Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hello World by When it comes to artificial intelligence, we either hear of a paradise on earth or of our imminent extinction. It's time we stand face-to-digital-face with the true powers and limitations of the algorithms that already automate important decisions in healthcare, transportation, crime, and commerce. Hello World is indispensable preparation for the moral quandaries of a world run by code, and with the unfailingly entertaining Hannah Fry as our guide, we'll be discussing these issues long after the last page is turned.
Publication Date: 2019-09-24
These databases will help you find scholarly articles about your topic
Articles+ searches through many of our Penn-subscribed journals, and brings you results all in one place.
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines. Issues are available both as images and as text, making searching possible both within each title and across the whole database.
Penn's subscription currently includes all the available collections:
- the Arts & Sciences Collection I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII and the Complement
- the Business II & III Collection
- the Biological Sciences Collection
- the Health & General Science Collection
- the Language and Literature Collection
- the Music Collection
- the 19th Century British Pamphlets
Access to journals from JSTOR is restricted to current Penn faculty, staff and students.
Printing from the JSTOR database requires downloading a helper application called JPrint.
This document suggests a good method of crafting effective keyword searches:
Using this Guide
This guide will help you to:
- Understand how to read citations
- Use citations and keywords to locate sources
- Choose the best scholarly and popular resources for your topic
- Easily contact a Penn librarian for additional support
Resources for Background & Context
Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, articles and full text of Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Contains abstracts from the core journals in major scientific disciplines. The journals are arranged under subject areas for topical navigation.
Provides access to thousands of top newspapers and magazines just as they appear in print. The PressReader collection covers to date nearly 6000 newspapers and magazines from all over the world. There are publications from over a hundred countries and in more than 60 languages. Among the newspapers there are international top titles, such as The Washington Post, other broadsheets and tabloids as well as national and local newspapers.
Current and historical news from thousands of publications worldwide in over 20 languages. Company overviews and stock data are available for public companies.
Indexes new, business, and legal resources.
Polling the Nations
Primary data, fulltext for approximately 250,000 individual questions and aggregated responses, often cross tabulated by respondent characteristics, compiled from public opinion surveys. Topics cover social, health, economic, and political issues at local, state, national, and international levels.