Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Bibliographic guides to a wide range of current scholarship, written and reviewed by academic experts, with original commentary and annotations.
Databases for Scholarly Articles
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
Bibliographic citations with subject indexing on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world in general, including Muslims in Africa and Asia and major Muslim minorities worldwide.
JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines. Issues are available both as images and as text, making searching possible both within each title and across the whole database.
Using Citations to Find Books
If your citation is a book, you will search Franklin from the Penn Libraries homepage.
Franklin will help you find the library in which the book is located, and the call number. You can search for a specific book by title, author, or ISBN. You can also do a keyword or subject keyword search to find books on a particular topic.
On the next page, click Catalog to limit your search results to eBooks, books, and other print material.
Other important resources for finding books: