The Penn Libraries catalog is the best place to start looking for books and ebooks. The catalog includes individual titles that can be found in our library stacks, online as ebooks, and online within specialized ebook collections. Some of these specialized ebook collections are also listed here.
A few published-based ebook platforms have strong collections on counseling and therapy. While the individual ebooks in these collections will appear in the Penn Libraries catalog, looking within these collections may be a quick win.
The Penn Libraries catalog is the best starting place to discover the books and ebooks (but not necessarily the book chapters!), journals and ejournals (but not the journal articles!), videos and videostreams, databases, and other materials in the Penn Libraries collections. It also identifies Penn dissertations and theses held by the Penn Libraries in print, online, and microform formats.
Links to fulltext ebooks, ejournals, databases and videostreams in the Penn Libraries catalog pass through PennKey authentication for off-campus readers, so when in doubt about accessing an electronic resource, look in the Penn Libraries catalog. To learn more about accessing Penn Libraries eresources off campus and to see troubleshooting tips, see our Using Electronic Resources guide.
The Penn Libraries catalog prefers to use Library of Congress Subject Headings to describe items in the Penn Libraries collections. (But many ebooks in our catalog are not fully cataloged, so they may lack Library of Congress Subject Headings.)
This LCSH term can also be used following the names of persons or classes of persons and ethnic groups, for example : School children--Mental health. The term has a few narrower terms, with Child mental health being the most prominent.
Some significant LCSH terms are related to this term. These include : Mental illness, for social aspects of mental disorders; Psychiatry, for clinical aspects of mental disorders, including therapy; and Psychology, Pathological for abnormal psychology and systematic descriptions of mental disorders. Specific disorders will have their own LCSH subject terms, too.
A very broad LCSH term subdivision, Psychological aspects, is applied to LCSH subject terms for topics to describe the influence of conditions, activities, objects, etc on the mental condition or personality of individuals, for example : School environment--Psychological aspects. The very broad LCSH term, Psychology, is applied to LCSH subject terms for individual persons, classes of persons and ethnic groups, to describe their psychological traits, mental processes, personality, character etc., for example : College teachers--Psychology.
This LCSH term has many narrower terms that repeat the basic LSCH term, including Cross-cultural counseling; Educational counseling; Family counseling; Group counseling; Health counseling; Peer counseling; Short-term counseling; Hotlines (Counseling). Additional narrower LCSH terms are Mentoring and Vocational guidance. There's an LSCH pattern for counseling by educational level : Counseling in adult education; Counseling in elementary education; Counseling in higher education; Counseling in middle school education; Counseling in secondary education.
Some Counseling LCSH terms have their own narrower LCSH terms. Educational counseling has narrower terms that include educational level and roles : High school student orientation; Junior high school student orientation; Middle school student orientation; Peer counseling of students; Student assistance programs; Teacher participation in educational counseling. Related LCSH terms describe counselor interactions : Parent-student counselor relationships; School principal-counselor relationships; Teacher-counselor relationships.
Another narrower Counseling LCSH term, Health counseling, has its own narrower terms : Abortion counseling; Alcoholism counseling; Drug abuse counseling; Genetic counseling; Mental health counseling; Nutrition counseling.
The Mentoring LCSH term has narrower terms, too : Personal coaching; Employees--Coaching of; and Social case work.
The people who do counseling are described in several LCSH terms : Counselors; Counseling psychologists; Family counselors; Health counselors; Student counselors. This last term has educational level narrower LCSH terms : Elementary school counselors; High school counselors; Graduation coaches.
Psychotherapy is the preferred LCSH term, not Therapy. This LCSH term has many narrower terms that repeat the basic LSCH term, including Adolescent psychotherapy; Brief therapy; Child psychotherapy; Group psychotherapy; Desensitization (Psychotherapy); Eclectic psychotherapy. It also has narrower terms that use other meaningful words, e.g., Behavior therapy; Bibliotherapy; Cognitive therapy; Emotion-focused therapy; Feeling therapy; Problem-solving therapy.
Some Psychotherapy LCSH terms have their own narrower LCSH terms. For Brief Psychotherapy, these include : Cognitive-analytic therapy; Crisis intervention (Mental health services); Schema-focused cognitive therapy; Single-session psychotherapy; and Solution-focused brief therapy.
Therapeutic programs addressing specific disorders will often use this LCSH pattern : [Disorder]--Treatment. Example : Anxiety--Treatment. Disorders affecting specific groups of people will often use this LCSH pattern : [Disorder] in [Group]--Treatment. Example : Anxiety in adolescence--Treatment; Anxiety in children--Treatment.
The people who do psychotherapy are described in several LCSH terms. Example terms are : Psychotherapists; Art therapists; Behavior therapists; Bibliotherapists; Child psychotherapists; Family therapists; Group sychotherpists; Music therapists; Psychoanalysts. A related profession's LCSH term is : School psychologists.
The Penn Libraries catalog accepts Boolean searching and parentheses for defining groups of terms. So:
