - it could be in print! Try using the PennText Article Finder as a next step. You can find PennText on the Library homepage.

To find the full-text of an article, enter the journal name into the PennText article finder. A pop-up box will give you options to access the article online, in print, or the option to request through interlibrary loan.

Using Citations to Find Books

If your citation is a book, use Franklin, the Library catalog. Franklin will help you find the library in which the book is located, and the call number.

You can search for a specific book by title, author, or ISBN. You can also do a keyword or subject keyword search to find books on a particular topic.