Guides: Global Health Resources: Info for Penn Community Abroad

Access to Penn Libraries Resources While Abroad

Penn faculty, students and staff doing research, studying or providing clinical service abroad have access to all of the Penn Libraries resources and services. Access to resources is through the Holman Biotech Commons website. Some key services and resources are highlighted below.

Key Services for Penn Users Abroad

Reference Assistance

Request Articles

Key Electronic Resources

Cochrane Library
Regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases.
Global Health
Global Health consists of more than 1.2 million record. Research content covering public health, tropical and communicable diseases, nutrition, helminthology, entomology and mycology.
Web of Science
Indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Allows for cited reference searching.

OVID Medline (complete file)
The premier database for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. Resources in all languages are represented.

PubMed
PubMed Plus is a bibliographic database that comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDNLINE and life science journals. Follow the PennText icons to access full-text articles that are part of UPenn's subscription.
Scopus
Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.

Springer Protocols
SpringerProtocols is the largest subscription-based electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the life and biomedical sciences. SpringerProtocols compiles protocols from the Humana Press book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a large number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals, for laboratory usage.

Mobile Resources

DynaMed
At the point-of-care. With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,000 topics, DynaMed is the only evidence-based reference shown to answer most clinical questions during practice. Updated daily. DynaMed can be added to your pda or smart phone device.
Penn HlthSci Mobile Homepage
Bookmark this url on your smartphone device. The site offers a mobile friendly interface to a number of resources helpful to UPenn Healthcare professionals.
Penn Mobile Resources Information Site
Find information and recommendations for smartphone use as a UPenn Healthcare professional.
PubMed for Handhelds
Bookmark this url on your smartphone device. The site offers a simple interface to search the PubMed Plus database. Full-text links are available for articles subscribed by the UPenn Library.

Images

Botswana-UPenn Partnership - Daily intake meeting at Princess Marina Hospital

Mobile Resources

DynaMed
At the point-of-care. With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,000 topics, DynaMed is the only evidence-based reference shown to answer most clinical questions during practice. Updated daily. DynaMed can be added to your pda or smart phone device.
Penn HlthSci Mobile Homepage
Bookmark this url on your smartphone device. The site offers a mobile friendly interface to a number of resources helpful to UPenn Healthcare professionals.
Penn Mobile Resources Information Site
Find information and recommendations for smartphone use as a UPenn Healthcare professional.
PubMed for Handhelds
Bookmark this url on your smartphone device. The site offers a simple interface to search the PubMed Plus database. Full-text links are available for articles subscribed by the UPenn Library.