As you read and have discussions, take note of the vocabulary your are seeing and hearing. For instance, here are some terms that come from the reading "Vanguard of the Future: Mobility, Nationalism and the Postsocialist Condition"
Photograph by John Pavelka "Arch of Neutrality" in Ashgabat, Turkmenistan used under a CC 2.0 license
Franklin--the Libraries' catalog for books, music, film, newspapers, journals, primary source material and more.
ABSEES--American Bibliography of Slavic & East European Studies
East View Russia—Social Sciences--A selection of articles from 30 scholarly periodicals “of Russian”, translated into English. Dates: 2016-2020 (and continuing)>
JSTOR--full text to a wide range of journals across the disciplines. Some journals include the current 2020 issues, many have a slow rolling cut off date of 3-5 years back.
Project Muse--full text of contemporary journals in the social sciences and humanities
Articles+ --- the Libraries multidisciplinary database of journals, book chapters, newspapers and magazines. Includes access to full text and citations (request digital delivery)
Sample search: "post soviet" architectural style
ARTSTOR--Searchable database of more than 500,000 digital images and associated catalog data. Try searching "eastern europe" and set dates for 1991 (or later) - 2020 in advanced search.
GoogleScholar--This link will take you through the proxy. You can also set Google Scholar up to recognize you as a Penn Student all of the time, regardless of how you get there. Look for the three vertical lines in upper right hand corner. Click on them. Click on "settings", then click on "library links," Next find "University of Pennsylvania" in the drop down and hit return. You should be set!
Boolean diagram for the search: ("eastern europe" OR "post soviet" OR "post communist") AND (travel or migration [other synonyms?]) AND (culture OR art* Or design)
(. ) create a set in the same way a colored circle does in the diagram.
" " enclose a phrase and keep the terms adjacent
* serves to truncate a word. art can be art arts artist artisan artful artless ...