Guides: English 200.303: Trauma & Literature (Then and Now): Notable Primary Source Databases

Medieval

Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO)
Resource for the study of Britain and its place in the world during the medieval and early modern period (c. 1100-1800), including key printed sources for English, Irish, Scottish and Colonial history as well as original manuscripts.
Medieval Travel Writing
This project provides an extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing in fact and in fantasy. The core of the material is a magnificent collection of medieval manuscripts from libraries around the world and dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China. A good number of manuscript images are provided in full colour. The original documents are in a range of languages including French, Latin, German, Spanish, Dutch and English. Supporting the manuscripts are relevant secondary texts of translations and editions, as well as full catalogue details. The project also includes a gallery of maps and images, a bibliography and chronology.
Historical Abstracts
Despite 1450 being the general starting date, many articles survey topics from the 12th through the 15th centuries.

British Literary Manuscripts Online, Medieval and Renaissance
Database contains facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials dating from roughly 1120-1900. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript (note: the text of the manuscripts is not full-text searchable).
Iter : gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance.
Contains electronic resources for researchers in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Enables users to access citations in journal, book, and reviews databases; provides online access to Paul Oskar Kristeller's Iter Italicum (a finding list of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts); provides access to the International directory of scholars (a comprehensive directory of contact information, and information on the research and teaching careers of scholars around the world). Subscription includes a membership to the Renaissance Society of America.

The First World War
Electronic reproduction of primary and secondary source documents relating to the first World War, from archives around the world. The documents are diverse in scope and offer a remarkable window on the lives and experiences of men and women during World War I. [...] The Personal experiences section includes personal collections, photographs, diaries, manuscripts, correspondence, postcards, sheet music, printed books, trench literature, journals, newspapers, official papers and ephemera. [....]
Women, War and Society, 1914-1918
The First World War had a revolutionary and permanent impact on the personal, social and professional lives of all women. Their essential contribution to the war in Europe is fully documented in this definitive collection of primary source materials from the Imperial War Museum, London. Documents include charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, press cuttings, magazines, posters, correspondence, minutes, records, diaries, memoranda, statistics, circulars, regulations and invitation, all fully-searchable with interpretative essays from leading scholars.
New York Times Historical 1851-2010
A different perspective on world events

Archives Unbound
Since its inception in 2009 the Archives Unbound program has published more than 230 titles. The roots of the program are in microfilm, and the collection makes available targeted collections of interest to scholars engaged in serious research. Particular strengths in the Archive Unbound catalog include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history. Broad topic clusters include: African American studies; American Indian studies; Asian studies; British history; Holocaust studies; LGBT studies; Latin American and Caribbean studies; Middle East studies; political science; religious studies; and women's studies. The Archives Unbound program consists of more than 290,000 documents totaling 12 million pages, and will continue to grow. Individual titles in the collection range between 1,200 and 200,000 pages.