Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Penn Libraries
Penn Library Services for Chaplaincy Residents
Chaplaincy residents are eligible to use the University of Pennsylvania Libraries during the term of their residency.
Key Journals and Databases
Journal of Pastoral Care and Counseling
The Journal of Pastoral Care & Counseling advances theory and professional practice through scholarly and reflective literature on pastoral and spiritual care, counseling, psychotherapy, education, and research.
Pastoral Care in Education
Directed at teachers and researchers concerned with the personal/social development, education and care of pupils across the curriculum. Topics include citizenship, health, social and moral education, school structures, emotional development etc.
Pastoral Psychology is one of the oldest and most well established academic journals in the field of psychology and religion/spirituality.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Combines the ATLA Religion Database with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
Religious and Theological Abstracts
Provides abstracts of articles in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology from a wide variety of periodical literature, including Christian, Jewish, and other world religions, and provides English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages. A list
of journals abstracted is available.
New Pubmed Articles about Chaplaincy
Case Studies in Spiritual Care by Through a rich variety of case studies, this book provides insight into the patient's needs and the chaplain's perspective, as well as discussions of spiritual assessments and spiritual care interventions. Case studies such as a request to baptise a child complicated due to his admission for 'psychiatric reasons', as well as work with military veterans, such as a female transgender veteran who has been alienated from her faith, show the breadth and complexity of work that chaplains undertake daily. Each section also includes critical responses to the case studies presented from a chaplain and related healthcare professional. This book will enable chaplains to critically reflect on the spiritual care they provide, and provide an informed perspective for healthcare professionals and others involved in chaplaincy services.
Publication Date: 2018-07-19
My Grandmother's Hands by A call to action for Americans to recognize that racism is not about the head, but about the body. Author Resmaa Menakem introduces an alternative view of what we can do to grow beyond our entrenched racialized divide.
Publication Date: 2017-08-21
Personhood and Presence by The greatest asset which people in pastoral care offer in a caring relationship is themselves, or to be more precise, the aspects of self which they have reflected upon. Offering oneself to other people in order to provide companionship along the road of life, especially when the particular stage on the journey is one of anticipated or actual loss, is an act which is both challenging and yet potentially life enhancing for a carer. The purpose of this book is to offer an aid to those who seek to understand themselves better with a view to enhancing the quality of spiritual and pastoral care they offer. Here the reference point for reflexivity is the caring relationship. Yet as we are fundamentally the same beings in personal and professional relationships, readers may also find stimulus to reflect on what they bring to a variety of relationships including that with the Sacred and, indeed, themselves.
Publication Date: 2012-03-08
Recalling Our Own Stories by How religious caregivers can find spiritual renewal in their own storyRecalling Our Own Stories, which author Edward P. Wimberly describes as a spiritual retreat in book form, is designed to help clergy and religious caregivers face the challenges of ministry. It is also a valuable resource for practitioners who assist these clergy and caregivers in meeting the challenges of their work.Wimberly enables caregivers to map out and come to grips with cultural expectations of their profession. He also helps readers explore and edit the mythologies that make up their self-image, attitudes toward others, expectations about their performance and role, and convictions about ministry. Finally, he provides a model for spiritual and emotional review grounded in narrative psychology and spiritual approaches.As Wimberly explains, this book offers a way to renew our motivation for ministry by reconnecting to our original call, visualizing again how God has acted and remains intricately involved in our lives.Wimberly demonstrates how religious caregivers, often facing burnout, can tap the sources of renewal that reside in the faith community.
Publication Date: 2019-02-01
Spiritual Care in Common Terms by Encouraging a broad, compassionate, humanistic approach to spirituality, this book shows how patients' spiritual needs can be communicated well within interdisciplinary teams, leading to better patient wellbeing. This book describes the art of charting patients' spiritual perspectives in an open way that will help physicians and nurses to better direct medical care. It includes practical information on how to distil spiritual needs into pragmatic language, helping to demystify spiritual experience. Drawing on his extensive practical experience, the author also suggests key points to emphasise that will enrich chart notes for medical records, including brief, relative narratives, trusting one's own impressions, reflecting holistically on the patient's life, patient attitudes towards treatment and recovery, and describing families' opinions on the health care situation of their loved one. The book shows healthcare professionals of all disciplines how to engage in a shared responsibility for the spiritual care of their patients.
Publication Date: 2016-12-21
When Professionals Weep by When Professionals Weep speaks to the humbling and often transformational moments that clinicians experience in their careers as caregivers and healers--moments when it is often hard to separate the influence of our own emotional responses and worldviews from the patient's or family's. When Professionals Weep addresses these poignant moments--when the professional's personal experiences with trauma, illness, death, and loss can subtly, often stealthily, surface and affect the helping process. This edition, like the first, both validates clinicians' experiences and also helps them process and productively address compassion fatigue, burnout, and secondary traumatic stress. New material in the second edition includes increased emphasis on the burgeoning fields of hospice and palliative care, organizational countertransference, mindfulness, and compassionate practice. It includes thought-provoking cases, self-assessments, and exercises that can be used on an individual, dyadic, or group basis. This volume is an invaluable handbook for practitioners in the fields of medicine, mental health, social work, nursing, chaplaincy, the allied health sciences, psychology, and psychiatry.
Publication Date: 2016-01-22
How to Get the Most Out of Clinical Pastoral Education by
Publication Date: 2018
This accessible primer sets out the core elements and methods of Clinical Pastoral Education (CPE), and shows how to use it most effectively to improve clinicians' capacity for spiritual care.
Mastering Communication with Seriously Ill Patients by
Publication Date: 2009
Topics include delivering bad news, transition to palliative care, discussing goals of advance-care planning and do-not-resuscitate orders, existential and spiritual issues, family conferences, medical futility, and other conflicts at the end of life.
Prayers and Rituals at a Time of Illness and Dying by
Publication Date: 2011
Pat Fosarelli offers clear instructions for health care professionals on how to better understand the needs of their Buddhist, Hindu, Muslim, Christian, and Jewish patients during these difficult times.