Resources
- Pick Up @ PennRequest books from the Penn library stacks and safely pick them up.
- BorrowDirect/EZ BorrowRequest books from partner libraries that are not available at Penn, and pick them up at Van Pelt Library or have them mailed to you.
- Request Digital DeliveryRequest a pdf copy of a chapter or section.
Articles+
Franklin Articles+, a component of Franklin, is a single search entry point into the Penn Libraries' large collection of ebooks, scholarly journals, newspaper articles, conference proceedings, and more. Articles+ is prominently located on the Franklin homepage and there are links on various research guides.
For additional tips on using Articles+ and improving your searches for more targeted results, consult the Using Franklin Articles+ LibGuide.
Reference Resources
- Encyclopedia of American Studies"Published by Johns Hopkins University Press for the American Studies Association (ASA), the Encyclopedia of American Studies covers the history, philosophy, arts, and cultures of the United States in relation to the world, from pre-colonial days to the present, from various perspectives and the global American Studies movement. With over 800 online, searchable articles and accompanying bibliographies, related websites, illustrations, and supplemental material, the Encyclopedia of American Studies is the leading reference work for American Studies."
- American National Biography"From missionaries to musicians, social workers to statisticians, cowboys to chemists, and Vikings to astronauts, the portraits in the American National Biography Online (the ANB) reflect the rich diversity of American life from pre-colonial times to the present day."
- Oxford Dictionary of National BiographyIncludes "over 60,000 biographies, 72 million words, 11,000 portraits of significant, influential or notorious figures who shaped British history."