Counseling, Psychotherapy, and Therapeutic Programs

Locating Fulltext  |  Psychology, Education + Behavioral Sciences Databases  |  Social Sciences Databases  |  Medicine-related Databases

These online databases will identify the journal article literature in specific subject areas. Some databases will also describe books and book chapters. Some databases -- APA PsycInfo, ERIC, and MEDLINE, for example -- have excellent subject term thesauruses that help to streamline searching. Most of these databases provide links to fulltext, either through URLs, DOIs, or PennText.

Locating Fulltext

All library research is two things : Identifying what you want to read, and Locating what you identified. Here are some recommendations for locating what you identified.

1. Look at the article's information found in the database you searched, for a PennText link, URL, or DOI. Click on one of those. In many cases, you'll get fulltext. Buf if you don't, see the next step.
2. Install the Penn Libraries EZproxy Bookmarklet. Use it when you hit a paywalled ejournal article or ebook. If we have a subscription, you'll read the article.
3. If the EZproxy Bookmarklet returns an error message, then copy the article title and paste it into the Penn Libraries homepage search box (or the Penn Libraries catalog search box). Add double-quotes -- "..." -- to search for the article title as a phrase. The Penn Libraries catalog's Articles+ results will show the article. Click on the article link for fulltext, either directly from a database or ejournal or through PennText.
4. If PennText shows no fulltext available, login to the PennText page with your PennKey. Click on "Request Digital Delivery", make sure the request form is complete, and submit it. Turnaround on article requests may take a few hours or up to a couple days.
5. If you've got an article citation and are frustrated by these steps, then just fill out our Request an Item form. Remember : the more complete and accurate information you can provide about the article, the more quickly we can turn around your request.

These brief Penn Libraries videostreams give tactics for locating fulltext - covering paywalled ejournal pages, in-text citations, and DOIs and URLs. Some of the videostreams show a superseded version of the Penn Libraries catalog and its Articles+ integration, but the tactics will work with the new Penn Libraries catalog and its Articles+ integration. NOTE! You may need to use your PennKey to sign into the Penn Libraries mediaspace.