Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access World News (Newsbank)
Searchable fulltext of nearly 500 U.S. national, regional, and local newspapers, including the Philadelphia Inquirer and Philadelphia Daily News. Coverage for current issues with some backfiles extending to the late 1970s.
Scholarly papers, press releases, and more, accessible through Penn
Factiva is an excellent place to find news stories on topics of interest and lets you search for information by industry, geography, and other criteria. For more information on searching for company information in Factiva, please see Lippincott's Factiva search guide.
Scholarly papers, organized for following citations
Includes over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources
Bibliographic database identifying gray literature from US thinktanks, including the Urban Institute, Vera Institute of Justice, and RAND Corporation. Provides links to reports available on thinktank websites.
SSRN - Social Science Research Network
Working papers covering economics, business (including finance, management, and accounting), and other social science disciplines; dominated by U.S. B-school submissions. Uses JEL classification codes
as subject access for economics and business papers.
a discovery platform with a wealth of analytics providing fast and reliable access to unfiltered original source news, media and information direct from all branches of the U.S. Federal Government. voxgov enables users to easily find who in government is saying what and when on any subject throughout all phases of the political, legislative and regulatory process
Search for your chosen empirical technique among the scholarly papers available via the above Topical Articles resources.
Use the following options for reference:
Macroeconomic data with sub-national detail for Brazil, Russia, India, and China
Statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations
The U.S. government's open data inventory, identifying and linking to U.S. federal, state, and local open data sources and tools.
Explore Census Data - Data.census.gov
The Census Bureau's new official site for recent demographic data and more. Replaces American Fact Finder.
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research)
Social science data sets from academic and government organizations. ICPSR offers thematic collections, including Integrated Fertility Survey Series, and Data Sharing for Demographic Research. HINT! Look for the "analyze online" filter ... but remember that you'll be creating tables directly from microdata.
Census and survey microdata from the U.S. and many countries. Provides dataset extraction and online analysis tools, with crosswalk variables to facilitate multi-year comparisons.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS)
Data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage derived from a set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States
Publications and datasets released by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development
Domestic and international company data from Bureau van Dijk. Supports company screening and configurable data tables.
Easy-to-use interface for tables and maps using decennial census, American Community Survey, and ARDA (religious institution) data for states and counties and other geographies including census tracts. Mapping data variables include ancestry, foreign-born, and Asian ancestry.
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)
Proprietary business and finance data from providers such as S&P. Select and use data through the web interface, via statistical software integrations, or on the WRDS cloud servers. Requires registration.
Use Franklin, Penn Libraries' Online Catalog to find books about your topic. Search for your topic using the Subject Heading Keyword option. You will be more likely to find books about broader topics. See for example this search for books about Google.
If Penn does not own a particular title or if a book that you want is checked out, search the BorrowDirect or E-ZBorrow catalogs. Books requested from one of our partner institutions often take an additional 3-5 business days to arrive.